Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
77
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2017
What a fantastic western this is with a great story line with plenty of action with plenty of blood and guts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
ANOTHER GIFT DELIVERED TO SOMEONE .. SO GOOD TO BE ABLE TO SEND THEM PRESENTS.. THANKS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2016
Amazing story. Great memories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 September 2012
This is the story of Lord John Morgan, an honest earthy person who is captured by the Sioux in 1825. Abused and treated as an animal he comes to adapt to his life in order to survive. Enduring torture and oppression he must earn their respect in order to be accepted as part of their tribe.

The white man as part of a Sioux tribe story was given a major shot in the arm with Kevin Costner's Oscar bagger, Dances With Wolves in 1990. This picture came out some twenty years before Costner's stylish picture but the two films couldn't be further apart in terms of story telling. Here in Elliot Silverstein's picture, the scenery and scope is certainly lush, but the niceties stop there for this is a harsh, at times painful, story with realism dripping from each frame. Silverstein wanted to get as close as he could to the facts of the Sioux way of life, even bringing in a Sioux historian to oversee the production.

The Sioux are painted on both sides of the canvas, on one side we are shown them to be violent, even sadistic, but Silverstein also portrays them as an intelligent race driven on by intense loyalty to their ways and culture. Richard Harris plays our main protagonist and has a clear license to act with immense verve and vigour, it's a memorable turn that lingers long after the credits roll. Hurting the film is a twee romance between Morgan and the Chiefs daughter (Judith Anderson) and Jean Gascon's fluctuating accents start to grate entering the film's last quarter. But really the plus points far outweigh the little irritants in the piece. The editing from Philip W. Anderson & Michael Kahn is like a whirling paean to hallucinations, and some scenes are from the top draw, most notably the Vow To The Sun ritual that literally is painful to watch. A Man Called Horse may well be of its time, but it's certainly a very interesting and highly intelligent film. 7/10
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
English gentleman and aristocrat 'John Morgan' is on a hunting and discovery
expedition in the American Mid-West 1825.
He is captured by a band of 'Sioux' Indians led by 'Chief Yellow Hand' 'John's
companions have been killed.
He is taken to the Sioux camp, where the Chief gives 'John' to his elderly mother
'Buffalo Cow Head' as a servant/slave.
Gradually he begins to appreciate their way of life, the camp Clown/idiot a
Frenchman captured some years earlier befriends 'John' and helps him to
understand the language and explain what is going on in the camp.
'John' begins to embrace his captures and their culture, he also has noticed the
Chiefs sister 'Running Deer' and would love to get closer, to do so however he
has much to prove.
Showing his willingness to kill and scalp a 'Blackfoot Warrior' a tribe that are sworn
enemies of the 'Sioux' is a good start.
To be accepted as an equal he will have to submit to a ritual 'The Sun Vow' which
is an extreme test.
A extraordinary performance from 'Richard Harris' throughout this compelling movie,
the film does include graphic scenes of violence, some nudity, and a convincing
battle sequence between 'The Sioux' and the 'Blackfoot'
Truly one of the greatest movies of it's category to be brought to screen.
The Blu-ray update is in general 'Very Good'
The film acclaimed for it's well researched insight into the traditions and rituals of the
'Native American Indians' bringing a level of authenticity to the film rarely seen before
this 1970 production.
The scenes of the induction into the tribe, among one of the most memorable film
sequences ever portrayed.
(I own the 'Import' of this movie, it is in fact region free)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2009
Not as good as I remembered- watchable but not unmissable. The acting and story line are fine but I didn't remember it being quite so "draggy" Some very good "wince" scenes with an ouch factor and some realism.
One to watch in a more reflective mood?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2002
first of all, I wish to pay hommage to a great man who also left us in 2002. My father discovered Richard Harris through this movie, and remained fond of him because of his extraordinary performance in this motion picture. Theis is the story of a man whose predisposition to survive enables him to enter the unknown and defiant world of the Sioux nation, learn about life and the meaning of it, and decide that this is what he had been longing for all his life. With the setting of the inter-nation wars and the threat of the white man to the world as they know it, this picture is a classic tale of instinct, passion, pain and hope.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2016
I saw this movie in 1971, just after exiting High Scool, where my elderly Danish teacher was deeply fascinated by the culture of native people like the prairie indians. In my childhood I read two novels (meant for older children) by a Danish author who also wrote about the SIOUX and from a very "Indian point of view" which was very unusual at the time. So I was all set for a movie that 100% took the side of the natives. I have loved it ever since and seen it again and again. It may have its deficiencies surely. As an example it appears not to have been the SIOUX but another tribe - the Mandans- that had the special "wow to the sun ritual" seen in the movie and told by the drawings of the famous American 19th century artist George Catlin. So what! At the end of the day this movie fascinates me by the sheer drama of the story. So what is my favourite scene: In fact the one where the English nobleman in the modst of battle against the shoshones in a few seconds teach them the ways of "disciplined fighting" when he puts them on a line, hold their fire and at the last moment let a hail of arrow simultaneously hit the charging shoshones. Here we see what is to come when firearms met the prairee indians. I can see some people are unimpressed in their review. So be it. I will continue to see this movie regularly and enjoy it thoroughly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)