Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 22 September 2017
Excellent for Students
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2014
very dated but reasonably useful for a few months
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2014
Just what I needed as I have some info that needs XP as opposed to Windows 8, which won't read XP docs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2003
I like most Microsoft Office products (despite their faults!). I have always recommended that staff and students buy them. But no longer. This package reduces the options available to the straightforward presentation and communications software. Where, oh where is Access? This may be a difficult package to use but it is crucial for students to be able to learn it.
So if you are a student I would go for Star Office until Microsoft gets its act together and offers the Professional version to students and teachers - something it always has done in the past.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2004
As a mature student in part-time learning I have found this
package invaluable, also the price is right for low income people.
Yes, 'Word'is improved, and Powerpoint is better than the previous, [I am using both] I haven't used the rest yet, can't wait!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2003
Is the cup half full or half empty? You can knock Microsoft's stuff if you want to. It is easy to find faults with it but it is generally good and it is the industry standard. The big draw back with the "standard" version is the loss of the Access database. The other thing to remember is that this version is a "student" version - designed to familiarise the young with the Microsoft way - so there are licence restrictions. If you are a freelance worker or a home office business using it for work then you may be in breach of the licence. But rather than spend any money why not first try out the free - it's free because hundreds of programmers gave their time to it - open office suite (similar products to word, excel,powerpoint etc). You don't get a stand alone database with that either although there are database functions in it. If you don't like it - and there are draw backs sometimes - then spend your hard earned cash or your student loan on something like this. At this price it is great value.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2003
There is no doubt that Office XP is a great product, and very useful. I could not do without it. MS Works just doesn't compare. Microsoft Excel and Word are wonderfully flexible. MS Excel can be used for financial and scientific work, and as a database as well. MS Word can be used for Business and Creative Writing, and for Desk Top Publishing and Web Design. (Obviously if you want a professional database, or want to do professional web design and DTP, you should consider using more specialist packages.) Microsoft Outlook, another part of Office XP, is a very flexible and user-friendly email package. However in this review I am focusing on Word and Excel, since they are the main value-added in MS Office.
If you have bought a PC/Laptop with just MS Works pre-installed, then you should seriously consider buying MS Office if you want to get the most out of your computer.
There is the question of whether Office XP will feel like a real upgrade to users of Office 95 to Office 2000. For the average user, Excel may not seem massively changed. And if all you are doing in Word is basic Creative and Report writing, then you may not feel there are big changes in the new version of Word. However the Web Design functionality is much improved over Office 95 in MS Word. So if you don't have Front Page you may find MS Word XP useful.
Overall, MS Office is an excellent package. If you have Office 95 it may be worth your while getting MS Office XP. If you are an average user and have Office 2000, you should look carefully at the functions you need for Word Processing and consider whether moving to Office XP is really worth it.
0Comment| 94 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2002
I bought Office XP for a friend to install on their machine. Whilst I was installing I took the time to have a look over the package and was disappointed.
When I bought Office 2000 for Students and Teachers, it was the Premium version - I received a 4-cd pack with Word, Excel, Outlook, Powerpoint, Access, Publisher, Frontpage, Photodraw and the Small Business Tools for £130.
The Office 2000 package was a real bargain, and I still use it and will continue to do so. In one huge package I ended up with all the office software I will ever need. I don't like Office XP, because I think it's missing too much to be good. Don't get me wrong, Word, Excel and Outlook are all good packages - but with Sun's StarOffice available for £40 and with OpenOffice.org available online for free, why should you fork out a fair whack of student money for half an office suite?
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2003
First of all let me state that I'm in the 3rd year of a chemistry degree and use spreadsheets every week (this review deals with Excel as pretty much all word processors do the same thing whereas spreadsheets vary greatly).
I've tried out most of the competition (Lotus 1-2-3, Corel Quattro, Sun StarOffice etc.) but none can compare with the Data Analysis and Graphing capabilities of Excel. It has the most advanced XY graphs of any of the office packages, with the ability to add X and Y error bars (with the exception of Quattro, the most anyone else offers is Y error bars, and most offer none) and also has the easiest to use Regression Line options including displaying the equation on the graph (useful for experimental data as the value of the regression line on the graph can be different for the data analysis toolpak regression add-in).
The Data Analysis Toolpak is a must for anyone doing serious scientific research with ANOVA and Regression options amongst others. These format all the output data in an easy to read way with headings and bold print etc.
The only minor quibble I have is that the Analysis Regression is static and so doesn't update with a change in the data (OpenOffice's regression, although less easy to read as it doesn't put the headings in, does update with a change in data).
That quibble aside, until OpenOffice.org implements X-error bars and displaying the trendline regression data on graphs, MS Office is simply the best for scientific analysis (or at least a cost-effective one for students).
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 May 2004
If you want the industry standard tools and qualify as a student or teacher, then this is the one to get. It doesn't have Access or Publisher which the previous deals did have, but it's still considerably lower than the full version. Openoffice/Staroffice will do the basic stuff for most people, but when you need the advanced formulaic functions of Excel, there's nothing better.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)