Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
12
4.6 out of 5 stars
Taxi To The Terminal Zone
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 4 June 2017
A blast from the past! Great memories, great music!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2016
A very under rated band in the UK of which some of the members went on to do bigger & better things Great pub rock music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2003
Young people won't remember when the only bands you could see played in concert halls or vast audatoria; it was no fun. Ducks Deluxe were one of the pub rock bands of the early mid seventies that laid the foundations of punk. Oooh, and what solid rockin' foundations they are! They were the first band I ever saw in a pub, and I still thrill at the memory - dirty, lowdown, and just the kind of thing your mum wouldn't approve of. Thats the first album. The second album is a doozy too, but poppier; two of the members went on to found The Motors. And the guitarist joined Graham Parker and the Rumour. This stuff still stands up, and deserves recognition. These guys kept us seventies types sane, while we waited for The Clash to come along!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2009
Like other contributors I first heard the magnificent Coast to Coast on a tinny transistor radio (and at half time at York City FC) in the early/mid 70s. The BBC banned the single before it could become a certain top 10 hit - this added to the allure and I had to have the record.

35 years on Ducks sound as fresh as ever - so many musical styles - THE most under rated and under exposed exponents of 70s rock/pop. Buy these two albums - I promise you will not be disappointed!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 25 April 2017
Ah Pub Rock - I was a devotee and truth be told - still am.

Sean Tyla's wonderful and fondly remembered DUCKS DELUXE signed to RCA Records in 1973 and promptly pumped out two Seventies Rock 'n' Roll/Pub Rock albums one year apart - the superb and criminally overlooked "Ducks Deluxe" debut in February 1974 followed the next year in February 1975 by the Dave Edmunds Produced "Taxi To The Terminal Zone" - a title taken from a lyric in Chuck Berry's 1964 classic "Promised Land" - a song Edmunds had covered himself back in 1972 on his Regal Zonophone LP "Rockpile". And that's where this wicked little British Beat Goes On twofer CD set comes swaggering in. Here are the boppin' beers and barstools...

UK released January 2002 - "Ducks Deluxe/Taxi To The Terminal Zone" by DUCKS DELUXE on Beat Goes On BGOCD 539 (Barcode 5017261205391) offers 2 albums Remastered onto 2CDs and plays out as follows:

Disc 1 "Ducks Deluxe" - 44:24 minutes:
1. Coast To Coast [Side 1]
2. Nervous Breakdown
3. Daddy Put The Bomp
4. I Got You
5. Please, Please, Please
6. Fireball
7. Don't Mind Rocking Tonite [Side 2]
8. Hearts On My Sleeve
9. Falling For That Woman
10. West Coast Trucking Board
11. Too Hot To Handle
12. It's All Over Now
Tracks 1 to 12 are their debut album "Ducks Deluxe" - released February 1974 in the UK and USA on RCA Victor LPL1 5008. Produced by DAVE BLOXHAM - it didn't chart. Tracks 1 and 5 written by Nick Garvey, Tracks 3, 6, 9, 10 and 11 written by Sean Tyla, Tracks 4 and 8 written by Martin Belmont with Track 7 co-written by Martin Belmont and Nick Garvey – Track 2 is an Eddie Cochran cover version while Track 11 is a cover of a Valentino's 1964 single written by Bobby Womack.

Disc 2 - "Taxi To The Terminal Zone" - 38:10 minutes:
1. Cherry Pie [Side 1]
2. It Doesn't Matter Tonite
3. I'm Crying
4. Love's Melody
5. Teenage Head
6. Rio Grande [Side 2]
7. My My Music
8. Rainy Night In Kilburn
9. Woman Of The Man
10. Paris 9
Tracks 1 to 10 are their second studio album "Taxi To The Terminal Zone" - released February 1975 in the UK on RCA Records SF 8402. Produced by DAVE EDMUNDS (he also plays Pedal Steel Guitar on "Rio Grande" and Rhythm Guitar on "Paris 9") - it didn't chart. Tracks 2, 6, 9 and 10 written by Sean Tyla, Track 1 co-written by Martin Belmont and Sean Tyla, Tracks 3 and 7 written by Nick Garvey, Track 4 written by Andrew McMasters and Track 5 is a Flamin' Groovies cover version.

