Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
153
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 May 2016
Really enjoyed this, and as I have the Rescuers DVD as well, it made sense to get it. Remember seeing "The Rescuers" in the 70's, and remember it as light relief from gloomy news all the time! This is just the same, and I like the plot anyway. Subtitles very helpful. The price is a steal, and it is unobtainable anywhere else. It arrived on time as well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Excellent DVD great for whole family
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Great dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
awesome!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
Good service. This DVD is ideal for boys and girls.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2001
Somewhere in Australia, a young boy and his eagle friend are in trouble, so once more, Bernard and Bianca come to the rescue. It's a wonderful story filled with charming characters, all different in their own way. It's not too sentimental, yet, it has it's moments. This is not just a kid's movie. This is a movie the whole family can enjoy, since the content is not goofy, but serious, though it does have a lot of funny moments. This movie is not exactly the newest animated movie Disney has created, but the animation is still as beautiful as their newest classics. In short, this movie has it all. The only thing I miss in this movie are the usual songs, which are in almost all Disney's masterpieces, but the story is still great, and it doesn't need music to be a good movie. Don't miss out on this lovely Disney classic!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
The screenwriter of this film is really great. I watched this video by myself. I don't know what other people think, but I think it's a good movie. The filming was excellent. If I had, I must find someone like the hero. The ending was unexpected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 May 2008
This sequel to the rescuers was something special to disney, as this is the first sequal of feature animation to also become a feature. This is currently the only sequel to date to become a feature; this shows disney had great expectations and faith in this film.

This film has a similar story style to the original film, where a kid gets captured and its up to the rescue aid society to come to the rescue. The character cast in this film is amazing, and the animators do an incredible job at portraying emotion and expression through them.

This film also, as many may not know, include disney first 3d visual effects in 2d animation. There is a flying sequence at the start which is actually 3D which at the time of release was breathtaking, and was a huge impact on how film is today.

This film is really special, maybe not 'the best' disney feature, but its among some of the best animation films ever, and includes some of the best character animation I have ever seen.

This film will inspire you and wont fail to entertain.

- Pete
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When the second golden age of Disney animation is discussed, people always talk about The Little Mermaid and Beauty and the Beast near the beginning of that decade. But there was a movie in between them - Disney's first animated sequel, The Rescuers Down Under. Released in 1990, thirteen years after the first one, it isn't quite as good as the movies around it, but it is still worth watching.

Our story opens in the Australian outback as we meet Cody (voiced by Adam Ryen). He is a friend to all the animals in the area, but on this day, he sets out to free a rare, giant golden eagle. Once freed from a trap, the two become friends, and Cody even learns the location of the bird's nest.

But that night he falls into a trap set by McLeach (George C. Scott), a poacher in the area. When McLeach realizes that Cody knows where the eagle can be found, he kidnaps the boy to try to get the information from him.

And so the call goes out to the Rescue Aid Society, who send their two best agents, Miss Bianca and Bernard (Eva Gabor and Bob Newhart). When the two land, they meet up with Jake (Tristan Rogers) a kangaroo mouse who helps them in this foreign territory. But will the mice find Cody and free him before McLeach finds the eagle?

The first thing you'll notice if you watch these two movies back to back is how different the animation style is. Thirteen years makes a huge difference. The background is deeper, and some of the shots in the opening are breathtaking. They easily foreshadow the opening of The Lion King just a couple years down the road. This film was near the beginning of the flirting with using computer even in hand drawn animation, and the results are beautiful. You can especially see this in the fun flying sequence near the beginning. This film also marks the first collaboration between Disney and Pixar since Pixar did much of the post production for the film.

The movie itself seems to have dual stories until the end. We'll spend some time with Cody and the cast of animal characters he's met at McLeach's cabin, and then we'll watch Bernard, Miss Bianca, and Jake's journey to find them. It's not until the final third that things really come together, but when they do it is great.

The characters here are pretty basic, the exception being Bernard and Miss Bianca. We get to watch as Bernard spends most of the film trying to propose to Miss Bianca, only to be interrupted time and time again. Meanwhile, Jake is flirting with her. The way this pays off in the end is fun to watch. Plus they resurrect Bernard's fear of flying to great comic effect.

Of course, all the voice cast does a great job bringing their characters to life. There isn't a poor performance in the bunch.

While this film does use the melody of "Rescue Aid Society" at one point, none of the characters sing and there are no original songs in the film. Frankly, I don't think the movie needs them.

Like the original, this film features a kid in pretty serious danger, but for some reason McLeach seems like the darker villain, and some of what he does and almost does to Cody is pretty dark for a kid's film. I'm a little surprised this one is rated G. Again, other Disney films are scarier, but this one certainly has it's moments.

My biggest complaint about the film is Wilber. Voiced by John Candy, he is the albatross our heroes use to get to Australia. Unlike his brother Orville in the first movie (get it?), he sticks around after they land. Yes, he does wind up playing a part later in the film, but his scenes until then aren't funny at all, and he's supposed to be the comic relief. I really wish they'd done something else with his character.

These complaints aside, The Rescuers Down Under is a worthy sequel. With some beautiful animation and a good story, it's certainly worth watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2009
Disney produces another masterpiece to follow 'The Rescuers'. Great little story perfect for the adventurer and escapist in everyone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse