Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
40
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2006
Any true Incubus fan will tell you that this is their best album.

Yes, Make Yourself is great but nothing touches this album...

Brandon's vocals are superb and there is some great riffage on here. SCIENCE mixes so many different genres of music and slams it into one disc of mind blowing music.

This is a disc which can not and will not get old.

I have had a copy of this CD for years but I have recently felt the urge to own a copy, it's too good not to.

If you aren't sure, please download "Certain Shade" and "Favourite Things", and try to disagree with me that SCIENCE isn't Incubus' best album...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2004
Incubus's major label debut S.C.I.E.N.C.E is simply an amazing roller coaster of an album that is both energetic and powerful. This album is a huge musical change from their earlier material from 'Fungus Amongus’, which was more of a funk style of rock. S.C.I.E.N.C.E on the other hand is driven by hard power chords, funky bass lines and ferocious drumming. Plus with the much needed addition of DJ Lyfe (soon replaced by DJ Kilmore), the results are incredible. The album kicks open with the hard rocking 'Redefine', a song that demonstrates both Brandon’s amazing vocal abilities but also how much a positive difference a DJ makes when added to Incubus's songs. The album continues on an energetic mood with the storming 'Vitamin' and 'New Skin', the stomping 'Idiot Box' and the funky hard hitting 'Glass'. 'Magic Medicine' is an instrumental mainly DJ orchestrated which links brilliantly into the amazing 'Certain Shade Of Green'. 'Favourite Things' continues the energetic mood of the album and keeps the flow moving very swiftly, 'Anti Gravity Love Song' is a more noticeable change of style towards a more mellow feel, with a catchy funky guitar rift and a slick saxophone solo, 'Summer Romance' shows Incubus can also provide both romantic and jazzy songs. 'Nebula' is probably my least favourite song on the album, although it does feature some powerful vocal note ranges from Brandon. 'Deep Inside' sounds alot more like Incubus' early funk approach, with a swift and impressive guitar solo, and the album closer 'Calgone' opens with an eerie tone, which explodes into an onslaught of thrashing guitars and hard bass lines, a perfect ending to the album. There is also an extra 12 minutes of hidden random nonsense including a skit about 'the karate kid', an example of Incubus' sense of humour. S.C.I.E.N.C.E in my opinion is both lyrically and musically superior to any of the other popular hard rock albums of the time, and despite the fact I usually prefer more mellow and sometimes more rocky bands (e.g. Pearl Jam, Smashing Pumpkins and REM to name a few) I was instantly drawn to Incubus from the first listen and since have developed admiration and respect for their work and I have yet to tire of their albums. The only negative I would have to say is that the album structure is a little odd in places and doesn’t flow quite as well as it could have done. Having said that, S.C.I.E.N.C.E is an incredible piece of work powerful, imaginative, original and most importantly enjoyable. I especially recommend this album to fans of bands such as Tool, Red Hot Chilli Peppers and Limp Bizkit. Go ahead and buy this album, enjoy incubus
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
I've been a fan of Incubus for ages and I've loved everything they've done from their big classics like 'Drive' and 'Nice To Know You' to their under rated tunes such as 'Southern Girl' and 'Isadore' and though I had heard most of this album I had never sat down and really listened to it and all it's beauty. It is just a great album, it meshes every from jazz to rap and metal to latin and doesn't make a mess of it, it all fits very well and it sounds like Incubus too. It's almost as if from the off they had their sound and all that's happened is their song writing has strengthened over time. It kicks off with a double knockout with 'Redefine' and 'Vitamin' and it continues to impress and wow even with the lighter more pop-y songs like 'Summer Romance (Anti-Gravity Love Song), and of course with the massive nu-metal track 'A Certain Shade Of Green' it just makes the album so complete and solid. All Incubus fans need it and if you want to listen to a successful mesh of pretty much every genre this is also the album for you.
Essential Tracks:
Redefine
Vitamin
A Certain Shade Of Green
Favorite Things
Summer Romance (Anti-Gravity Love Song)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2002
If you'd heard of incubus before this album you could hardly hope for a top class album because incubus' previous fare "enjoy incubus" was although funky and fun not a great album. S.C.I.E.N.C.E in contrast is arguably the best album incubus have ever released. S.C.I.E.N.C.E is full of life and variety with the start of the album containing songs verging on genius. A Certain Shade of Green shows incubus at their heaviest and the guitar riffs from Mike Einzigher bedazzle your ears as the scratching from DJ Lyfe (who has now been replaced) give the song an injection of the funk that we saw on "enjoy." Although S.C.I.E.N.C.E definitely contains the best of incubus' songs not all of it is incredible the album seems to weaken after one of their live favourites "Favourite Things." "Anti-Gravity Love Song" is jazz and doesn't fit in with the rest of the album and although "Nebula" gives it a kick back in the right direction the weakness of the last few songs is really disappointing. Still S.C.I.E.N.C.E does contain some of the best songs ever "Vitamin" and "New Skin" build up to "Idiot Box" which shows the band flowing like never seen before... BUY THIS ALBUM
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2003
