Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
67
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 August 2013
'Beverley Hills Cop' would not have done a great deal at the box office if it had not been for Eddie Murphy. A good 'cop film' it would be no more no less without the quick-fire wit and verbal antics of the slick comedian. While the plot (and especially the eventual outcome) is as predictable as death & taxes what makes this film a delight now is its retro-appeal. For lovers of 80's music, the film is worth watching just to listen again to the awesome soundtrack. 'Axel-F' by Harold Faltermayer, 'The Heat Is On' by Glen Frey, 'Neutron Dance' by The Pointer Sisters and 'Stir It Up' by Patti Labelle are all right on the money here and work very well driving the action in place of the now the norm dull sound effects routine.

Sadly, some 1980's 'knew them at the time' classics are unwatchable today and have totally lost their charm. Ironically, due to the familiarity of the plot, aside from its soundtrack, 'Beverley Hills Cop' remains a movie able to entertain the audiences of today and thus has not aged so badly. With a good selection of extras, including interviews with the original cast and a reflection on the soundtrack and its role in the making of the film, 'Beverley Hills Cop' even now is worth adding to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
It just doesn't have that many laughs and I found it rather boring. I had a much funnier memory of Eddie Murphy from my childhood - this is the risk of re-watching your childhood favourites in your thirties.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
My first will always be Trading Places and I'm not a fan of his output after Coming to America. This is a solid action comedy with a good cast and excellent soundtrack of the times. My review is of the special edition dvd, which has a good quality transfer of the film and is cheap as chips! As long as your machine plays dvd I don't see the point in forking out extra cash for the blu ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
A Detroit policeman gets a visit from an old friend who ends up dead. The policeman drives a battered Chevy Nova to California to see if he can figure out who/why his friend was killed, hilarity follows. The local police get involved and aspire to do things 'by the book'. fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
A strange amalgam of the odd-couple/buddy movie and Pygmalion, Beverley Hills Cop involves the street-wise black guy shaking up the complacent local fuzz. In fact he hopscotches all over the thin blue line to get things done, blagging his way through the entire movie. No doubt much of Murphy's script was invented in front of the cameras.

Murphy has balanced support - Judge Reinhold and John Ashton play a super double-headed straight guy to all this. Berkoff is in a rich vein of baddie-form, having done Octopussy the year before. The real star though is the eponymous hip hop theme tune, mainstreaming hip-hop in the same way that Murphy's Axel is blaxploitation-emancipated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
I've bought many films from the '70's to late '00's which have been upscaled to Blu-Ray. None have done it like this, some it's hard to tell the difference between my player upscaling the DVD itself and most have noticable graining or 'noise' (mostly due to the fact that the high resolution of Blu-Ray picks up the grain off the film) But on my plasma - a professionally calibrated Panny VT30 - even in dark scenes you have to look hard for graining.

A FANTASTIC remaster of one of my old favorites - can't wait to order 2 & 3 now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2007
Granted that my opinion would be biased due to it being my favourite film but with Eddie Murphy's most amazing acting and perfect humour and the best laugh known to mankind, i can safely say this is his best piece of work, and the best trilogy i know. Comedy wise anyway.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2010
See No Evil, Hear No Evil [DVD] [1989]it is excellent,Beverly Hills Cop [DVD] [1985]it is good,little to much f wordsproduct is excellent,
postage is very,very expensive which may discourage me to buy in the future as i think it's very unfair that UK have free postage or at least an affordable rate.i'm sure there are couriers that would give a better deal
i would recommend other to buy this product if postage/courier were not as expensive
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2002
Eddie Murphy gives a great performance as Detective Axel Foley from Detroit who trails his best friends killer in Beverly Hills. This movie is so funny, the pace is very fast and the action never stops. Beverly Hills Cop has one of the great 80's soundtrack featuring the hit songs "The Heat is On", "New Attitude", and "Stir it Up".
Overall a very good movie from one of the best comedians and actors, I highly recommend it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
I loved this film, from the great soundtrack I to the hilarious spontaneous comedy, it's a definite must watch!
I would definitely encourage anyone considering it to watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.