Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
45
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2016
I must admit to be already a huge fan of this particular film. I noticed one night long ago it was on TV and I recorded it to a VHS cassette tape, but as anyone knows the adverts destroy the continuity of a film which as this is a marvellous edge –of-the-seat thriller it is so superb.

For me James Spader is simply sublime, I already think her is a great actor, but in this role he excels. But besides James Spader all of the other actors make this such an unmissable film, especially Keanu Reeves as the crazed psychopath.

If you are anything like me and adore thriller films, and you do not know this film. Please believe me this is addictive and simply surreal. Myself I must have watched this about 500 times it so good, .and I never get tired of great films, and this one of the very finest.

So do yourself a favour and buy this truly marvellous film, with a stunning cast, great acting, and a flawless story. Buy with confidence its simply unbelievable.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
Still looks as good as it did on its release over a decade ago.
A cat and mouse thriller with a deranged Keanu Reeves teasing the troubled detective played by a convincing and brilliant James Spader.
Both at the top of their game in this chilling thriller.
Highly recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Good film. Quick delivery too. Well pleased.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2008
I came to The Watcher with relatively low expectations having never heard of the film before. The cheap price and other reviews tempted me and I'm grateful they did for, while The Watcher is a film with a number of flaws, it does have two significant redeeming qualities; James Spader's central performance and the unpretentious aspirations of the plot.

Spader plays Joel Campbell, a detective who has become central to a serial killer's theatre of cruelty and is paying the emotional and physical price for this unwanted attention. Instead of the cliched narrative of a maverick cop who insists on taking the case despite his flaws Campbell is aware of the liability he has become and hides away like a wounded dog. He has not totally given up hope, however, and reaches out for healing with a psychiatrist played by Marisa Tomei. Unfortunately it is the killer who finally drags an unwilling Campbell out of his twilight world and the suspense escalates around the identity, not of the killer, but of his victims and whether the fragile Campbell can excise the literal and psychological demons from his life.

There are problems with this film, notable the supporting cast have underwritten roles which cannot be resurrected from the forgetable. Marisa Tomei, while likeable, is a fleeting presence and Keanu Reeves does not convince as a serial killer. Only the script's construction of his character's ruthlessness allows the audience to suspend belief to the extent of 'buying' him as a worthy adversary to Campbell. They finally come together in a needlessly rushed climax which falls back on the worst conventions of movie law via a number of lazy plot flaws and continuity errors. It is a testament to Spader's efforts that the audience is sufficiently invested in Campbell to forgive these distractions and crave a satisfactory conclusion to the character's story. This is the key dicotomy of The Watcher - its worth seeing for Spader's outstanding and compelling performance which is delivered, however, within the context of a production that is not really worthy of his contribution. Recommended, therefore, but with reservations, this is a movie that deserves to be better known.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2003
I always like films where a typecast actor breaks free of their stereotyped roles!!
Well, this is one of the best!!!
Keanu Reeves is brilliant as the psychotic woman killer, who watches his intended victims, getting to know their routine so he knows when they are most vunrable. Then he photo's the woman and sends it to the police telling them they have 24 hours to find the woman before he kills her with piano wire!! (nice!!) The cop in charge of the case (James Spader) has been trying to catch this killer for a long time (he killed his g/friend in the past) so there is a lot of personal anger and revenge boiling inside him!
The cool thing about this film is that the "bad guy" is a major character who you get to meet fairly early on and see him quite a lot (unlike seven where the "bad guy" isn't seen at all until right near the end of the film. The murders in this film are obvious without being graphic (hence the reason it is only a 15 rated film) but it plays more on the suspense and build-up to each murder to get its fear factor!
This is an intelligent film, although the ending is fairly predictable (e.g. the bad guy loses) but the way it ends was very exciting!!!
Another good thing about this film is the relationship between the character played Keanu and James. It is intense and believable and you really start to wonder who really has the upper hand and who really is in charge! they have some electrifing scenes together!
Overall this is a brilliant film, superbly acted (great casting!) and masterfully directed to keep your attention!
A real "sit up and take notice" type of film!
A must see!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2006
Keanu Reeves [10] James Spader [9] Music [9] Marisa Tomei [8]

KR steals the show an excellent baddie. Spader has a knack of giving a gloss finnish to a weak storyline. Joe Charbonic's let us know who the killer is very early approach was a novel idea but having no trade mark horror signature on the bodies made the killer seem to be almost friendly.

At the end you will probably find that you enjoyed The Watcher but it's not going to make many all time favourites lists.

Nitpicks: We were introduced to our serial monster with a 'How He Works' briefing. We were told he studies his victims for months before taking action. So it was bemusing when suddenly he started picking future victims every other day. And then: Caught on the hop, surrounded with no way out by at least 25 carloads of police and dozens of police marksmen KR hops away across the rooftops like Bert the chimney sweep in Mary Poppins. Although silhouetted nobody saw a thing.

That said i'm glad i did watch it & a Keanu Reeves film that everyone can understand really gives you chance to apreciate his acting talents. JimP
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
Now this was a great movie with lots of suspense and action. Worth keeping and watching again! James Spader and Keanu Reeves play off one another with great effect and, although it's a bit gory in parts, it'll keep you hooked until the end. Recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
James Spader is excellent in the role who is trying to find the killer and his performance is as always outstanding and convincing.Keeps you gripped from start to finish a must see movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2015
This movie has every cliche in the book. It is a million cop/thriller films boiled down into one. Predictable plot, old-fashioned look and feel. A real turkey that couldn't be saved by the actors.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
spooky and gripping
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)