Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
39
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.69+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2002
If a great band is going to finally implode then it's probably best to do so on a high...
After the rather awful "Free At Last" Rogers and Kirke (at this stage the only two members left from the original line up - Fraser had finally called it a day and Kossoff's appearances were random and fleeting) decided to draw on some outside resources, pack up their equipment and head for the studio as Free for one last hurrah.
Whilst "Heartbreaker" (rarely has an album titled seemed so fitting) is admittedly not in the same league as "Free" or "Fire And Water" I think the rather sniffy responses to this album are slightly wide of the mark, as this must surely be considered, by even the casual listener, as a great album. The fractious line up doesn't really create too many problems as you would perhaps expect, and in the mournful "Muddy Waters", the 'amps up to 11' of "Wishing Well" and the wonderfully slack "Travellin' In Style" there are some superb songs to be found here that can compete against any other Free classic.
In addition there must be another doff of the cap to Island for doing a first class job on this reissue, and adding some corking extra songs and snippets to it.
Whilst I'd agree Free seemed on a downhill slide from "Highway" onwards, I think the general perception that their final three studio albums weren't much cop is, frankly, rubbish. It's just a shame that a band who, at times, were equally to, if not better than, Led Zepplin and The Who have never really received the critical adulation they so much deserved.
55 comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2004
Though in the final throes of collapse, and riven by internal disputes, with 'Heartbreaker' Free produced their final album, which against the odds has proved to be a minor classic. Although Paul Rodgers' vocals, Simon Kirke's drums and Paul Kossoff's lead guitar remained, a new bass player Tetsu had taken the place of original member Andy Fraser, and John 'Rabbit' Bundrick was added on keyboards. Rabbit's contribution is critical to this album, his dramatic grand piano and organ work creating a much bigger sound than on the band's previous albums, and leading to 'Heartbreaker' sometimes being dubbed Free's 'stadium album'. Among the best tracks are the powerful 'Wishing well', 'Seven angels' and 'Common mortal man', but the stand-out track must be 'Come together in the morning' which is dominated by Rodgers' soulful vocals and the aching, tortured beauty of Kossoff's guitar soloing, which expresses most eloquently his inner turmoil. It is a travesty that Paul Kossoff was omitted from the list of band members in the album credits, considering that he played on most of the record and had been at the core of the band's sound from the beginning. If the album's original 8 songs were not enough, this reissue also contains several additional tracks of note, including a remix of 'Wishing well', the single B-side 'Let me show you', and two rehearsal versions of songs from the album.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 May 2015
It is sad that this was the last Free album - it could have been the beginning of a great new era and lineup - instead we got Bad Company which was never in the same league. Heartbreaker is a consistently strong offering with well written and performed rock songs and the old free vocals/guitar/bass/drums mix augmented brilliantly by Rabbit Bundrick's keyboards which gives the band sound more depth and layers without ever stealing the show. Wishing Well is a classic but Heartbreaker, Come Together in the Morning and Common Mortal Man are all classic Free. The loss of Fraser (RIP) proved not too serious - the album doesn' thave his funk influence but Rodgers and Bundrick more than filled the songwriting gap. This remains my favourite Free studio album, Free Live is a super example of them on stage. I think even Koss could have been replaced but after this album things fell apart and the members dispersed. Pity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
There isn't a bad song on this cd. If you love 70's rock like Led Zeppelin, Cream, Spooky Tooth, Bad Company you will wonder how you ever lived without hearing it.

From the mammoth opening Wishing Well to the bare and almost punk like Seven Angels closing piece this is English Rock at its finest.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
Most people remember Free for their 1970 breakthrough single All Right Now which reached No 2 in the British singles chart and came from the Fire and Water LP, those were the days hey, Lead singer Paul Rodgers has in my opinion one of the best blues voices to come out of this country. Paul Kossoff, Andy Fraser and Simon Kirke were the remaining members of the group and we're all strong performers

Even now their is a great strength and unique sound makes them stand out as a blues based group.

If you only know them from All Right Now please give a listen to some of their other music I'm sure you will like it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
I understand the suggestion that this doesn't live up to Free or Fire and Water (or even Tons of Sobs) but it isn't entirely fair IMHO. This album in the portrait of a band in disintegration. Kossoff's blues guitar genius is replaced on this collection by Rabbit's great piano skills (in fairness Wendell Richardson's guitar takes the backstage). "I was walking in the rain with my shoes untied" could be a metaphor for where Paul Rogers was. Despite the limited input from Kossoff and the lack of Fraser genius this is still for me an equal of those early Free albums, if you call this band Free at all. "Come together in the Morning" is my all time favourite Free track and in my top ten tracks of all time. "Heartbreaker" and "Common Mortal Man" are up there in the top fifty too. I don't feel it is too arrogant to say that any rock/ blues collection is incomplete without this album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
The last album Free made before Rodgers and Kirke , frustrated with their relative lack of success (and tiring of having to deal with an increasingly wasted Kossoff) split off to form the more commercially minded Bad Company. Its actually a great album , the addition of Rabbitt changing their sound somewhat and adding a more American feel. As a fan from the early days I wasn't too sure about it at the time , but its stood up very well and contains in Wishing Well one of Free's greatest (and saddest) singles.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2007
It's a shame that Andy Fraser had left when Free recorded this. I would never underestimate his contribution to the Free sound, both as a bass player and a writer. For me he was integral. That said Paul, Kos and Simon, joined by Tetsu & Rabbit make a fair fist of this last album.
It's good. Great tracks well written and the keyboards augment the Free sound well, take it somewhere new. If truth be told it's arguably exactly the direction the band needed to take to move on. "Easy on my Soul" is beautiful but then so are "Common Mortal Man" and "Come Together in the Morning". I'd urge any Free fan (and they're my favourite band ever) to overcome their reticence and buy this. It's fully complimentary to the rest of the back catalogue and I think a fine addition to my collection - certainly much better than Highway.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2003
Of all the Free albums this has to be the best, reading the biog inside the new release its fairly clear that Kossoff's contribution was far greater than most people seem to think. Every song is a true gem though Seven Angels is the only way to end this album (and the career of the band), the extra tracks, as they seem to be on all these Free re-releases are more curiosity than worthwhile.
I met David Kossoff once and I have to say, dispite the life his son led, I was incredibly touched by how enormously proud of his son's music he was
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2001
I bought this album on a whim, having never bought any of Free's albums before. I was not dissapointed at all. This is an excellent album, showcasing the talent held by the band at this time. However it is clear to see the tension in this album caused by the strained relationships between band members at this time. It is no more evident than on Wishing Well: the song penned by Rogers as a plea to Kossof to confront his drug addiction. The songs passionate message did not work and Kossof was dead within three years. I cannot think of any other British band that kept there music so pure and loyal to the blues influence. This album is a must in every ones collection!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)