Put Simply, this album is immense. As soon as I heard the opening of Redefine, I knew there was no going back for me. The Album is a bit oddly structured, but this is because incubus were experimenting at the time, hence the title, but the tracks couldnt be any better.
1. Redefine- This track is absolutely amazing, it starts with some fantastic Digeridoo followed by scratching, and some evocative and thought provoking lyrics make it a masterpiece.
2.Vitamin- This track is not as good as redefine, but it is still amazing, and has a great flow. The lyrics make sense, but are less of an issue than before.
3.New Skin- This is one of my favourite tracks on the album, as it features some fantastic tribal drumming, heavy guitar and good sampling, and the lyrics are also excellent.
4.Idiot Box- This track is great, slowed down compared to the previous ones, but still great. Its a bit more funky, but still retains a hard rock element. Thought Provoking Lyrics too.
5.Glass- This track is similar to idiot box, in that it is more funky, but it is also better, and has a good rhythm coupled with good guitar and drumming.
6.Magic Medicine- As a quirky track, this is good, but it feels out of place in the middle of the album. However, the link from the end of this track to the start of the next is brilliant.
7.A Certain Shade Of Green- A true rock anthem. Fantastic.
8.Favourite Things- This track is, ironically, my favourite on the album. Its lyrics are thought provoking, and the rushing guitar is amazing, coupled with excellent drumming and vocals. Even better live.
9.Summer Romance (Anti-Gravity Love Song)- This harks back to the early days of incubus, and is impossibly groovy with its santana like beat and effects. Brandon Boyd's vocal range is shown off to a great degree here.
10.Nebula- Even though this track has been slightly messed with speed-wise, its still a cracker, and its stop-start beat really is incredibly catchy.
11.Deep Inside- After the superb summer romance and nebula, this is a bit of a letdown. It's mainly ineffectual and does not really stand out, but it is still a good track.
12.Calgone- This track has a fabulous intro, and a brilliant synergy between thrash metal guitar and soft, harmonious vocals. Has a great sample at the end where incubus' former DJ Gavin Koppel knocks the mixing desk and almost erases the entire track.
13.Jose Loves Kate Moss Part 1- This hidden track is basically a king size brain fart from Gavin Koppel, with samples from everything as diverse as an autopsy report to an old arcade machine being played.
So there you have it. Buy Science, then go out and buy morning view, make yourself, enjoy incubus, fungus amongus, and When incubus attacks, if you can get hold of it. Listen to them all and think- "How can such a good band exist?"
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2002
The album opens to a brilliant song, "Redefine", which leads onto typical Chilli Peppers' influenced Incubus style "Vitamin" and "New Skin". The album ranges from jazzy funk songs like "Summer Romance" to the original heavy roots of Incubus found in the all time brilliant "A certain shade of Green". This album shows Incubus at their best, despite their newly acquired musical talents demonstrated on Make Yourself and Morning View, this is the album you would recommend to show Incubus' finest moments! It's what makes every gig worthwhile!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2001
I bought this cd having heard very little about Incubus but it didnt take me long to geet into it. I bought this album primarily because I am a bassist and i heard that they've got a damn good bassist! I love this cd more than anything!The basslines compare to something Les Claypool(bassist with Primus)would do. Overall this is one of the funkiest albums i have ever bought and now Im away to buy their newest album:Make Yourself !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2002
Ok, Incubus used to be a totally different band. They used to look really cool (not that they don't now). This was released around the time Brandon had his dreads, Mike had his dreads, and they had D.J. Lyfe on the turntables. They also used to play totally different. They played the dreaded RAP-ROCK. However, Incubus did the rap-rock thing AMAZINGLY. With such insane songs as 'New Skin', 'Vitamin', 'Idiot Box' and the best track on the album 'A Certain Shade Of Green'. If there is a single Incubus fan who does not own this album, now is the time to get it, now coming complete with the mental video to 'A Certain Shade Of Green' (Complete with streaking, astronauts, and Brandon gurning and pulling out the single silver dreadlock on his head). This is damn essential, and I'm yet to find a person that disagrees.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2002
In my opinion, this album was an experiment to evolve Incubus into the new genres of rock music. This is because there is a variety of different styles including heavy metal, funk, and drum 'n' bass. the heavier tracks ("A Certain Shade Of Green", "New Skin") are cool, but there are also some lighter, funkier ones like "Deep Inside" and "Summer Romance", which are also very good. However there is a mix of Gavin Koppel's drum 'n' bass & DJ demos, (namely "Magic Medicine") which let the album down. However, on the whole it is a well orchestrated 'in your face' release that set the scene for the future.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2006
this is hands down the best incubus album to date, sorry folks but its all downhill from here. if you have just got into incubus this album might come as a shock to you with its heavy guitars, funky stlye and jazz like interludes. many fans of 'a crow left of the murder' may not like this, incubus' stle has got liter and more mainstream as time has gone on but s.c.i.e.c.e is them at thier most creative.

Highlight tracks, all of them! their all good! but my top three are:

'New skin' heavy and great to listen to

'deep inside' funky and smooth with a few suprises

'magic medacine' for its sheer wierdness!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here