Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 17 November 2017
Quick delivery, and arrived in excellent condition.
This game is fantastic, it has many missions to complete, where you follow the trail of John Marsden who was a criminal and has changed his ways, I love this game as it is set in the wild west 1911.
Definatly recommend ☺
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2017
Great game. Glad I bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2005
Red Dead Revolver, is a shooting game that takes place in the wild west. Different and unique to many of the games currently on the market.
You play as Red, a stone cold mercenary who's a sharpshooter, and doesn't really care what the mission is, as long as he's paid at the end of it. Storyline wise, there's not much there, but its no worse than most of the action games out there.
The graphics are unusual. Grainy, almost like your viewing them through sand. Deliberately done to give you an old western video sort of feeling. With that in mind, its certainly a nice refreshing change from the typical. The wild west looks beautiful and shows off in sections such as the town and the old home ranch.
The gameplay is what sets this apart. There is a fast action pace, requiring you to eliminate all the baddies, and trust me, there are a lot of baddies. This is in the usual shoot and duck sort of mode. However, there are a nice range of weapons to unlock throughout the game, which are brought with ransom money you've earned. The game also has unlockable characters which you can also use. It takes you accross train jouneys, to deserted towns, to the rocky mountains and back. However, one of the nicest features is the showdown option, which is the equivalent of a quick draw contest, where you will need to use the right analogue and aim quicker than your opponent.
With all this in mind, the sound could be neglected, but all it does is casually follow a Western theme whilst voice overs of your enemies can also be heard. This is a good game, and certainly one worth owning, but if you cannot stand the wild west (i mean really cannot stand) then this may not be the game for you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 August 2005
There's nothing bad or ugly about this game - its all good! It's so refreshing to have a western on the PS2, I just HAD to buy this! It follows Red, a gunslinger who has travelled the land looking for his parents' murderers. Along the way, he becomes a bounty hunter for the sheriff of Brimstone, providing lots of oppotunities to take out the local heavies.
Red Dead is pure magic - the level design is marvellous, with alot of them being set piece shootouts and duels rather than spawling maps. The graphics are smooth and the scenary is stunning with terrific effects - looking like something Leone would be proud of! The controls are fiddly to begin with, but after a while, you realise that Rockstar have done a great job with the gameplay - allowing yu to jump, kick, punch, shoot (obviously) and roll over fences etc. like summit outa Magnificant 7! Plus loads of good weaponry and horses and bufalo that you can ride!
The multipayer allows up to four combatants and is also a real good laugh, and each character has their own special weapon. But the icing on the cake (aside from a wonderful soundtrack, pace and replay value) is the DEAD EYE mode. During gameplay, you build up your DEAD EYE and when activated, it provides a slow motion target display - in other words, you can target all six bullets on various limbs etc or multiple enemies and take them all out at once! COOL!!!!
You have to buy this game - it reminds me of the type of action that used to be good in Syphon Filter 1 and 2. Get it now!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2006
I bought this game with great gusto and when I started to play it, I was not dissapointed. The gameplay is exceptional and very good, helped by the in game graphics; and the story is great for a video game.
Of course, this being a Rockstar game, there are some of the developer's touches: the blood, although nowhere near as horrid as GTA (which I am ashamed I ever played) is reminiscent of it in a vage way. For example it is watchable (and I am very sensitive when it comes to gore) but when you shoot someone in a "Showdown" it sort of spurts/dissipates out in front of the victim before dissapearing in to thin air.
In game however it is no worse than Timesplitters 3.
There are also some almost supernatural elements eg. Circus Freaks, Grizzly and the "boss" wearing the coffin.
But despite how this sounds this is a fantastic game.
There are some wonderful locations, controls, settings and even music! (tracks from Ennio Morricone)
It succsesfully portrays the feel of a spagetti western and the cut scenes are really atmospheric.
All the levels are really fun and some are more than excellent; especially where you get to ride a horse!
At the end of the day my overall summery would be that this is the first of it's kind and more will follow (hopefully they won't all be 18s - Gun) and they will hopefully become more sophisticated and will end in perfect quality. Maybe a Dollars game?
Having said this, it seems to me that, because this game captures the Western feel 90% (at numerouse times 100%), someone would have to come up with a really ingenuitive game to surpass it. Otherwise games may feel just a cleanup of this one.
But I am excited about the prospect of the Western genre in video games, especially after this.
This is almost perfect and I give it 5 stars. A "Must Have" and it holds the feeling that you get when you first spot the cover.
Retrospect is good but it is also a shame when you finish this game.
One last thing: I can bet the makers of this have seen "Death Rides A Horse"!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2005
Red Dead Revolver was a good game, it wasn't as good as I had hoped, but Rockstar managed to do a good job of the western game genre, considering it is not the most common of game settings.
The player controls are quite good, the violence is as you would expect from a Rockstar game, thick and fast. The weapon selection is also good and the fact you can upgrade weapons is a great feature.
One of my main problems with the game was the difficulty level, considering it was set to normal mode (hard mode and bounty hunter mode are now unlocked after completing it) the game was incredibly difficult. The bosses at the start of the game are harder than the ones towards the end of the game. There are also too many baddies and not enough health bonuses within each level. I found myself having to start some of the levels again because of the mass of baddies that swamped your character. This is a game for the experienced gamer, and even then it can be quite frustrating.
Also another problem I had with the game was I found the graphics not up to much (a few too many glitches and the characters faces looked terrible). That said the scenery graphics of the game are very good.
Aside from that this is a really good game and is worth buying to try a different setting. Plus there are unlockable features for the showdown mode - which is also good. And I forgot to say the story is good, but let down at the end.
Worthy of 4 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 July 2005
There's nothing I can say here that hasn't already been said, but I feel I must make some comment on this superb game.

