Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
21
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.99+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2017
When I give a mark of '3' it means that the item(s) does the job at a reasonable price. OK service and I would buy again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2002
Having bought a whole handful of DVD's (Tweenies, Thomas the Tank Engine & Maisy) to keep my active 2 year old daughter occupied for more than a few minutes - this is definitely my favourite and she loves it too. And what's more I feel I am introducing her to great literature and British culture and history all at once (which, whatever their good points, you can hardly say about any of the other DVD's) . Not just great entertainment (which it undoubtedly is) but education too ie. Less guilt factor for the stressed out parent when using a DVD as a babysitter. Hurray!
The DVD consists of 3 episodes of about 25 minutes each - just long enough to have a welcome break from toddler watching but not too long to feel you are allowing them to become square-eyed couch potatoes. Each episode is clever blending of 2 of Beatrix Potter classic books for children. Tales featuring some of her best known characters are included in this DVD; Peter Rabbit, Benjamin Bunny, The Flopsy Bunnies, Mrs Tittlemouse, Tom Kitten and Jemima Puddleduck . The animation is really exquisite, with superbly witty characterisation and attention to detail, and so completely true to the originals that it is a pleasure for even the keenest Beatrix Potter fans to watch them. No disappointments or nasty surprises as with so many book-to-film adaptations. There are a few slightly scary moments to beware of for younger children (e.g when Mr McGregor chases Peter ) but once the episode has been watched a few times it loses it's scariness.
Each episode starts and finishes with a beautifully acted 2-3 minute live action introduction with Niamh Cusack as Beatrix Potter and this adds welcome variety and interest and is beautifully filmed at Beatrix Potters House in the Lake District. These bits can be skipped if desired although the fantastic scenery, great wildlife shots and hauntingly beautiful soundtrack make them well worth watching.
Other features are a short documentary on Beatrix Potter's life and how she came to write her books (they all started as letters to children she knew), a Stills Gallery of some of her original drawings and a short written account of how she came to write Peter Rabbit (slight overlap of information here). None of these are really intended for children but are fascinating for the parents. There is also a subtitles option.
The menus are all easy to use and jumping to and from individual scenes is also no problem.
All-in-all a classic DVD which will endure for many years and still capture the interest for adults and children alike even after seeing it many times. The other DVD's in the series are also to be highly recommended. ( "The Tale of Mrs Tiggly-Winkle and Mr Jeremy Fisher and other stories" and " The Tale of Pigling Bland and Other Stories").
22 Comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2002
If you ever have a problem entertaining those troublesome tots (or teens!) forget Teletubbies and Tweenies, all you need is one thing - Beatrix Potter. Over the years children can't help but feel enchanted and entrigued by the many animals that she has brought to life in her stories, the famous of course being Peter Rabbit. Potter was a very talented story writer but not just that, because all of her stories were accompanied by fine beautiful art work. I was delighted to hear that some kind person decided to translate these beautiful stories and art work onto film when I was told Peter Rabbit was to be shown on TV several years ago. Now everyone can see Beatrix's characters and scenery 'brought to life', thanks to the producers of these animations, as they provide perfect-casting voices accompanied with lovely music setting the atmosphere. Now that they are available on this fine DVD set they can be enjoyed again and again through generations! Perfect for Sunday afternoon/Rainy Day viewing (or indeed anytime!) ENJOY THE MARVELLOUS TALENT THAT AWAITS YOU!
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2002
My daughters (ages 2 and 4) were enthralled from the moment the video started. As well as superb cartoon animation the voices given to the characters matched exactly the personalities portrayed. Although a very gentle video it does have the occasional 'scary' parts (for example when the rabbits get captured snoozing in Mr McGregor's garden) that prompt avid questioning from behind the sofa cushions.
Between the stories a seamless link into the author's life in the beautiful scenery of the Lake District makes the video extremely watchable time and time again. Well worth owning!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2000
It's one of those which the kids want again and again and doesn't drive you crazy in the process. The puzzles ask questions about the stories, in return for which they get a jigsaw piece. When complete it turns into a video. Info on Beatrix Potter is interesting, not to the kids though.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
GOT THIS FOR MY WEE GRANDDAUGHTER WHOS 3YRS OLD AND LOVES WATCHING PETER RABBIT GREAT DVD FOR KIDS AND GROWN UPS
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
This is a lovely DVD. I cant wait for my granddaughter to get just that bit older (she is 16 months) so she can watch it. She loves the first part where it shows the dog, the geese and the rabbit but she is still a bit young to watch it at length.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2000
I particularly like the music at the start in this film and how you see the kids walking and Beatrice walks into the house; and then how she reads the story and it then fades into the animation. I like Peter Rabbit story best because i like rabbits and it is funny to see animals wearing clothes for small children, however i don't think it is for anyone except kids. Although the films are good i think it cost too much; couldn't they have also sold them seperately. I also saw the TV Series which is why i would buy the videos
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Fantastic to have it on DVD, though the story of the mice at Christmas time wasn't on there :( other wise brilliant for my lil sister to watch and for me to look back on fond time had watching them on VHS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
My grandson loves it
my concern was i bought this twice as part of a deal by 3 dvd's and get them cheaper and on it's own for far more than the other 3 together
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse