Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2002
Sade's music is intimate, and yet it translates better than expected in a live performance. It's true that her performance seems better suited to a cocktail lounge than to a massive auditorium, but she and the group respond well to the larger audience. Of course, that audience does become a bit of a pain. The reaction of the audience does seem louder and more annoying than is expected in a live album.
This is of course, an edited version of the concert and so we miss out on some of the songs and some of the moments of the total concert. And that is a shame.
However, it is Sade Adu, and it is the group Sade, and they all have some great moments that are captured on this recording. If you're not familiar with the music of Sade, I would suggest first listening to "Diamond Life" or "The Best of Sade". And if you are familiar with Sade Adu and her group's music, this does present the music you know in a new light.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
This is a great concert on DVD but the CD version is not so great. The audience cheering is way too loud in the mix. Also, I was particularly sorry to discover that the songs are reduced in length sometimes. "Smooth Operator" is the most obvious example with that whole jazzy instrumental at the end of the song simple faded off. The same thing happened with the original studio version of this song. A jazzy tail end instrumental to the studio version of "Smooth operator" was only ever available on the original LP Record.... when a CD version was released, the song was edited to a shorter instrumental free version.

Most definitely get the DVD of Lovers Live (it's wonderful)... but I'd not bother with this CD version....
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
I go for live albums. They offer a different and genuine take on familiar songs. Arrangements are naturally sparser than on a studio production, which I appreciate. Generally the audience adds to the experience and gives the whole thing an atomosphere and energy that is often lacking in studio takes. However the audience on this live album is totally inappropriate. Sade is/are not teenbopper idols and don't need to be screamed at in the way they are here. Even if the screams weren't wound up high in the mix they would be excessive, but here they seem to be given greater emphasis than the actual perfomance. At times they almost drown out Sade herself.

The performance is fine, I'd just love to hear it in a different mix.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2002
The understatement on this album is so pronounced it's almost jarring.
If you are used to live recordings where the audience are worked up to a frenzy you might be forgiven for imagining the "Lovers Live" lot are gazing melancholically at the moon, or perhaps even snoozing under the stars (Every time I've listened to it I've nodded off) It is minimalist chic at it's best.
Using that distinctively smoky sensuous instrument that is her voice, Sade weaves gentle odes to love and loss laced with bass, guitar and sax solos. If you are in the mood to wallow contemplatively this is the perfect album. Welcome to the Lurve zone - ambient, dreamy and oh so terribly laid back (Sounds like it was recorded at zero gravity). It you liked her last album, "Lovers Rock" this is more of the same but better. Classics like "By your side" (infectious keyboard riff) and "Somebody already broke my heart" (Tasty Hammond organ licks) have equal class and sophistication with just enough live edge (exquisite blends of percussion and bass) to make them interesting.
Don't expect too many surprise in tempo - Sade's style and finesse is never compromised. This "Smooth operator" sticks to the tricks she knows best. An excellent album.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2002
13 songs taken from the "Lovers Rock" tour represent the changing face of Sade over her 19 years or so as an artist. The songs are tremendously produced with ample noise support from an enthuasiastic audience. Particularly good are "Cherish the day" (The haunting guitar sound and deliberately-hesitant drum-beat are electric when heard "live") and "Smooth Operator" (one can never forget that familiar bass and sax). "Jezebel" and "Is it a crime" are suprisingly good "live" for such moody numbers. "Paradise" "The Sweetest Taboo" and "kiss of Life" hold their own against their most brilliant album versions.
Overall a good buy...Sade fans will particularly identify with it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
This is without doubt, in my humble opinion, the finest most engaging live concert I have seen. Sade and the fabulous band of REAL musicians manage to create a personal intimacy with you which is magical, excilarating and stunning but beware this can made you feel really romantic, so find your "loved one" cuddle up close to them and enjoying this wonderful dvd. You will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Coming from the Miles Davis/funky jazz fusion school of music, I have to say I just loved this album. Over the years, my taste in music seems to have expanded to cover most aspects of music from jazz to blues to certain country to so-called World music and this album from Sade seems to somehow cover all of those genres. Even my wife likes it!

Reservations concerning the audience are valid, shame but overall, still worthy of five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2009
Great recording. It feels like you were there at the concert! Sade in her purest form. Trully a pleasure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2003
Finally, after years of waiting, we have been treated not only by the return of Sade to the music world with her CD Lovers Rock but with this wonderful live CD as well. Her fans gush about her with good reason. There is Sade, and there is everyone else. Perhaps no artist inspires the loyalty Sade does. Years between albums mean nothing. When we run out to get the latest labor of love from this great artist we are never disappointed.
This live CD is a magnificent potpourri of the old and new. Because Sade's music is so timeless the transition from song to song is seamless and anyone who wasn't familiar with her catalog would not be able to distinguish between the two. Every song is great and there is a "live" feel to this CD that is missing on others of the ilk. We not only get to hear these great songs but we feel as if we to are there. The crowd is loving and respectful and obviously cherish the opportunity to be there. Sade obviously loves her fans and appreciates their loyalty. This CD is the next best thing to being there and makes us treasure both the music and the artist. Sade is simply the best and this is a bouquet for the soul.
Sade has given us something special to tide us over until the next release. Any Sade release is a special occasion and this is one that is white tie and tails, R.S.V.P. only. Don't miss this one.......
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
What a fantastic live album from the the one singer I thought I'd never hear again!
Her soulful sultry voice is still there intact and you wonder where she has been all these years.
The backing band compliment her extremely well and whilst the crowd are a little bit too loud you soon forget all about them and just wallow in Sade's voice.
I recommend that anyone who liked Sade before to go out and getthis album and I cannot wait for her new studio album due out in early February!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)