It's definitely the most authentic-feeling western based game I've played, and although games in this genre are few and far between, Red Dead Revolver sets the standard for others to follow. And what a high standard it is!

The gameplay is fast and smooth and although the controls may seem difficult to come to grips with when you're reading about them in the manual, believe me, once you get into the game, you'll pick it up straight away.

I would recommend this game to any western fan and also anyone who likes a highly addictive, playable and enjoyable action/adventure game.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2004
When a new genre of game is approached and written, you must always approach with trepidation. Wild West games do not normally do well, usually poorly programmed, poorly tested and generall slack efforts with gaudy graphics and linear play.
So Rockstar games get involved- whom have a pritty good pedigree of games to their name (grand Theft auto etc).
I am delighted to say this game cracked it for me.
A good old revenge story line- a good multi player function (I regard this as essential for any console game) and an interesting control system. Many people will damn this game purely on it's controls- not so- it makes the game very much more than a simple 'run round shooting' affair. The 'quick draw' faceoffs part of the game is done especially well- really drawing you into the gun slinging.
Downside? Well the 'boss' characters you have to defeat are sometimes quite bizarre- and it falls all to easily into the 'blast at them with your biggest gun' affair. Plus some levels just end up being a frustrating plod whereby enemies pop up and you nail them. Plus the lack of any 'sniper' type weapons mean some long distance rifle battles become annoying guesswork and straining the eyes to see them.
Overall it is a worthwhile title- you will not find yourself thinking it the 'best game' in the collection but definitely one to keep playing.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2007
This is a fantastic game. The graphics are graet and the gameplay is extensive. Added with the easy controls you will jump into this game and just start to have fun.

I was really surprised by how long this game is and how many levels there are. The story line is enjoyable and with many different weapons and style of level, you will not be bored with this game.

There are a couple of bad points: firstly, there is no free roam when you are in the town, and so you quickly just jump from one level to the next. Secondly, you only really get on a horse when that is the type of level and it is not that great when you do. (however this is compared with GUN which has these aspects, yet not the good points of Red Dead).

You will have so much fun with this game, well worth buying it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here