Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
52
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2015
What is there not to love about Tom Hanks and the fact that he wrote this film is even better. A funny light hearted look at what happens if you achieve your dreams. Is it everything that you hope it will be ? Maybe modern day bands should watch this film, it shows that even with success, different personalities and different aspirations can break a band apart. Enjoy the story but do watch the special features, I found it very interesting to learn that the actors actually learnt how to play the instruments, it lends a certain authenticity to the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2006
Well..... I watched this movie around 6 years back the first time and I enjoyed every bit of it. The songs in it take you back down memory lane when Rock n Roll was a craze... Not that it has lost its charm....When I bought this film on DVD it has been right it front of my DVD collection...

A must have.

Cheers
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Great DVD and very good value. I love this film as it perfectly captures the heady atmosphere of the era.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2011
Since seeing "That Thing You Do" at the cinema I have wanted to own it. It's just a brilliant emulation of how bands in the sixties found fame. Tom Hanks is brilliant as the manager of The Wonders and the way the band reached the heights of popularity, only to find it all a bit too much, causing rifts to happen, resulting in their break-up....Liv Tyler is excellent as the "love interest"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
It is a great movie, good sound track and easy to get into, would recommend this film for all ages
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2002
Tom Hanks doesn't have as a large a role as expected but worth every screen second - Liv Tyler as the girl who helps the band get organised but can't recognise a jerk when she see's one and Tom Everett Scott just being cute but slightly dumb not realising a good thing when its there in front of him. One of those films for a Friday night in with a bottle of wine and box of choccies either on your own or with the girls. Music is catchy - bet the main song (penned by Hanks himself apparently) will keep going round in your head for days. Good Clean Family Fun!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Love this film-nostalgic perhaps but it's not cheesy or lacking in dynamics-a great watch made great by the performances by the central characters and the overall snappy direction by Tom Hanks, nice editing and good story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2000
This is a great movie directed and stared Tom Hanks. The first time I saw this movie I only saw the last 20min but from that I knew it was good. So I had to see the full movie. Great cast great music. 5 star movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
One of those 'feel-good' films that has the benefit of a great song that you just can't get out of your head! If you are nostalgic for the feel of the early 60s then this is the film for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
A band in Pennsylvania cut a song, it gets on the radio and moves up the charts. They get an agent and then end up going to California. Unfortunately, they have to pay the price of fame. fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse