Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
60
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2000
With films being churned out at a ghastly rate in our nihilistic age, with millions and millions being spent on special effect scenes which may not even last a minute, it is a joy to watch a film like 'Il Postino', No guns, no violence, no swearing, no sex or nudity, no malice or vanity or egoism, just a beautiful story told simply and innocently. This film is a joy, a precious stone in a film industry which often resembles a dark mine. Superb acting, music so beautiful your ears will cry with joy, a tender story of love and friendship, a hysterically funny aunt, and all based on the sublime poetry of Senor Pablo Neruda, may his divine soul rest in peace. How can anyone fault a film which makes your heart ache with perfectly compatible joy and sadness?
11 comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 25 September 2005
"Il Postino" is a lovely, tender story about Mario, a poor Italian fisherman who becomes a postman. His job is to deliver mail to the famous (and real) poet, Pablo Neruda, who has been exiled to this island from Chile, because of his Communist beliefs. The kindly poet opens a new world of words for the postman; they become friends, and with Neruda's help, Mario wins the most prettiest girl in the village. Life is beautiful, until a letter arrives saying Neruda may return to Chile, forever.
"Il Postino" is usually described as a romantic comedy, but I would call it a poignant drama, focusing on the changes in Mario's life after he meets and befriends the poet. The film is dedicated to Massimo Troisi who plays Mario. Making this movie was his dream, even though he was ill, and, in fact, he died only hours after filming was completed. He gives a wonderful performance as the sensitive young man who grows to appreciate the beauty around him and the power of words. The ending is quite surprising and touching. The movie is in Italian with English subtitles.
Kona
0Comment| 71 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2001
Simply a wonderful film. Beautifully filmed and acted, with scarcely a line out of place, the fact that Troisi died as this masterpiece was finished adds to an already poignant story. Funny, charming and heart-breaking when it should be in turns. The scene when our postman is "struck by the thunderbolt" of love when he first sets eyes on the beautiful Beatrice playing table football somehow manages to be one of the sexiest scenes in a film I know. This and the breathtaking scenery are two of a myriad of reasons to watch this film and feel better about life.
11 comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2004
Il Postino is a truly wonderful piece of cinema. Phillipe Noiret is fantastic as the Cuban exiled poet, Pablo Neruda. His poetic words spoken by the dramatic coastline of Sicily are an experience never to be forgotten. So to is the superb performance of Massimo Troisi as the fisherman who becomes a postman and begins to write poetry under the influence of the enigmatic Neruda to whom he delivers letters on a daily basis. His poetry wins the heart of the beautiful but stern Maria (la principessa) and he is able to begin a new life with her. He even becomes an activist fighting for the very causes for which Neruda was exiled from his beloved country. His life is sadly cut short without him seeing Neruda who hasn't contacted him since his exile was lifted. His performance is made even more poignant by the fact that Troisi was actually dying throughout the film and lost his life on the day the film was completed. Beautifully shot, and beautifully acted-a joy!
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2005
At first this movie seemed to be this kind of beautiful love story with in the background some politics events and Pablo neruda exil to Italy. At first Massimo Troisi managed to give to his character a wonderful depth and it's very easy to stick to the story and starve for more about this story. Noiret is very efficient in his role of Pablo neruda giving some brightness to the character. the relation between Neruda and the fisherman relates more to brotherhood than a simple friendship. My favourite part was when the poetic fisherman started to write his own poetry based on the sounds of this small harbour. In few words this story is everything but dull, Troisi is for me a revelation in his role and will remain for the years to come his own masterpiece. To be seen, again and again!!!!!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2006
Massimo Troisi is irresistible as the postman who delivers letters to the exiled Chilean poet Pablo Neruda in a small but beautiful island in Italy. He is so natural and charming in his role that you forget he is acting. His hesitation, his stuttering, his quiet and simple demeanour, all merge to create a character who is totally believable and utterly lovable.

The entire cast do a great job, but it is Troisi who steals the show. What makes the film even more poignant is that Troisi died only two days after filming ended due to heart failure. The memory of his greatness as an actor will live on in this heart-warming masterpiece of friendship and poetic reverence.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2002
I love films like this - understated and totally original. The main character is the shy fisherman who hangs up his nets to become a postman on the island. I won't spoil the plot but as well as being very amusing in parts, it is also very poignant. Stunning filming and first class acting all round. It's the sort of film you immediately want to watch again. What higher praise could there be?
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2004
A brillient, moving film. My boyfriend had to study it for his A level Italian, he doesn't normally do "art" films but it captured him so much that when we had the chance to visit either Argentina or Chile we had to go to Chile so that we could go to Pablo Neruda's house by the pacific.
The b'friend made me buy the film I'm glad he did, the interplay between the characters is sublime, the acting fantastic. I would recommend this film to anyone looking at this review.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Picture and sound quality for this DVD is good. It is a heart warming Italian film about a poorly educated stand-in postman that learns about poetry during his daily routine deliveries to a poet that has just moved into the town. He is helped along this journey with the aid of the poet and using his new found poetic and verbal skills he engages with a beautiful woman that he is falling for.

With English subtitles that are easy to read and do not interfere with the overall picture.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 26 February 2013
I can`t imagine how anyone with a heart and mind - and perhaps a feel for poetry too - could find this lovely film anything but captivating.
This was, sadly, Massimo Troisi`s swansong as an actor and comedian, a big name in his native Italy, who died after shooting finished on what was his own pet project.
He gives a truthful, appropriately humble performance one hopes he was proud of. He plays a youngish man who acts as postman for exiled Communist poet Pablo Neruda - a note-perfect Philippe Noiret - in his seaside village, where he falls desperately in love with Beatrice, niece of the local bar owner. She`s played with almost mute sultriness by Maria Grazia Cucinotta (who might have been given a few more lines).
Michael Radford directs with admirable discretion, and the whole film is a kind of idyll in praise of poetry, women and friendship between people in a close-knit community.
The way Poetry itself is incorporated into plot and character is subtly achieved, and this is a film I imagine introduced many a filmgoer to the eternal joys of poetry - or at least the poems of Neruda, which isn`t a bad place to start.
The soundtrack music is well chosen, and the whole film often has the unhurried air of one of those early Tati comedies, though here we have tragi-comedy rather than knockabout farce.
Among the extra features is an excellent half-hour documentary about Neruda and the making of the film, which includes a motley selection of actors and singers - one of whom is Madonna! - reciting the Chilean`s poems with, it must be said, varying degrees of success.
It would be easy to criticise Il Postino as twee or lacking depth, but I think it avoids both charges by its lucid style, superb and committed performances, and its genuine engagement with its subject, as well as its refusal to give the viewer a too easy ride. The ending is all too poignantly prophetic.
A very lovely - and poetic - film.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)