Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
111
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2013
One of my favourite western movies featuring two of my favourite American stars: Wayne and Mitchum. What a couple! I enjoy watching it more and more every time. What else is to be said?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
I have a household of females to contend with. One of my chores is the ironing- I escape to the basement to complete my chores and invariably have a western on. I have no idea how many times I have watched this movie, but I could probably write the script for.

It is meaningless, escapist boys rubbish................... and I love it! My wife thinks I am very sad.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
This disc more than met my expectations.It was most certainly first class. This is one of my favourite John Wayne films.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This engaging Western is as entertaining way to spend a couple of hours as I can think of. It is essentially a remake of Howard Hawkes and John Wayne's greatest collaboration Rio Bravo. Telling the story of Cole Thornton, gun for hire (played by Wayne) and a man of principle. Thornton is hired to kill a local Sherriff getting in the way of Bart Jason's plans to get the water he needs for his ranch. He pulls out of the deal as soon as he realises that the Sherriff is his old comrade J.P. Harrah (Robert Mitchum). At he same time he tangles with the McLeod family, resulting in the unfortunate death of the younger son, and the daughter swearing vengeance against him.

Fast forward a few months, and Cole hears that his old friend Harrah has hit the bottle big time, and the replacement hired by Jason is rushing to El Dorado to bump him off before he sobers up. Thornton and his new friend Mississippi (James Caan) race back to help out.

This is where the film really takes off, as we get to see the great interplay between the three leads, Wayne, Mitchum and Caan as they are holed up in the Sherriff's office against the coming siege. Mitchum excels as the drunk Sherriff struggling to regain his sobriety and dignity. Wayne dominates every second he is on screen and Caan just about manages to compete. The interplay between the characters is easy going, belying the danger that they find themselves in. With some good running jokes, great one liners and some great action set pieces this is a western that never fails to entertain. While not quite in the same class as the impressive Rio Bravo it is a worthwhile production nonetheless.

This single disc Paramount release comes with a 1:1.85 aspect and mono soundtrack. Both sound and picture are in good condition. The only extra is the theatrical trailer. A decent budget release of this classic Western.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2011
This film is basically (as noted by other reviewers) a remake of Rio Bravo...AND Rio Lobo.For my money, it's the best of the three. From the opening, with its melodious and lifting theme song, this becomes, not an accurate Western, but a really entertaining one. Mississippi is, for me, a better 'young guy' than Ricky Nelson (in 'Bravo', although it's a toss up between Brennan and Hunnicut; mind you, Jack Elam was pretty good in 'Lobo'). This is a Wayne 'feel-good' film in the style of 'Donovan's Reef'. I'd like to have seen Ben Johnson in here somewhere, but the only role I can imagine him playing would be 'Pa' MacDonald.
Sharp-eyed viewers who read the opening credits may notice that the superb paintings were done by Olaf Weighell, he pops up in the film as 'Swede Larssen' the gunsmith who sells Mississippi his hand cannon. (Sorry! Just watched this for the 314th time (slight exaggeration) and it's Olaf Weighorst)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2010
This is a fabulous classic John Wayne film. The story is basically the same as Rio Bravo, but none the worse for it. There are enough differences to keep it interesting. Highly recommended sunday viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Good sound and picture. Great to see John Wayne and Robert Mitchum together. Saw this on TV recently. Had forgotten what a good film this is. Immediately ordered it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
A town named after the fabled city of Gold, were one man wants it to be so at the cost of all others. Wayne the gun man hired to kill the sheriff who is his friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2013
This one of the better John Wayne westerns, with Robert Mitchum providing the comedy in the form of a drunken sheriff .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
A companion film to the classic "Rio Bravo". Personally i prefer "Rio Bravo" but this is also a first class Western with a stellar cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)