Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
8
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 November 2015
fondly remembered form my childhood
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
This was for someone else but they said they were pleased with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2002
For a long time the only soundtrack to an (animated) film version of LOTR Rosenman created a score that emphasizes the darker side and the struggle of the fellowship.
Rosenman, compared with Shore in the new recording, has given more emphasis to create each piece to the scene it is played with. Thus it more varied and doesn't contain many recurring themes.
As it contains quite a few dissonances it's in parts not an easy listening. But if you love music from a different world and fantasy especially, get it and you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2003
i really do think (much to many peoples disagrement) that the old version is so much better than the new one. probably because i grew up with it. this score is absolutely beautiful, fantasy at its best. if you have seen the film enough times to remeber the music and where it fits in the story then this cd will take you right back to the fantasy and magic of it all. a great accompniment to a film, faithful and true to the astounding orignal book !!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2000
An absoultly amazing cd, the music is amazing and it is worth a listen.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2001
For me the Lord of the Rings is captured by the soundtrack to the Ralph Bakshi film. It seemed to capture the magic of Tolkien's books, even to the extent that I would "hear" the music when I re-read passages of the book. It is so familiar to me that I looked to the Howard Shore soundtrack with some nervousness, trying desparately not to prejudge it.
However, Howard Shore has done the impossible for me and made me think of Middle Earth in a whole new perspective. His music captures the etheral "other worldliness" of Tolkien's realm. The work with Enya and the folk elements really bring the world back to me in a way that I didn't think was possible.
This is a first class piece of work that stands alone as music, which for a soundtrack is a great achievement. It can be listened to "out of context" and it still sounds fantastic.
Well done Mr Shore - you must be a fan!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2002
Due to many people's expectations of the new film and its music, the new soundtrack is a much better soundtrack than this. This old, origional recording is quite boring afetr a while and not terribly enspiring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)