Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
27
4.6 out of 5 stars
AC/DC - Stiff Upper Lip Live [DVD] [2001] [NTSC]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.99+ £1.26 shipping


on 4 April 2002
When I bought this DVD I was slightly worried that Angus and the rest of the band would be showing the signs of their age. Well I couldn't have been more wrong. I would be suprised if any band in the world could match AC/DC for energy and sheer guts. The concert started off during daylight hours which never lends itself to a rock show, but by half way through the concert the sun had gone down and the band was in full flow. In fact the longer the show went on the better it got and you could really tell that they enjoyed playing. The audience obviously liked it because the whole Munich bowl was bouncing. AC/DC played the usual variety of songs from their back catalogue, but for me the big suprise was "The Jack". Its not my favorite song normally, but the way the audience got into it moved Angus and Brian to do the best version that I've heard or seen. This is just one superb advertisment for rock music. Buy it.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Well, what can I say? After 30 years the Aussie/Scot/Geordie rock combo still blow away the opposition, and this new DVD/video captures it all faithfully and superbly.
Having caught the "Stiff Upper Lip" tour live at Wembley and Milton Keynes I was eagerly anticipating this latest release, and was not disappointed. Only the fact that the live footage comes from Munich rather than MK stops me awarding it 6/5 stars.
Wonderfully filmed from imaginative angles, this film balances band footage and crowd scenes well. And the sound quality is superb - much better than the previous "No Bull" concert video.
Highlights are (no surprises) "Let There Be Rock", "Highway to Hell" and "Whole Lotta Rosie". There are also surprises in store with the resurrection of "What do you do for Money Honey" and "Up to my Neck in You", along with the unprecedented third encore with "Shot Down in Flames".
The band are still cooking, Angus is still the best blues/rock player in the world, and this offering is a faithful reproduction of the ultimate live music experience. Buy it!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2002
Any true 'Dc fan will get shivers down their spine during the opening sequence of this DVd as a huge statue of Angus tramps through a city and you know the boys are back in town. If you are one of these sceptical people who think Dc are past it, think again. As the band pound through one thundering track after another they seem invincable, showing the same energy and quality performance that they did 20 years ago. sound is great, camera angles superb and the only reason i didn't give it full marks is because they didn't do my favourite, Girls Got Rhythm. Get this and prepare to be well and truely rock n' rolled.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2003
This DVD has everything! Angus and Bryan look on top form...energetically running around the stage while malcolm, cliff and phil blast out the ryhthm. Not to mention of course the famous "angus strip" half way through the DVD! Sound and video quality cannot be faulted (watching on a 28" widescreen tv through an RGB scart cable and listening through a digital optical connection to a dts decoder)This DVD also plays great on my playstation 2 which was a pleasant suprise. There is also a section for backstage interviews with the band. All the classic anthems are on here with a stunning performance of "you shook me all night long" and "whole lotta rosie" as well as "stiff upper lip" from the newest album which makes this a must buy for all AC/DC fans young and old.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2003
The Boys are on top form for this concert. All your favourites played with energy and commitment. The audience also play their part to the full providing lots of atmosphere and participation.
The DVD comes with interesting interviews and a 200 ft Angus duckwalking through Munich.
But what makes this DVD truely remarkable is the quality of the production. First of all the camera work is fantastic with views from every angle adding excitement and pace to an already brilliant AC/DC performance.
The second is the sound. The 5.1 DTS Audio is quite frankly astounding.
This is the best capture of a live performance I have ever heard. Play it as loud as you can and you really are there.
This is a must for all fans of guitar Rock.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2003
When I bought this dvd I was worried that they might be beginning to show there age a little bit, but worry not, this is one helluva dvd, with gems including fantastic versions of stiff upper lip, thunderstruck, back in black and shot down in flames, this dvd contains every classic song song they have ever recorded, and will have songs in that everybody knows and likes, to this concert they brought the bell and the cannons, as loud as ever! The highlight of the show is the jack however, as every single person in attendance sings along, brian just gives up singing in the end, buy this dvd.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2007
The trouble with live releases is that they are obviously arranged and planned in advance, which means that if the band aren't on top form, there's little that can be done about it aside from cheating with studio overdubs. This isn't a bad concert, but there ars certain weak points compared to other live releases in this great band's past. Firstly, Angus Young has a major off-day. His playing turned noticeably and rather suddenly scruffy from 1995's Ballbreaker onwards, and here the solos are scruffy, riddled with missed notes, and even rhythm guitar and riffs suffer similar inaccuracies. When compared to his fluid, precise yet raw bluesy runs of the old days, long-term fans may pick up on this ruefully. Secondly, whilst Brian Johnson cannot be expected to sing like a demon in his 50's, this particular era of the SUL tour was not as good as earlier parts (2000-2001) and later (the 2003 gigs) - though on the latter one might expect that as they were individual concerts. Here, Brian's top range is missing altogether, and whilst he handles the Bon-era songs fine, none of the later songs are really done justice, with Thunderstruck in particular miles off the intense vocal delivery of, for example, the Donington video of the early 90's. However, the character of Brian and his weathered voice still works, especially for the more bluesy numbers, and the rhythm section sound solid (as ever) throughout. Stiff Upper Lip itself sounds great, and is perhaps the standout. Overall, plenty of great music, plenty of high points, plenty of entertainment from the very dynamic duo of Brian and Angus....but being honest this performance is a long way short of their best; and this comes from a loyal fan of over 20 years.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2001
This DVD sums up many things: That AC/DC rock this planet, this is their best tour ever and they are still extremely popular (this concert alone was an 80,000 sell-out). This DVD is just as good as No Bull if not better. The highlights for me were, the huge Angus statue that bursts on to the stage during the opener, "Stiff Upper Lip", the new rosie doll, hells bell, angus' genius and ofcourse, song after song of classic rock with a few suprises, my favs were probably the Jack, BIB and For those about to rock. Any negative bits? NONE. Get this DVD, I promise all u hundreds of thousands of 'DC fans will not be dissapointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2006
I only had 1 acdc video till I got this one. I knew it would be good, but when I saw it for the first time it literally brought tears to my eyes. ACDC's music in this dvd belts through in it's typical raw, ear bleeding way and sends tingles up your spine with the atmospheric ambience from the crowd. The performance of Thunderstruck is fantastic! This is my 2 yr old sons favourite. I would recommend this dvd to any avid acdc fans. An absolute belter!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2001
this is truly their finest dvd to date, its got all the usual classic tracks you would expect to find. the picture quality is superb along with the sound, its just like you are actually there!
this is most definatly worth a buy and i rate it as one of their finest performances on dvd or video around
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)