Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
61
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£21.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 June 2014
Some of Woody`s funniest one liners & sight gags can be found here. Not directed by Allen but adapted by him from his own stage play. I personally think the on going phone gag with Tony Roberts wears very thin but still highly recommended overall.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
This was the first Woody Allen film I ever saw, and found it intelligent and hilariously funny. I enjoyed the nostalgic moments. Of course it is his version of the 1940's film with Ingrid Bergman...brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
This is one of woody allens best. Its basically a remake of casablanca set in modern times. It is very very funny in places and i would not hesitate to recommend this to you. Well worth a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 December 2002
This film sees Woody Allen's first on-screen encounter with a very young and incredibly attractive Diane Keaton, who stars in several of his later films. The two work very well together on screen, and as a confirmed Woody Allen fan (you either love him or hate him) I can happily say that this is the most consistently amusing picture in his catalogue. I must have seen this movie 20 times, and I still find myself hooting with laughter. I can't think of any other films that have the same effect with the possible exception of Dark Star.
Lovers of 'The Office' (comedy TV series) will appreciate much of the humour as Allen trips from one cringing ordeal to another in the search of true love after his wife leaves him 'to ski down a mountain laughing like an idiot'.
The picture quality is very good considering the age of the film, though sound is only in mono format. The only real disappointment is the lack of special features. Strongly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
A great film; the scene in his flat when he's about to meet a blind date is the greatest bit of comedy. Smirking about it remembering it as I write this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2011
My favorite Woody films touching funny and worth the money if only for the line I love the rain it washes memories off the sidewalk of life, priceless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
Freely admit not a fan of Allen but my friend is. Contains some frighteningly mysogonistic views. Personally, found completely lacking in humour
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
'How did I mis-read those signs?"
Oh heavens please watch it. As hapless a set of dating farce pratfalls as one is ever likely to see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Really enjoyed this film, it had dated a bit but was very watchable. Woody Allen at his best. Would recommend it to discerning friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
I am not a dedicated fan of woody allen/ but some of his work is very funny. This one is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse