Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
107
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2017
I found this show really entertaining when I was a kid. I was a bit disappointed that Futurama had stopped being made. But I'm really happy that I got this first season of the show.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Grandson happy DVD in great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
What can I say other than this is the best cartoon series ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Really liked it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
Good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2002
In light of the shabby treatment given to Futurama by the Fox network in the States (and by other networks in other countries as well), I was overjoyed to have the first season of this innovative program finally made available on DVD. I'm the first on my block with a set, and probably the only one in town with one, as it is not available yet here in the States. Go figure! But as Matt Groening says in an interview on one of the discs, if you love science fiction, you'll love this. And if you hate science fiction, you'll love this. One word of caution: Disney it ain't, with suicide booths, a malt liquor-swilling foul-mouthed robot, and some rather adult situations. If you like your toons with an attitude, then go for it! It's well worth the price, and the special features will provide hours of enjoyment.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2003
Most people assume that the future will be better than the present. Not so in Futurama. Even a thousand years from now, politicians are still crooked, the Internet is still full of porn and people are just as stupid as they ever were. Maybe even slightly more so.
Futurama is Simpsons creator Matt Groening's second animated show, crashing together the worlds of Star Trek and Springfield in a fast-paced comedy that combines social satire, farce, movie spoofs and hot alien chicks. Loser delivery boy Fry is accidentally frozen on New Year's Eve 1999, getting thawed out a millennium later just in time to see in the year 3000 - in his new job as, you guessed it, a delivery boy. Hooking up with cyclops space captain Leela and surly robot Bender, as well as the other misfit employees of the Planet Express delivery service, Fry gets to experience all the malfunctioning wonders of the 31st Century.
At its best, Futurama is easily as funny as a top-whack episode of The Simpsons - hardly surprising, since many of its writers moved over from Groening's first show. The jokes come just as fast and are every bit as sharp, and each episode stands up to multiple viewings because of the sheer number of sight gags and hidden details tucked away in the background. The writers all appear to be huge science fiction fans as well - spotting every reference, from the obvious to the obscure, is an almost impossible task, but if you get them it's yet another layer of comedy to enjoy.
This boxset actually contains more than the 'official' first season of the show - the four episodes on disc three were held back until the show's second year. Their inclusion here is a definite bonus, bringing the total up to 13. The standard of the shows is so high that it would be far quicker to list the few shows that aren't quite as brilliant as the rest. But, like The Simpsons, even a comparatively weak episode of Futurama is better than 90 percent of the dreck currently found on TV.
The audio commentaries are nearly as entertaining as the episodes, as the various people involved in each are having a great time reminiscing and reliving the jokes. Groening and co-creator David X Cohen also drop in nuggets about early ideas for the show and point out hidden details that will be paid off years down the line. The deleted scenes were all dropped for reasons of time rather than lack of humour, so are worth watching. Audio is just stereo, but the picture is crystal-clear and full of vivid colours - far sharper than the first Simpsons boxset, probably down to Futurama's extensive use of computer graphics.
A lot of people didn't give Futurama a chance purely on the grounds that it's "sci-fi". In reality, there's usually more science in a L'Oreal advert - it's a comedy, and a bloody good one at that. You owe it to yourself to take a trip into the world of tomorrow!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2003
When Futurama was first aired on t.v. It always seemed to be on at a time when I was busy doing something else so I just caught fleeting glances of it as it played in the background, my first impression was "The Simpsons in the future".....how wrong I was.
A friend of mine owned the season 1 dvd box set, and being a big fan of The Simpsons I watched the first episode of Futurama at his house, I was instantly hooked and bought the season 1 dvd the very next week.
The story is about a pizza delivery boy called Fry, who, on new years eve 1999 is sent forward through time to the year 3000 due to a cryogenic freezing accident. Fry then looks up his only relative in the year 3000 who happens to be a professor who owns an intergalactic delivery company and Fry ironically once again becomes a delivery boy (a job he hated in 1999, but loves in 3000 because it involves piloting a spaceship).
Fry teams up with Bender, an alcoholic, kleptomaniac, psychopathic robot. Leela, a cycloptic babe who gives up her job to become Fry's delivery-ship captain. His great great great great great etc. nephew (the mad professor). And a host of other great characters as part of the delivery company.
The animation and humour of Futurama are very similar to The Simpsons (which is no bad thing)the razor-sharp wit, sarcasm, irony, and laughs at other people's misfortune are all there.
But where Futurama differs I personally think is in the scope for inventiveness and creativity on the part of Groening and his team, after all no-one knows what the year 3000 will be like.
I think this gives Futurama an edge over The Simpsons because they can create whatever they want......new planets, new gadgets, different species etc. it has a lot more freedom than The Simpsons, and this I beleieve is what will keep Futurama going long after the last episode of The Simpsons (although I hope that never happens).
All in all Futurama is great for anyone who likes The Simpsons style of humour (I personally now prefer it to The Simpsons)or for anyone who enjoys cartoons full stop. A great box set and a fantastic series.....all credit to Matt Groening and his team.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2005
This is the boxset that takes you into the future! Futurama Season one contains the first episodes of this great show, created by Matt Groening and David X. Cohen. Episodes include the famous 'Space Pilot 3000' in which Fry, the main male of the series and a young pizza delivery boy, delivers a pizza on new years eve 1999, unfortunatley enough falls back from a chair and freezes himself for 1000 years. Then he wakes up, in the year 3000. Other episodes include 'Love's Labours Lost in Space,' 'My three suns' and 'Mars University' in which there is a University on Mars- quite obvious from the title, and the University is yet again set around the year 3000. You may have seen these episodes before and want to re-visit them, or maybe you have never seen Futurama before and want to watch the very first episodes. Whatever it is, with these fab graphics and episodes, you won't want to miss a thing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2002
One of the first things you notice (well, if you are slightly obssessive like me) is how much was edited out by Channel 4.
Because of its early time slot many of more "adult" jokes were snipped so it's great to see it how it was intended.
Many snubbed this series as a poor alternative to The Simpsons, but on repeated viewing it really comes to life.
The gag thickness is superb, with there always being something you missed first time.
Extras are good with missing scenes (although not that many) various scripts and stuff.
But best of all is the commentary.
Although slightly nerdy American prep school, it is fascinating to see how the creators go about creating.
David X Coen also sounds exactly like the comic book man in The Simpsons. Spooky.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse