Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
4.6 out of 5 stars
See This Through And Leave
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 February 2002
I saw this lot at Muse in May last year. they supported very well. I didn't know of them before the gig, but I really got into it and they were brimming with confidence and real power in their music. I have been following their career ever since, tracking each of their short demos, building to the final album. This album reaks of class and real rock "n" roll style. When indie and rock bands from Britain came in short supply, these guys have given a real booost to music. If you like the indie sound thats coming out. This album really gets the good sounds flowing again. This MUST (or I hope) be the start of something big!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2002
While every journo and his dog has been pre-occupying themselves purchasing their Strokes shirts and licking anything that's red & white, these guys have been sneaking through the shadows readying musical moves most magical. Innovation, revelation, non-duplication, aviation, train station. This album has been a long time coming, and it sounds like it's gonna explode at any moment. Don't cut the red & white wires.
Album starts with live set opener Did You Miss Me. Bassy, mean, fuelled by something I suspect to be twisted, this one is magical before just breaking into dirty shrapnel shouty screaming mentalist. Its superb. Jumps straight into Film Maker which picks up the baton in fine style, maintaining the pace & possibly even cheating. Panzer Attack is unrelenting evil genius, a perfect warm up for Who Needs Enemies' bluesy paranoia. Live favourite Amber represents the change in direction for the record, like a dip of the shoulder and is quite fantastic. Digital Observations throws a white sheet out over the album, cutting two eye holes and scaring pants off small children and old people. Not a bad thing, distinctly slower paced, yet epic in a muted sense. Lets Kill Music would grab you by the balls if they played it as fast as they tend to live, but this always sounds a little down beat on record to me. Tom's Aphex Twin-ish 555 number grows, but your eyebrow may well raise at its inclusion over, well, everything they left out. Been Training Dogs is bouncy in a most violent fashion, and The Lake (first song they wrote together) would be an ideal album closer if it werent for: Murder Song. Very very good indeed. Brooding, dark, emotionally stained, just absolutely superb. And as the album closes at such frigtheningly high altitude you'll wonder whether you just listened to two seperate LPs or just the one. Almost like it has two seperate personalities, but in a good way, not a Me Myself & Irene way. Phew!
The bonus disk makes it all the better, with Devil Walks & Way Out West being arguably two of their best songs, and I'll Still Write a really high quality B-Side. Seeing as the Coopers always sound better live, the inclusion of a few live tracks can only be seen as a very very cool McBonus.
So overall, this is a great album, combining the best of so many genres without ever sounding anything other than completely original. So far over-looked by the music press, this album will surely arrive in the style of a brick through the window. Strokes schmokes, you know you want this album.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2002
The Temple arrive on a feuvre of anticipation,a band from England(Berkshire)and they're experimental. Could it be true? In a word yes.
In a quarter full of interesting and generally well-recieved debuts (read E.S.P, Vex Red, Haven) TCTC are perhaps the angriest.
Like the Hives did on TOTP with 'i hate..', The Clause astounded and confounded equally with the rendition of 'Film-maker', and what a class performance of an amazing track. The album ebbs and flows with intense melody and eclectic density, threatening to twist and turn inside and out. Like a cute puppy that looks as if it might take you hand off at any second.
'Did you miss me?' really is a bitter song full of angst and hatred, the almost spoken undertones tell of a previous relationship not yet come to full terms.
'Film-maker' rattles and shakes in all the right places, 'Panzer attack' is aggression on stick, hinting at the live energy caught on the bonus disc.
'Murder song' if you can believe it is the result of an early demo, replete with lyrics Gautrey claims 'were left over from when I was about 16!', none the less when the chorus explodes and the line 'please believe me when I say...' and is a suitable album closer at once familiar and yet not sounding like anything else on the record.
It is not the easiest of listening experiences and my only critiscm is at times it really (at least vocally) can sound like Oasis, albiet a more inventive representation.
While the likes of The Coral and The Music are in production limbo and 'AYWKUBTTOTD' ride high, another yardstick has been set in this positive time for British music that it's not all about corporate lineage of family loyalties. Top Tunes are Top Tunes and Top Bands are Top Bands. The Temple have and are both.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2002
This album has been a long time coming, from hearing "panzer attack" back in september I have been follwing the release carfully! I was worried at first it might be one of those albums with supburb singles, but the rest of the songs let the album down, mentioning no examples SEAFOOD. But I was not at all disapointed. There is such a range of styles, the high tempo, almost dance song "555-4823" to the masterpiece "the lake", every songs different. Its rare you get an album which you can listen to all the was through with out skipping, and even rarer to hear an album with such a veriaty of styles all of high quality, this is one of those rare albums.
The singles should be pretty well known, particually Film-maker which had chart success and regular air play on radio1! But the album trakes are equaly good, all have a certian things about them which make them stand out.
