Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
104
4.6 out of 5 stars
Little Big Man [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 July 2016
I made the mistake of assuming this film was going to be something like Blazing Saddles, however in the end I found its unexpected drama and tragedy much more effective than the comedy which was not to my taste though there were some amusing moments. LBM is an eclectic mish-mash that does well to capture the zeitgeist of not only the Old West but also 70s America when it was made, deconstructing many of the myths and tropes concerning the period. Although rough around the edges it is a very humanistic film balancing pessimism with optimism but overall I found it to be unbalanced in terms of tonal consistency, with certain comic scenes coming off awkward in contrast to the sudden shift in tone. The standout performance for me was Old Lodge Skins who is both wise and funny (being played by an actual Native American in a time when almost all important roles went to Whites), he is what made this film worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2004
One of the best (and one of the first) movies done on the subject!
Definitely not the usual "cow boy and Indian" kind of movie.
Fans of John Wayne beware.
A truly breath taking moment.
It makes you realise how ignorance, intolerance and arrogance can lead to holocaust.
Dustin Hoffman is brilliant.
A must see movie!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2017
Its nice when a movie far exceeds your expectations . I saw this in the early '70's on first release and it made little impression on me then . Surprising really , as it was one of the first movies to tell the story from the side of the Native Americans .Seeing it again recently I was hugely impressed by the perspective it gave , balancing brutal fact with a certain amount of humour . This is one definitely worth re-visiting , vintage Dustin Hoffman , but up to his usual standard .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2016
Love this movie. Very pleased to watch it again - I had it on video but it was grabbed by another party in a split of assets. Takes a while to get used to Little Big Man's swings of identity to save his life - and I don't think he found his sister again.

No sister but he did find the wife who had been kidnapped and chose not to recognise her.

I don't want to spoil the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2016
some people have analysed this film much more than i could. It was entertaining and definetely not for a main stream audience. If you enjoyed the new version of the lone ranger by tim burton then you would appreciate this movie as it isinthe same genre. dustin hoffman apparently took a hour to perfect the voice of the 123 year old. a fault with it is that its over long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
I have loved this film ever since I saw it many years ago. It is the fictional story of Jack Crabbe and the Wild West as his life moves back and forth from living with settlers to among the indians. It is a humourous film and looks great. A good cast and very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2016
Saw this film at the cinema years ago and watching it again on DVD it was just as good. Combines comedy and humour with tragedy and graphic examples of mans inhumanity to man. An unmissable classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
terribly film - still cannot win them all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
A wonderfully sprawling, epic account of a White boy growing up among Native Americans, and living to become the oldest survivor of the Battle of Little Big Horn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
This is a great film, hadn't seen it for a long time but hasn't lost any of its interest and charm and horror, if you can lump all those together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)