Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
439
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 September 2016
The performances of Martin Sheen and Marlon Brando under the direction of the esteemed Francis Ford Coppola make Apocalypse Now one of the classics of all time. The character and contours of the US military operation in Vietnam is captured in all its pointless imperialist glory by Coppola. I cant add much more to what previous reviews have already said about this masterpiece other than the fact that it illustrates the futility of liberal interventionism, and its human cost.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
My all time favourite film. A visual and audial masterpiece. Surprisingly, I had not seen it since it was on general release but the film's spectacular images remained in my head as did Robert Duval''s classic comments on napalm. It was a must have for my collection. Also, Joseph Conrad's "The Heart of Darkness" was a favourite read of mine at University and it was the inspiration for the film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
nothing to say about the film, its brilliant and you wouldnt be looking at this if you hadnt seen it already. all time classic. Bluray serves it well, nice colours and definition still got that grainy film look, glad they havent poloshed that out. The extras are excellent and its worth buying for the hearts of darkness documentary on its own, been waiting for years for that to come out. Some xtra interview as well which didnt appear on the 'recent' tin box DVD edition of apocalypse now and redux versions and thankfully you dont have to stop half way through and swap discs which was a major draw back of that lovely set. Just get it, for this price it is an absolute steal and going through the extras and listening to the commentary will keep you busy for a week. Great 'ultimate' edition, really worthy of this great movie. Having owned this film on evry format created over the years I can say I look forward to never having to buy it again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
great box at great value classic film - extra footage in redux version is essential! if your favourite film is this and you are not referring to the redux or even have not seen the redux version then your opinions on the film have no credibility. HD transforms the film as does redux.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
there's nothing i can say about this film that has not already been said. it is one of the greatest films ever made. treat yourself and buy this film, you will not regret it. the horror the horror. the horror
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
Favourite film; bought for fantastic price as includes "the making of" which is a great film in its own right.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2017
There's little to be said that hasn't already. I'm just registering my delight at this with a five stars marking. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Can't believe the quality of this considering the price, the best quality blue ray movie edition I've seen. Gorgeous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2016
An a mazing classic movie which I could watch again and again..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2016
Without question one of the Greatest Movies ever made for so many reasons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)