Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars
Waltz For Koop
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.00+ £1.26 shipping

on 11 November 2016
will be a classic jazz album
Whenever there is you
a serious track taken of a koop album
check it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2017
Fantastic music. Wanted to buy it for a long time. Finally concluded the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2002
At just over halve an hour Waltz for Koop is almost a mini album. Suprisingly from the incredible club orientaded left field jazz label Compost Records I was suprised to hear such a laid back collection, from the Scandinavian duo who are new to me. This is a polished jazz lounge bossa nova collection with sprinkles of inner city cool, time less and fresh for the post milenium, echoing sounds orientaded from Ella Fitzgerald to Mel Torme 1950's blended with St Germaines grooves. This is my jazz album for 2002 and it's so laid back that it seems to be the most popular Compost record to get attention on Jazz Fm Radio even veteran Dj Robbie Vincent has featured it as one of his faves. This is really a laid back smooth winner, killer vibes and dreamy rhythms and wicked vocals including classy Terry Callier. Generally Koops sound reminds me of the off the wall cuts Giles Peterson was playing in his jazzier pre-urban , pirate radio days of the 80's.Waltz for Koop is a unique winner, I would even have paid a lot more for just over halve an hour of this unique quality.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2002
Top class sound that holds the listener. I was just so taken aback by this masterpiece. When we talk of albums of the year then this will definitely be up there with them. Is this classic Verve, Blue Note, or whatever label you can think of or just a class new concept? Either way this is something to just make you relax and let all your blues fade away.
A definite masterpiece. Cecilia Stalin and Yukimi Nagana the femal vocalists have just made me melt away. The vocals coupled with the live sax/flute make this something special. Don't waste anymore time reading thse reviews. Get it!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2002
This album has a wonderful jazz feel to it. It is (that hugely overused cliché) an ideal chillout album: gentle strings (but not overdone) simple Rhodes/sax meanderings and very listenable vocals. The first track, "Waltz For Koop," is a dreamy introduction to the album, the vocal lines have a very nice blue tinge to them and this is IMO one of the best tracks on the album. The next 4 tracks slowly build up the pace, towards Soul For Sahib, which has a sweet flute solo, definetly a high point.
"Modal mile" (the first track on the B-side if you bought the 12") has somewhat nonsensical lyrics (perhaps they mean something in Swedish) which may be a good thing. Many artists spoil a good album by writing dire poetry for a rather odd ideology, not so here. "In A Heartbeat" is a little formulaic and suffers from sounding a bit too much like a jazzanova track without so many breaks. "Relaxin' at Club F****n" is the most dance-esque track on the album, and is great background music, but not very deep or memorable. The album finishes with "Bright Nights" which is very much like the first track and just as great.
Overall, this album is brilliant, it's only downfall is it's sheer coolness. But any downfalls are massively outweighed by tracks like Bright Nights, Waltz For Koop and Soul For Sahib.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2002
To start with I thought "only 35 minutes!?" but then realised that it's 35 minutes of beautiful nujazz. Too many quality artists are trying pad out 70 minutes worth where a shorter album would be better. Perhaps could have had a few remixes thrown in for good measure I suppose.
To sum it up I would say it has the feel of Zero 7's Simple Thing mixed with the musical quality of Jazzanova. Summer sun is the real standout amongst a wonderful collection.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
Amazing to think that there are no instruments being played & that everything you hear is made up of numerous samples seamlessly stitched together by two Swedish geniuses who impose different artists' gorgeous & dulcet tones on top of the sampled music to create a highly sophisticated & stunning swing jazz masterpiece. This album along with Koop Island Blues are simply 'must-buy' kinds of albums because they are truly different to all the other tosh that's our there these days. After listening to these guys strut their stuff, you will feel the most refreshed you've felt in a long while. Sit back, relax (if you can stop your leg tapping to the irresistible rhythm) & enjoy! Buy this masterpiece - you will not regret it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
i took a risk on this as heard a track on jazz fm. but im so glad i did an excellent cd to have in the collection, only shame is a slight jump on track 3. since buying this i have also purchased another koop cd and to be fair that isnt quite as good but not far off. a smooth cd indeed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
perfect chill out album like it more each time i play it nice with a chilled glass of wine on a summer evening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2003
KOOP is sitting on top of a very tall tree.
Every track simply perfect. Incredibly warm, summery and full of happiness, every song written with the listener in mind.
Hate jazz? I'm not a fan of the genre as a whole but this album works so well. Every time I listen to it my mood is enhanced in a way that brightens up the whole day.
Just simply stunning.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)