DUCKS DELUXE was:
SEAN TYLA - Lead Vocals, Rhythm and Wah Wah Guitar and Keyboards
MARTIN BELMONT - Lead Guitar and Lead Vocals
NICK GARVEY - Bass Guitar and Lead Vocals
TIM ROPER - Drums and Backing Vocals
ANDREW McMASTER - Keyboards and Vocals for the "Taxi To The Terminal Zone" LP only

The 8-page inlay may look like a slight affair but with liner notes from original band member MARTIN BELMONT illuminated the history of almost every song - it's actually a hugely informative read. There’s a black and white photo of the four-piece band beneath the text and see-through CD trays – but not a lot else. As with so many of these early BGO releases - there is no mastering credits but with the material licensed from BMG - I'm suspecting these are quality ANDREW THOMPSON Remasters because the audio on this is Ace. The Dave Edmunds Produced second LP in particular sounds fabulous (the plaintive ballad "I'm Crying" for instance) - done at his own Rockfield Studios in Wales in late 1974.

The "Ducks Deluxe" self-titled debut is a winner I return to again and again - the kind of album you play to death - side after side. It even gets better as the years-pass and the grey hairs accumulate while the grey matter dissipates. A count-in asks if the kids are ready to Rock 'n' Roll in "Coast To Coast" - a snotty number that is a huge fave amongst fans. It was an obvious kick-ass single so RCA rush-released Nick Garvey's punky rocker in November 1973 (RCA 2438) with the non-album "Bring Back That Packard Car" on the flip-side. Damn shame someone didn't think to include that rarity as a Bonus Track here. There follows a truly cool version of Eddie Cochran's "Nervous Breakdown" - another show-stopper and one the blessed Eddie would surely have approved of. The bare but utterly brilliant "Daddy Put The Bomp" is the kind of simplistic tune about Rock 'n' Roll that eats its way into your heart - Texas and Swamps and Ladies and Eddie singing "Summertime Blues" again. Belmont admits to a Stax Records obsession in the decidedly Otis-sounding "I Got You". He rightly acknowledges the horn section 'The Sons Of The Jungle' who were George Larnyah on Tenor Sax, Peter Van Der Puij on Baritone Sax and Eddie Quansah on Trumpet - they play also on "Falling For That Woman" and are also on the Toots and The Maytals classic "Funky Kingston". Side 1 comes bopping to a finish with the 1964 Beatles strum of "Please, Please, Please" and probably their most popular raver - "Fireball" - Belmont revealing that the chordal guitar is probably based on "Sweet Jane" from the Velvet's 1970 "Loaded" album.

Side 2 opens with another snotty roar - the manic "Don't Mind Rocking Tonite" - another American homage that also features Bob Andrews of Brinsley Schwarz on keyboards (he also contributes the same to "West Coast Trucking Board" and "Too Hot To Handle"). Belmont gives short shift to his own "Hearts On My Sleeve" but I like its Rockpile feel. A cigarette being lit opens the second big ballad - the slow and soulful "Falling For That Woman" - the kind of great Soul-Rock song you want a band to play in a pub with a just few pints taken and the emotions oiled enough to flow like a river as the singer digs in - recalling his foolish fall for a lady that return the compliment. I love this song and the Remaster is great. The side comes to an end with three goodies - the very Band-sounding "West Texas Trucking Board" where Bob Andrews anchors the story-song with a superb swirling organ sound. It's followed by the slightly out-of-place clavinet-funk of "Too Hot To Handle" where Ducks Deluxe have been listening to too much Ace and not absorbing Paul Carrack's knack for Soul properly. But it ends on a high - a cover of the 1964 Valentino's classic "It's All Over". Written by Bobby Womack - it is of course more closely associated with The Rolling Stones who sort of made it their own. Great album, great finish...

I can still remember the sting of LP number 2 - somehow it felt flat compared to the debut - lack of good song. It's actually hard to nail down why it doesn't quite lift off - but being Ducks Deluxe - there are plenty of moments well worth owning. Nick Garvey used to roadie equipment for the American Rock 'n' Roll ravers The Flamin' Groovies so DD's cover of their "Teenage Head" was a perfect fit. Tyla does his best Bob Dylan Texas Outlaw voice for "Rio Grande" aided and abetted by Edmunds who plays a mean Pedal Steel behind that 'Blonde On Blonde' organ throughout (saddle up boys). At last we get what feels like some half decent Pub Rock in "My My Music" – the great piano boogie (Andrew McMaster) matching the lyrics about a band that rocks all night playing the music he wants to hear. Trivia fans should note that Wilco Johnson of Dr. Feelgood is apparently amidst the hand-clappers – not that you'd recognise it! Belmont doesn't rate his ballad "Rainy Night In Kilburn" but I actually like the music – with a different vocalist it might have lifted off better. McMaster's lone contribution "Love's Melody" is insanely catchy - predating by a good two to three years the New Wave sound of '77 and '78 that would dominate literally hundreds of English 45s in those explosively creative years.