TCTC could be set for high comercail success, but I hope it wont change their stlye to appeal to a wider audience beacuse we need more albums like this one!!!!
The limited edition contains 5 more trakes (singles "lets kill music" and "panzer attack" live, and three ither songs) aswell as lets kill music film-maker and been training dogs video, which viewers to the likes of mtv2, or who have been buying the singles will no follow the Tyson family and are quite amusing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2002
While some elements of The Cooper Temple Clause's epic and electronic sound is rather retro it is combined with so many other elements that it makes this record sound totally fresh and original. "Who needs enemies" is easily the best track on the record. the keyboards and the driving, ferocious guitars make for a genuinely chilling effect. This by no means is saying that there are no other classics on this album. "Let's kill music" is a supersonic thrill ride that just keeps pounding and biting for 4 minutes until it leaves you feeling breathless and amazed. Despite the lack of a real chorus the song does not for one second get boring or repetitve like the weak sound of the strokes or the white stripes. Other key tracks include, "Been training dogs" which is a brutal full out retro guitar pounder of a song and "Film maker". There are some let downs on this album though. "555-4823" is nothing but a tired old dance track in the disguise of a rock instrumental. The last two songs ( " The lake" and "The murder song") are a huge let down. After 9 brutal (apart from 555 - 4823 ) rock treats there are two over long ballads that leave a sour taste in your mouth and it is the last impressions of an album that stick in your mind. If these songs were not on the album then the album would easily have warranted 5 stars. Still definitely worth a look though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2002
Put simply, anyone who is into guitar music and has an open mind should own this amaizing debut. It combines traditional indie with metal, pop, punk, and regularly electronica in a way that is just astounding.
The first track of the album at first was a huge disapointment. I found it difficult to find a consistant melody, and thought the harsh, raw sound was maybe a little too visceral. However, i stuck it and after the record had played through twice, i have not removed it from my player. The harsh melodies soon start to make sense and continue to grow into classics with each listening.
In all honesty, i don't feel that it is fair to pick out favourite tracks as the record clearly has to be listened to all the way through for a complete grasp of the music. However, this does not detract from the pleasure of listening to the three bonus studio tracks (easily good enough for album release in my opinion)and the 2 amaizingly well performed and recorded live tracks.
Special comments must be made for the videos supplied on the cd. All 3 videos are of a very high standard, each a continuation of another.
Everyone should own this record, and most people will love it if they give it a few listenings to. A great record, and even greater when it is considered in its context as a debut in a time of half arsed poppy domination.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2003
Sounding like the offspring of 1970s Alice Cooper and Pink Floyd this band are going to be huge. Given their ability to hand many different musical styles (often merging them in the same tune) I predict that this band will produce an album at least as classic as Pink Floyd's Dark Side Of The Moon before the end of their career. Buy this album now so you can say you were there at the start of this unique band.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2004
CTC are one of those bands that everyone will find something to like about. Their album is very deceptive upon first hearing. The first track 'Did You Miss Me?' starts off very quiet, but 3 minutes into the track and the song gets a lot more intense. Not only can they produce excellent music using your traditional rock instruments, the bands use of electronics is immaculate. It blends seemlessly into the more organic bulk of the music.
It is a somewhat varied album, shifting eccentricly inbetween calm suicidal music to fast n' angry riffs. The lyrics are worth reading, though not easy songs to sing along to, the words have an odd, psychoanalytical. You find yourself relating to what they have to say, despite no one but the writer could ever understand their full context. But then again, I wouldn't want CTC to be anything but a small mystery.
If you only like a single mood of music, wether it be angry or mournful, then the gaps inbetween their tracks may annoy some of you. But they've gotten the balance between melody and energy just right. At least, just the way I like it!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2003
Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant!
You'll love it the first time you hear it - I know I did.
I'm the type of person that needs to get to know a Cd before I like it, I can't usually just listen to it the once and declare my love. But I did this time!!
So glad I made the choice to buy it. After all the only reason I got it was because it was £3 at MVC (I still think there was some sort of mistake with the price.. I mean, £3?! But hey I'm not complainin')
You'll be listneing to this all day long and when you're trying to sleep too.
My personal favourite songs are:
1. Did you Miss Me?
5. Amber
10. The Lake
Quality stuff this is, go buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2002
It's good to know there are still quality bands coming from the UK. The Cooper Temple Clause are no exception
Obviously the singles 'Panzer Attack', 'Let's Kill Music' and 'Film Maker'/'Been Training Dogs are good tunes but 'Who Needs Enermies?' is the stand out track in my opinion. There are loads of samplers and various effects used throughout the album, some sounding very Radiohead like. This young Reading outfit are destined for success and this debut is close to excellence, No doubt this Lp shows the band should be around for many years to come. Play Loud at all times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)