Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2001
This film has a slow start but when it gets going there is nothing to falt it. The story of a teenage delinquant taken in by a caring, if not slightly nieve old lady, who attemts to teach him right from wrong, is a classic plot, enlightened by the spectacular acting, especially Jonathan Taylor Thomas who produces some of his best work to date in this beatiful and heart warming tale.
The features of the DVD only make it more enjoyable, with extra cut scenes, clips from the making of the film and interviews with the actors. The first time I saw it I cried!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2003
Picked this up in Blockbuster one afternoon, startled to discover Mark Hamill (yeppers, Luke Skywalker folks!) in a lead role, and sat back for an enjoyable afternoon of warm fuzziness. I won't detail the plotline, but i will say that though the film is good, as is so often the case, the book is better. The ending in the film, while dramatic in the 'ride off into the sunset' kinda way, has nothing on the emotion-driven ending the book provides. I urge any fan of the film to find and read the book, as characters like the old lady's children, are explained and more fully fleshed out and as a whole the plot makes a great deal more sense.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2002
Walking Across Egypt is a largely unknown movie starring Jonathan Taylor Thomas (formerly Randy in Home Improvement). I discovered it by accident through surfing e-shops and thought I'd buy it just to see what it was like - and I'm glad I did!
JTT delivers a breathtaking performance as a homeless delinquent who finds a home and a friend in the most unlikeliest of places. Ellen Burstyn is equally as good as his saviour.
Buy this movie and sit back to enjoy a truly great feel-good film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2002
Great acting by Ellen Burstyn. Jonathan Taylor Thomas turns in a good performance as well. The storyline is rehashed and predictable, but these two work so spendidly together, it just doesn't seem to matter. This movie is definitely worth your while, especially if you're a fan of either of the two leads. (this refers to the US VHS version)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2009
This is one of my all-time favourite films. All the cast are brilliant, and it is a lovely story told without violence, swearing or anything else but the art of real story telling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
An enjoyable film with a strong message! Fine performances from Ellen Burstyn and Jonathon Taylor Thomas who develop a chemistry in their interaction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
A wonderful movie, truely remarkable story and wonderful acting by everyone. Would recommend to not show to under 12 year olds due to some swearing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2013
It is a feel good film I saw years ago and felt sentimental enough to buy it again, it was ordered and delivered within 3 days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
Great movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)