Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
97
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2017
This movie, although quite entertaining, was basically a live version of that famous cartoon featuring Roadrunner and Wile E Coyote. But I'm guessing that really was the intention.

With Kirk Douglas always ahead of the chase laying traps, but predictably getting squashed or dragged along, all that was missing was Arnie shouting "Beep! Beep!" now and again. And possibly some ACME dynamite thrown in there! Sticking with the cartoon feel, the last scene with Kirk Douglas rebounding back and forth... my word... that was overlong and really bizarre!!

Good for a chuckle or three... so it's an OK from me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
hilarious .... Great comedy .. almost as funny as blazing saddles ..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
I was delighted to find this dvd as I had only a vague memory of seeing Kirk Douglas in a very funny cowboy movie with a horse many years ago. Inevitably perhaps, it wasn't quite as funny as I remembered it but it is still a really feel good silly film that is perfect to cheer the whole family up during the gloomy times of the credit crunch.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
very funny, many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2008
i saw this film years ago at the cinema in a double feature with spiderman! really funny and i was only 8! but my lasting memory was Whiskey, jack's horse! and my dad carrying on laughing when everyone else in the cinema had stopped and me and my 5 brothers and sisters all sliding down in our seats so nobody would see we were with my parents! ah bless my old dad, he's 73 now and i bought this film for him as a surprise!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2009
if you like the 40s & 50s warner bros cartoons, road runner etc you'll like this. Douglas is the inept Wile coyote to arnie is the over nieve road runner. But the star is the horse, should have got an oscar for that. If you wonder if it is as good as you remember from ong ago, the answer is probably yes! come on at these prices there's nothing to loose.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2008
this is so bad that its good, its just like road runner the cartoon. i got it 3 days before it was esimated which was good. brilliant film.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
Nice old film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is one of the funniest films i have ever seen directed by Hal Needham (CANNONBALL RUN), fashioned this intricately staged slapstick Western after Road Runner cartoons. Cowboy Handsome Stranger (Arnold Schwarzeneggar) is escorting Charming Jones (Ann-Margret) to obtain a large amount of money from her father. However, they don't know that bumbling villain Cactus Jack (Kirk Douglas) has been hired to try and get the money from them in transit. The action is enhanced by the presence of several veteran character actors and comedians, including Ruth Buzzi, Foster Brooks, Jack Elam, and Paul Lynde.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
Kirk Douglas is in fine form as the loveable rogue of the title. Like another reviewer I saw this as a double feature and this was better than the "A" movie. It's a daft hoot and Jack is just like the Road Runner. Arnold is great as "Handsome Stranger" and the seven shot six shooter is a brilliantly stupid plot device. I loved it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)