Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
210
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2012
A stunning film by Douglas Trumball filled with the sort of eco message that has become very popular of late.
I will not go into great detail about the film as others before me on this review page have done such a fine job.
Just to say that the transfer is superb, the sound the best I have ever heard and the extras are well worth delving into.
The limited edition steelbook is a thing of beauty and, in my opinion, well worth paying the extra for.
A poignant, funny, and at times, achingly sad film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
I first saw this movie many years ago and forgot how good it was, or I was too young to appreciate Bruce Dern's performance as dedicated but frustrated conservationist Freeman Lowell aboard the starship Valley Forge. This is a beautiful little story with an important message that is still valid today. The movie's G cert makes it suitable for all the family, and different ages will find different aspects of the movie endearing, while adults will identify with the main character and his day to day frustrations. The HD transfer is utterly exceptional, so even if you have this on DVD it is worth buying again. Extras are great too, with a fascinating 50 min "making of" documentary which I watch immediately after the main feature. I'll watch this many times over, I have no doubt, and have recommended to at least 3 people since last weekend. Big thumbs up, expecially id you have never had the pleasure of watching this cinema classic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2010
Whilst I love this film & on it's own it warrants 5 stars I refuse to buy it on the grounds that once again
region 2 customers get dumped on when compared to region 1 customers. The region 2 version is the same as the previous incarnation & is in 4:3 format meanwhile the region 1 is widescreen format & has been remastered.
Perhaps if this ever comes out on region 2 blu ray we may finally get the version we deserve & not just be
fobbed off with a straight from video transfer.
11 comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2007
Set in the far future aboard the spaceship "Valley Forge", Bruce Dern and three fellow astronauts maintain the huge vessel and the forests that it contains with the help of three ingeniously rendered robots. The robots are so convincing that they steal the show, but they remain classic depictions that are on par with Robby from "Forbidden Planet" and the droids of "Star Wars".

This is a sad story with a strong ecological message, "Silent Running" is a visual treat with outstanding special effects and a very realistically-depicted "Valley Forge" spaceship. A production note: Trumbull had use of the decommissioned naval aircraft carrier "Valley Forge" before it was scrapped and he was able to modify many of it's vast interiors for use in the movie, all to good effect.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
Am I the only one fed with with Universals' dire treatment of both their film and TV shows on DVD and blu-ray?.
Could someone please hand over the Universal back catalogue to Eurkea! If this is an example of what they have lined up in future. Superb restoration in both picture and sound. I'm looking forward to other Universal titles from this UK company.
I watched this back to back with Touch of Evil and it's every bit as good. The new UK "Criterion"?

Roger Shore
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Luckily these funny drones were walking around because i became sadder and sadder watching this movie in which the last forests floating in space are destroyed and there is no explanation why they are destroyed. I was very touched by the ending but there is still hope out there because one forest might be saved by a drone. Imagine that it really would come to this because humans are not taken care of the forests which are the lungs of our planet. This is a beautiful film with a beautiful soundtrack by Joan Baez. The opening shot in fact already sets the tone that this film is going to be something special and if people do not get it well they do not get it. The numb will stay numb.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2005
I spent ages going round and round in cyberspace trying to find the 'Making of Silent Running' documentary.Here it is now - 50 minutes of heaven showing Joan Baez recording the title track and more about the Drones than you could ever need to know. In addition theres an excellent 30 minute new documentary and a conversation with Bruce Dern. SO although all of the releases of this film look the same, pay whatever it costs to get hold of this DEFINITIVE collection. Its the best by a long space voyage !
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2014
Bruce Dern is superb in this film in my opinion. It is a classic sci-fi, ecological, environmental tale and clearly demonstrates mankinds utter stupidity....destroy forests on Earth, save some and send them out into deepest, darkest space (outer solar system at enormous expense...not sure where exactly they are destined for!) then ***spoiler alert*** abandon the idea, blow them all up and come home. Also, ***another spoiler alert*** which moron involved in the project didn't consider the effect the lack of sunlight would have on the flora and fauna in the domes! Personally, I love the drones and all my sympathy is with them. The poker game between Dern and the drones is a highlight.
Simply Brilliant Early 70s Sci-Fi.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2015
R ember seeing this film many years ago and its one of those that has stuck in my mind and after seeing it featured in a magazine just thought i would see if it was available and it was thanks to you guys,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
In case any Hollywood 'suits' might be reading this, take a lesson from Eureka how to rerelease a classic film in a modern format (Blu-ray Disc) which also appeals to film collectors: Original theatrical poster artwork, an abundance of behind the scenes material (the original making of the film from 1971 is one of my top favourites and itself worth the purchase of this BD. I really appreciate Laurent Bouzereau's retrospective documentaries but feel you can't beat an individual 'making of' from the original time and context) and a lavishly extensive booklet, quite a work of passion that shows.

The HD restoration picture quality is impeccable, considering this film was made with a budget of only 1 Mio. $ and therefore some compromises regarding film stock were inevitable, hence the film grain shows occasionally in different strength, though some of the scenes in space could have benefitted from some digital corrections to reduce noise.
Interestingly, the original monaural sound was so crystal clear that I didn't find the absence of stereo sound disturbing.

SILENT RUNNING - put simply - is a kind of bridge between 2001 and STAR WARS, as it echoes design and style elements of Kubrick's film from 1968 but also and already uses style elements that reflect a few years later in 1977 with STAR WARS and R2-D2.

The only things I found somewhat odd were the BD menu design (theatrical poster would have been sufficient) and the educational efforts of Eureka in the booklet, suggesting to watch the film as the filmmaker intended without frame interpolation / motion enhancement.
Well, considering filmmaker Douglas Trumbull is the father of motion enhancement when he invented the showscan process with 60 frames per second (overcoming the motion blur inherent in 24 fps camera recordings), I enjoyed the film with the highest FI setting on my Optoma HD 83 DLP front projector and didn't experience any feeling of guilt (especially since that was the way, the filmmaker saw the actors perform and move when he looked through the camera lens...)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse