Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 July 2015
OK... I bought this DVD, because Kinji Fukasku
directed it... this was, at the time, the most expensive
Japanese film ever made... and like Fukasku's other
international film, Tora! Tora! Tora!, is was also a
FLOP... But unlike, Tora!, I can see why...

this movie has a large multi international cast, but it
is so gloomy and dull... The plot is about a humanity
killing virus, that kills millions of millions of people...
It drags on and on... sadly, Fukasku is a great director,
and I love his movies, but, this isn't a good movie...
It would take another 20 years, before he had a real
international hit, with Battle Royal, and then he died.
I love his work, but like most directors, he made a few
duds along the way...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2013
This is an epic, big budget, all star cast blockbuster that you have never heard of!
Planet Earth is dying from a man made virus, the cities are falling and nations pile up their dead.
The survivors make their way to the only safe haven - Antarctica.
It is so cold there that the virus can't survive, but just when you thought the trouble was over, it turns out some mad military brass has set off the countdown on a dooms day machine before he kicked the bucket.
It is now a race against time to find someone willing to go back to disarm the thing, knowing that even if the candidate is successful, the virus will eventually kill them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2008
I didn't know what to expect from "Virus". I was very pleasantly surprised. It grabbed hold of my interest from the start and never let go. The cast is great, with Glenn Ford as the US president, Henry Silva as a general and George Kennedy as the leader of the survivors in Antarctica.

A strong four star rating for the movie. My DVD was not good at all, pan-and-scanned and with pretty bad picture quality. So I hope someone will give this movie a decent DVD release. But until then, try to find a cheap copy; don't miss the movie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2018
best end of world movie made, bit dated but good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2012
This is the American version of the film Virus and in my opinion, is not a patch on the original Japanese version.
In the American version the storey line has be shortened by at lest half an hour, whilst the storey has been "adapted", for American tastes.
If you like this film (And the original Japanese film is great, especially for its age); then it may be worth your while to try and track it down in its original format.
All in all, 4 out of 10 for the American version, 10 out of 10 for the Japanese version.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2005
As an Antarctic buff I was drawn to this film, espeicially as the Antarctic Scenes were actually filmed there, at great cost by all accounts. When looking for the film on this site I came across it in the DVD section where a reviewer bemoaned the terrible quality of the picture. Bad news - its no better on VHS. The night time scenes are truly impossible to see, and everything else is blurred and streaky, hence all the money spent on filming in Antarctica was wasted - you can barely see it. Beyond that, the film itself is poor. It strikes me a rough draft that was never polished. The acting is cliched, and a third of the way through the film relocates from the White House to Antarctica. In other words exit Glenn Ford and Robert Vaughn (who must wince every time he is reminded of this film) stage left and enter George Kennedy and a cast of thousands! Its thus hard to relate to characters, given the sudden cull. There are other ridiculous facets, such as the British sub captain with the thick american accent. In general its a very disjointed film without any linear progression. In fairness, the apocalyptic post virus shots of the worlds major cities were well. However, if you are looking for an apocalyptic film with a similar theme go for Danny Boyle's 28 Days Later. If you are looking for a Antarctic disaster film (alas not filmed there, but a fine film) get The Thing starring Kurt Russell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2014
good story but very dated and it shows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2014
The film it's self is a good story, but the recording of the film on to DVD is poor at best, nearly unwatchable in places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2011
Good movie but unfortunatly it looks as though it was coppied directly for a video so the quality isn't DVD at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2015
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)