Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
24
Gourmandises
Format: Audio CD|Change

on 27 February 2002
I am sure like many people I was first introduced to Alizee when I heard Moi...Lolita, which is a great song but in my opinion is not the best song on the album by far. There is such a great range of songs on this album from Gourmandises which sounds like it's another surefire hit and very catchy, Lui Ou Toi which is a very dark husky tune and Parler tout bas which is a very quiet and slow tune (which is in keeping with the song title!)
I was amazed by Alizee's voice and range of vocals when I heard Moi...Lolita but it's only when you listen to the whole album do you realise just how impressive her voice really is, no songs sound the same & the fact the album is in French doesn't deter me at all it is just such a great album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2016
Brilliant Album, some nice catchy songs, a good price as well, the Disc was like new, value for the price, really pleased with this purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2016
I think it is Alizee's first major album and it was great to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 August 2015
Love this
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2017
Love this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2016
Good clean disc. Excellent delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 November 2013
Well who knows Alizee songs will enjoy. I like the songs, her voice, it's good the hear. Congratulations to her.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2016
Fantastic, love every song.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 February 2002
In early 2001, I heard a lot of people saying Alizée is "France's answer to Britney Spears". A cliché statement, perhaps, but 2001 has been a banner year for Alizée. Not only has she triumphed over the French charts, but the German, Dutch, Russian and Japanese ones too.
2002 looks to be even better for the pretty French 'chanteuse', with Alizée attacking the UK charts in February, and possibly the US after that. This album may be a year old, but it's as impressive as ever.. and it's release in the UK now is well timed.
Being able to appreciate, or understand, French isn't a prerequisite for this album. Even if you've been studying French for a while, you'll find many of the lyrics rather cryptical. You'll enjoy a lot of wordplay and puns, especially in 'Moi Lolita'. Some English even creeps into the album on tracks such as 'J.B.G.' (James Bond Girl).
As with many French albums, there are a few incidents where the lyrics are too direct and blunt. 'Je sais que cette hymen durera longtemps' (I know that this hymen will last a long time), for example.
When you first put this CD on, you might be surprised by how deep her voice is. Don't worry, Alizée is simply demonstrating her impressive vocal range, and she leaps between sultry lows and dizzy highs throughout the album.
Unlike many pop albums, this album has a very interesting sound overall. Some songs are dark, some are very much 'pop', yet all have the 'traditional' broody creepy French mood in them. Yes, this is a pop album full of minor chords..
So, in 2002 as in 2000 and 2001.. still an excellent effort all round! Alizée, and this CD, is an excellent package most people are sure to enjoy.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2015
Alizee is absolutely fantastic! I love this album. All songs are amazing. My favourites are moi Lolita, Parler tout bas and gourmandise. I first heard about alizee back in 2002. Her song Moi Lolita was released in the UK and I just loved it. Loved her voice and the musical instruments used. Gourmandise is an uplifting dance track which I love. Parler tout bas is an slower Ballard song which is beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)