Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
44
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 November 2003
For all the critics who thought that Nas was finished after Nastradamus, Stillmatic proves he is still one of the best emcees of all time. The furious 'ether' is a brilliant reply to Jay-Z's verbal barbs and 'you're the man' helps fans to realise the pressure Nas is under to reproduce his best work. Other stand-out tracks include the classic primo joint 'second childhood' and 'one mic' which Nas co-produced. This album consists of mostly excellent tracks, there are though a few notable exceptions. The poor 'braveheart party' where Nas is let down by the weak lyrics of the Bravehearts (again)and 'rule' which goes against everything he says in 'got ur self a gun. These are though only minor flaws in what is definately Nas' best work since Illmatic. A must for any fan of true hip hop!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2002
Nasty Nas isnt everyones cup of tea, and since his debut he has attempted to touch different areas of his musical personality, some parts have been stunning, others frustrating and some just rubbish, but, this time he has a produced a gem. Stillmatic is a brilliant example of modern Hip-Hop, the guy is as versatile as they come today, his flow is unnurringly smooth as expected, but this time he brought his full range of skill and it is top notch. People need to stop waiting for another Illmatic and just appreciate the lyrical Genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2002
nas is one of the best rappers better than jay-z by far stillmatic has sold over 600,000 i really do not know why jay-z sells more but nas is a excellent rapper this album is great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2016
Nas does it again! This cd is a bargain at such a cheap price. Good cd to chill to. His newest cd (life is good) is worth buying to. This bring back good memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2016
the good tracks on this album are by far his best but as an overall album not one of his best track for track ones
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2004
Whenever I go to read a customer review, I always like to know the highlights of the album or the lowlights, so instead of beatin round tha bush, I'm a kick to you straight.
The intro : basic enough, but quality rapping, similar to a dmx album.
Ether : Known as tha Jay-Z diss.Absolutely amazin track,honest and shows Jigga who runs NY.
Got ur self a: absolute amazin', no bull bout it
Smokin : average to good. good lyrics but no classic, but yet an excellent trak
Rewind: I love this trak. A short story that begins at the end. Only nas can perfect it.
Youre da man:Another great song, talkin about how he didnt intend for superstardom, jus wanted to be heard.
One Mic: Powerful. Deep. Need i say more?
2nd Childhood: Not a standout track but still quality.
Destroy n Rebuild: A trak representin QB. Good lyrics,as always, good not great.
Flyest: At first i was unsure bout it, but after i few listens, i tcan hold its own on the LP. Good to Very good.
Rule: Possibly the weakest trak on the cd, but not a great lot wrong wit it.
My Country : Quality, well thot out and overall damn good song.
What goes around: OK, but by no means a bad trak.
So overall, i f***in love this album, Nas has hit back to the pressures and shown his skills to be superior to evryone. Jay-Z cudnt comply wit a better cd. Buy it, u definitely won't regret it. Nasir Jones or DMX, the best rappers around today?
Represent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2002
This is definately Nas's best work after Illmatic. I was not disappointed with this CD in anyway and is never out of my CD player. The first single "Got yourself a" has a fantastic beat and Nas's lyrics are spot on. The song is also dedicated to the legendary Tupac Shakur, and another east coast rapper Notorious Big. "Ether" is a great Jay-Z diss track. My favourite track on the album is "2nd Childhood" the production by Nas is out of this world. A potential future hit would be Rule. Get this album it won't disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2003
this review a bit l8 but stil... 1st off this album isnt one stil tryin to get praise off the original illmatic but its certainly nas best work since then provin his critics hes stil got talent and can create a great album. Nas poetic lyrical ability shows on all tracks, some alot more than others, one mic, rewind and 2nd childhood. He kills jigga on ether wit angry rhymes and heavy beat. nas gets tha new york crown back wit this, he stilmatic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2004
This album is absolutely fantastic i love it. My favourite song is Got Ur Self A Gun & my 2nd best is the first track (intro).
I have got this album at home & i listen to it 24/7 non-stop.
BUY IT KNOW!!! IF YOU HAVEN'T GOT ENOUGH MONEY SAVE UP, ITS WORTH SAVING UP FOR, TRUST ME!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2002
...now this album is not illmatic 2 but it is mayb his best since effort since illmatic(I Am... cud also be classed as his best since illmatic)! as nas says on the album hes not lookin 2 go back hes always lookin 2 go 4ward in the music industry and this album is a good example of movin 4ward!! the intro is tidy!! every1 knows about 'ether' diss to jay z! ye its tight but its not a standout in my opinion!! 'got urself a...' ,'ur da man'(my fave), '2nd childhood', 'destroy n rebuild' and 'rule'-in which nas is doin wot he done on his NAStradamus album and sampling an 80s classic song he usesd totos 'africa' on 'new world' on his 4th album while he uses 'everybody wants 2 rule the world' by tears for fears on 'Rule' on this album and it is a ,ye radio friendly,top tune!! could b a smash hit if he released it as his next single!!! anyways most tracks r very good the 1s i mentioned r nas classics!! NAS is Queensbridge finest!! New yorks king?? not sure but he holds his own here!! Pick up his other albums up includin Queensbridge finest compilation and also mobb deeps albums n cormega's 'tha realness'! Im out
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)