Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2006
I have just heard this album on a long haul flight to and from the far east and I just could not stop playing it. The special tracks are 'Untitled Movies' and 'Dub Extensions', but I loved the whole thing .I disagree with the reviewer who claims that this album is not innovative. He has taken up the mantle as laid down by the likes of British artists such as Ronnie Jordan and Courtney Pine and moved it forward one more step. His play is mostly uncomplicated, apart from 'Untitled Movies', but with a incredible depth of tone. The way he makes you wait just that second longer before delivery is an art. I have so may jazz saxophonists in my collection, and now Andy Sheppard stands proudly alongside some of the best. A really uplifting piece of work!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
What an album, fantastic. Dub Extensions is a new "birth of cool".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2009
I bought this album following the live performance of Nocturnal Tourist at Oxford and it fast became a favorite of mine. Surprisingly, the recording is very close to his live performance and Andy's mastery of both tenor and alto sax is clear from the first track.

What also struck me is the way in which Sheppard uses the full range of the tenor saxophone, right up into the altissimo whether it's squawking elephant-like or breathy subtone, every note is executed perfectly. That's not to say his soprano saxophone is anything other than sublime.

It's hard to pick a favorite track but if pushed I'd probably go for the final track Delfine. A soul-full ballad, it's the shortest track but none the less for that. Sheppard's articulation is sublime, often just behind the beat and always in total control.

This album is as always unmistakably Andy Sheppard but is fresh and full of innovation. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This album from 2001 deserves the five stars for sheer ingenuity. Andy's albums over the past two years while recording for Provocateur label had already shown a development of style, but this album is another complete departure and was certainly ground breaking in 2001. It has, on the whole, stood the test of time over the intervening thirteen years.

The whole album is a studio production using multichannel recording techniques. Andy is effectively the only musician, playing a multitude of instruments including saxophones, guitar, synthesiser, keyboards. Further most tracks have backing "sounds" be they children's' voices, a woman reading quietly from a mildly pornographic book. There are live drums (Stephane San Juan) and another guitar played by John Parricelli on just one track.

The whole album was recorded and mixed by Andy himself.

This is a "concept" album, the theme being, I suppose, world travels. This was a very brave project, the music is haunting and engaging. It is "atmospheric" and at times mesmerising. The themes are simple but with sufficient interest to hold the listener's attention.

The question the reader will be asking is "should I buy this ?" And I think the answer is "yes"! especially if one has already had a favourable encounter with Andy's music before or after 2001.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2010
On first hearing I thought 'This is not the Andy Sheppard I know' but with familiarity I found it beginning to grow on me.It creates an atmosphere and you begin to feel as though you are going on tour and visiting these places.
I wish I could hear more of the talking, but maybe that's my ears!At times there is too much background atmosphere which detracts a little from the instrumental.Overall once tuned in to it I found I wanted to play it over and over again, Well worth adding to your collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2002
This is a fantastic album. Andy Sheppard is inspired and the pieces are bursting with creativity. The "dark" and mellow scenes are cleverly painted with tasteful and imaginative loops, samples and electronic backcloths. His playing (both on tenor and sorpano) resonates with a rollercoaster intensitiy of feeling and passion. This album has a different feel to it than Dancing Man and Woman in that it is more exploratory and introspective, yet never boring. His playing is uncomplicated and rich in tone and expressiveness. He captures the mood succinctly with delicate strokes of paint. The picture created is one of a journey filled with many enriching experiences.This is one if my favourites albums and I wholeheartedly recommend it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2003
Fans of Andy Sheppard will not be disappointed by this disc.
The cross-over musical styles exercised by Courtney Pine in the late 80’s and 90’s have found a mainstream voice these days; blending world music voices and rhythms into the airplay of jazz. Andy Sheppard picks up this mantle on Nocturnal Tourist and does it brilliantly.
From the opening strains of ‘Hola, Como Estas?’, where children’s voices and latin beats sit harmoniously with a sample from Pink Floyd and Mr. Sheppard’s soprano, the CD contains innovative and exciting themes and improvisations.
‘Never Far’ reduces the frenetic speed and tempo of the previous 4 tracks, exploring a deceptively simple melody between spats of radio white noise. Is the white noise necessary? The answer will be a personal one. It certainly adds to the haunting atmosphere and deepens the hue.
This album is an extension of Sheppard’s ‘Learning To Wave’ experience. Don’t expect a mainstream, straight-ahead experience. Do expect to be entertained and delighted.
Is this jazz? Yes. Buy this CD if you’re a fan of the new jazz direction or a fan of Andy Sheppard (and would be hard not to be) or simply because, like so many jazz fans, you expect the music to move you and move on. But most of all buy this CD because it’s good.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2002
Andy sheppard takes you on a magical journey to other lands. As a comitted sheppard devotee each album never ceases to amaze me and this is no exception. It is full of colourful expression and sounds from around the world listen to Bobby in Africa truly mesmeric. I would buy this album if were twice the price. Highly commended well thought out and worth the wait. Stunning.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2002
Andy is a virtuoso Saxophone player as anyone who has ever seen him in performance will testify. On this outing he puts together some nice melodies but never really gets going when it comes to the solos. This is a bit of a pity really. The best tracks are the longer ones "Bobby In Africa" and "Dub Extensions". It all sounds jolly nice and the drumming conforms to the current vogue for jazz with beats. Whilst I hate showboating ( and I suspect that Andy does too ) I feel that it is a missed opportunity when there is as little playing as there is here. I would willingly play twice as much as this for a recording of his solo performance at the Barbican last year as part of his concert with Joanna MacGregor where he had to play and did. That night I think he used the same rhythmic backdrop he uses here on Bobby In Africa but played much more inventively when improvising. This is very similar in mood and instrumentation to Rita Marcotulli's Woman Next Door but sadly is nowhere near as good.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2007
I do love this CD despite the fact it borders on the bland on occasions. It has a lightness of touch but a groove that it great. Kick off those shoes, get yourself a bumper glass of wine (or chilled cider) and enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)