Both Nick Garvey and Andy McMaster would jump ship after album number two failed - leaving to form The Motors who would go on to have a huge hit with "Airport" in June 1978 on Virgin Records. The band hired in Mick Groome on Bass to replace the lost boys and recorded one final Four-Track EP called "Jumping" for the French label Sky Dog in 1975 - and again a damn shame it wasn't included here as obvious Bonus Tracks material on Disc 2 when there was plenty of room. Tyla would of course form Tyla's Gang and pump out more Rock 'n' Roll/Punky tunes – often providing winners for Dr. Feelgood (check out the Tyla retrospective "Pool Hall Punks: The Complete Recordings 1976-1978" on Esoteric Recordings from August 2016) - while the Ducks Deluxe sound legacy would lead on to Elvis Costello and The Attractions, Graham Parker and The Rumour and the Nick Lowe/Dave Edmunds vehicle Rockpile to name but a few.

For sure the second platter lets the side down somewhat as does the absence of Bonus Cuts on both CDs that would have lifted this release so high. But as I re-listen to "It Don't Matter Tonite" on "Taxi" and "Fireball" on "Ducks Deluxe" - I'm reminded of and transported back to sweaty heaving pubs and Dr. Feelgood and The Kursaal Flyers and Brinsley Schwarz and of course Ducks Deluxe.

And that's the kind of Teenage Nervous Breakdown I like. Thanks for the memories boys...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2008
Great stuff from one of the best second division bands ever !

Remember seeing them at THE KENSINGTON pub back in the great days
along with DR FEELGOOD/KURSAAL FLYERS/ACE etc... and of course the BRINSLEYS.
The DUCKS had a superb sound and in Martin Belmont one of the
great guitar players without doubt.

Mine's a pint of Double Diamond please !!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 May 2008
Labelled 'pub rock', a useless term, Ducks Deluxe's music consists mainly of rhythm and blues, best served at high energy, plus the occasional digression. With three songwriters with diverse agendas in the band, the wide scope of styles is not surprising. Bassist Nick Garvey provides the best track, the buzzsaw 'Coast To Coast', plus the light, jangly, Beatlesque pop song, 'Please Please Please.' Guitarist Sean Tyla's songs reveal a preoccupation with the U.S. While inauthentic, they are pretty effective; 'Fireball' is similar to 'Coast To Coast' in style and almost as good, and the puttering 'Daddy Put The Bomp' and 'West Texas Trucking Board' are also impressive. His slow, bluesy 'Falling For That Woman', however, despite his impassioned, growling vocal and a brass section, can't disguise the ordinariness of the song. Meanwhile, Martin Belmont proves that he's a far better guitarist than a singer-songwriter.

What makes 'Ducks Deluxe' a fine album is the quality of the band itself and the excitement they generate, brought out effectively by producer Dave Bloxham. Dave Edmunds is the producer on 'Taxi To The Terminal Zone', and though Edmunds is a great rock and roll producer, he doesn't manage it so well here. The inferior material is partly to blame. The first two boogie tracks seem stifled and sluggish after you've heard the first album. Edmunds does however bring the best out of new member Andy McMaster's rock and roll keyboards. McMaster's 'Love's Melody' is a vibrant pop song with a Spectorish echo, while Garvey's 'My My Music' is a great piece of bar room rock and roll. Tyla contributes two very good songs, the slow, lush 'Rio Grande' and 'Woman Of The Man'.

Garvey and McMaster left to form The Motors, where their songwriting talents brought them high acclaim and modest sales. Belmont joined The Rumour, along with members of Brinsley Schwarz, this band making at least one album in its own right among recordings with Graham Parker. Tyla continued to long for the West in his songs for The Tyla Gang, who made two decent albums. Drummer Tim Roper? Don't know, but his contribution here is important. This double set from the mid-1970s is worth hearing.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2005
I first heard Ducks deluxe back in 1973 listening to Radio Luxenburg. The sound was hazy and distorted but I managed to hear "Coast to Coast" one night. From then on i tuned in at some godawful late hour hoping to hear it again. It sounded like it was coming from inside a hurricane and with the Luxenburg transmitter that could well have been the case. I ordered the single and waited an eternity for it to arrive at my local record shop. I presumed it wouldn't be as good hearing it without added Hurricane sound effects. I was right. It sounded about 578 times better! "Coast to Coast" remains one of the greatest records ever made. Do yourself a favour and buy this record to find out why.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
Cracking tunes from uncompromising uncomplicated band. Was ignorant to their existence until friend introduced me, feel so bad I missed them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2016
Dukes deluxe much better than taxi to the terminal zone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)