Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 23 October 2017
Reynolds stars as Bo 'Bandit' Darville, the best driver-for-hire in the South. Bo's never above evading the law if means turning a little extra profit, so he seems the ideal choice for Big Enos Burdette (Pat McCormick) when he needs to illegally transport a few hundred cases of beer across state lines from Texarkana into Atlanta. But on this trip, Bo and his long-suffering partner Cledus 'Snowman' Snow (Jerry Reed) will get more than they bargained for, thanks to the "runaway bride" (Sally Field) that Bo picks up along the way, and the relentless Sheriff Bufford T. Justice (Jackie Gleason), who will stop at nothing to nab his greatest trophy -- the Bandit.. A really great film thats fast moving and if you like road movies this one's a must see
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 October 2015
This is one of those films so fondly remembered from a childhood spent in the 80's.
As a child it was thrilling for the car chases and it was funny as the hapless but hilarious Sheriff Buford T. Justice (Jackie Gleason) was always just one step behind the self-assured Bandit (Burt Reynolds).
Laden with (PG-rated) mild profanity and ludicrous situations the plot sees the Bandit and Snowman (Jerry Reed) joined by Carrie (Sally Field) as they smuggle a truck load of beer across state lines.
Watching this again years later it's reassuring to be laughing at the same silly things for the same reasons. I don't think this film was never meant to be anything more than a buddy film full of stunts, poor jokes, bell-bottomed jeans and massive cars but it had a strong and funny cast who obviously enjoyed making this film.
The BluRay version is superb and this 1977 film looks far, far better than any old VHS taped memories.

If you were a child of the 80's you need to see this film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 January 2015
‘Deliverance’ will always be the film that I associate with Burt – a great movie. That was 40 years ago now; when Burt was in his prime. Five years later in 1977 we have his biggest hit - Smokey and the Bandit. Latterly in 97’, after a long lean run, he achieved his first acting awards with Boogie Nights, but the comeback faded away again. Perhaps Burt was never a great actor but his film credits are amazing, as is the money he must have earned!
I can’t say I think this is a great film in any way, but it was a huge financial success and cemented Burt as one of Hollywood’s top assets. At that time he was worth zillions – how sad that we now read he is about to lose it all – he could even end up homeless?
This is just a fun movie. It may be totally ‘cheesy’ but I’m giving it four stars for pure entertainment and hammy comedy value. It’s a simple enough tale but the action comes thick and fast and how people love those car chases don’t they?
In summary, Burt has had a great career; yes, he’s been in some real duffers, but there are a few, like this one, where it’s nice to catch up with him again, and of course, he looks just great. I just wish he'd looked after his money better?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2012
SMOKEY AND THE BANDIT Special Edition (Region 1, US Import) UNIVERSAL STUDIOS

Get ready to tear up the highway with the Bandit (Burt Reynolds), a fun-loving, fast-talking trucker who takes on his craziest haul yet - delivering 400 cases of beer from Texarkana to Atlanta in just 28 hours. With Sheriff Buford T. Justice (Jackie Gleason) hot on his trail and eager to teach him some respect for the law, the Bandit joins forces with good ol` boy Cledus (Jerry Reed) and runaway bride Carrie (Sally Field). Gear up for huge laughs, pedal-to-the-medal action, and some of the wildest car chases ever filmed.

An all-round fun movie from start to finish, the pictues shows a bit of grain but not to much and the 5.1 Audio is very clear if you can play multi-region dvds this is probably the best version as the UK Blu-Ray has no extras, and is always worth a watch to put you in a good mood.

Dvd Includes:
Loaded Up And Truckin`-The Making Of Smokey And The Bandit 20 Mins (Includes Interview With Burt Reynolds)
Snowman, What`s Your 20?-The Smokey And Bandit CB Tutorial 9 Mins
All-New Digitally Remastered Picture
Audio: English Dolby Digital 5.1 & English DTS 5.1
Subtitles: English* Suitable for the deaf and hard of hearing*, Espanol & Francis
Aspect Ratio: Anamorphic Widescreen 1.85:1
Movie Running Time 96 Mins
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2015
A good film, with the late, great, Jackie Gleason as 'Sherif Buford T Justice' stealing the film with a great comic performance. Burt Reynolds, Sally Field and the late Jerry Reed are also good in their roles too. There's some great car chase sequences, plenty of action, the running time of just over 90 minutes goes pretty quickly. I think I wore my VHS copy of this film out as a kid!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2017
Fun family film. If you like the American Big Rigs this for you. Plenty action and laughs. Jackie Gleason is superb as the sheriff and Burt Reynolds is his usual tongue in cheek self.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2017
The are great movies, which my wife and I loved and wanted in our collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2014
I have always loved this film and although it is a 70`s film, i don`t feel it has dated that much, only the clothes!! It has loads of car chases and loads of humour especially from the sherrif and his son who are brilliantly funny!! A little bit of romance thrown in for good measure. All in all an enjoyable film and i would recommend to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2017
Great classic film who dosnt like the Bandit its a must watch film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2017
Good old comedy from the great Burt Reynolds in another one of his great films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)