Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
66
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 September 2004
I think that this is one of the finest Cybermen stories ever. The Cybercontroller (Michael Kilgarriff) is along with the character(s) of the Cyberleader is an awesome spectacle and truly terrifying. The BBC obviously went all out in the creation of this gem. Pat's Doctor once again comes out on top of the Cybermen in a story that paved the way for Attack of the Cybermen brilliantly. The special feature of the opening titles tests is great too... A must-have
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2010
My mum and dad bought me this for my birthday many years ago and i have only just got round to writing a review about it, this was the first cybermen episode i ever saw and no doubtably the best. I wanted to see this because my mum told me that she remembers watching this episode on tv when she was my age. The special effects are brilliant for 1967 and the picture restoration is crisp. After watching this i researched the history of this episode and discovered that the original film was damaged and then lost a few decades after being broadcast until 1999 when it was remastered and repaired. Also on the special features of the dvd there is a short video showing you the original quality of the episode and then the remastered quality, let me tell you that the remastered version is a million times better. It looks like a black and white HD film. All of the crackles and scratches on the original copy have been filtered out.

At the moment i have only told you about the technical details of this product, now im going to tell you about my opinion on the actual story. I know now a days with all the high-tech special effects and ultra realistic costumes and all that, the cyber suits used in this episode would't look very convincing now but iv'e seen the modern cyber suits in the David tennant and Matt smith episodes and despite the improved effects i still prefer the old 1967 suit. Anyway back to the story, the acting is brilliant (good old troughton), the story is well planned, i simply just can't fault this episode. It kept me hooked all the way through, if you are a true fan of doctor who (like me) i would definately recommend this. I hope this helps
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2005
Tomb of the Cybermen is the earliest episode of Dr Who that I have seen, and I thought it was very good.
In this episode, an archaeological team discover the lost city of the Cybermen on planet Telos, and plan to form an alliance with them. But the Cybermen are frozen in 'honeycomb' tombs, and the team unfreeze them. However, the Cybermen plan to attack them and turn them into Cybermen as well.
This episode features the first viewing of the Cybermens' leader, The Controller. Unlike the other Cybermen, he has an enlarged helmet and no chest unit. But, like the other Cybermen, he has to be 'revitalised' when his energy levels get too low.
The special features on this DVD include:
-Intro to Morris Barry - The director talks about the Cybermen.
-Late Night Line Up - Programme from the 1960s featuring visual effects on Doctor Who.
-Tombwatch - Some of the cast return to see the screening in April 1992.
-The Final End - A shot of the last part of the previous episode, 'The Evil of the Daleks', because the last episode no longer exists, except this bit.
-Title sequence tests - A selection of raw footage of the creation of the Patrick Troughton version title sequence.
-Restoration - A feature showing how the original film was cleaned up for the DVD.
-Photo Gallery - Screenshots of the film.
-Commentary - By Frazer Hines (Jamie) and Deborah Watling (Victoria).
The animated menus are really something, and the feature is a lot better now it has been cleaned up, and I think the cleaners did a very good job.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2005
Patrick Troughton as the second Doctor with assistants Victoria and Jamie have a memorable run-in against the cybermen in this particularly thrilling story.
The story was thought to have been wiped from BBC archives and lost forever until a copy was recently discovered in Hong Kong. And what a discovery. The cybermen prove to be genuinely frightening once thawed out of their secret fortress by treacherous scientists.
It is easy to imagine that "Emmerdale" Jamie played the assistant role for laughs but Frazer Hines puts on a great performance and really co-leads the show.
The effects work but at times the cybermen fortress control systems look particuarly wooden and delicate. Never mind. Cybermats make their first appearance and the cliffhanger allows the cybermen to march onto another story and to become oe of the most popular baddies of the show's history.
There are plenty of excellent extras on the disc to enjoy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 February 2014
NOTE: Also available as a Special Edition in the Revisitations 3 box set, remastered and with new extras - highly recommended.

One of the great `Doctor Who' stories. It draws clear parallels with the discovery of Tutankhamen's tomb and the `Mummy' films for characters, iconography and atmosphere, working this together expertly with real science, logic and the Cybermen to produce a classic `Doctor Who' that still works superbly after almost 50 years.

The direction and location filming of the opening scenes are excellent; no gravel pit has ever looked better. Valley of the Kings, Telos, here we are. The story is riveting from the opening of the outer doors to the emergence of the Cybermen two episodes later. The music soundtrack plays a key part in this; building a part futuristic, part ancient atmosphere as the huge doors are opened, then later as the Cybermen slowly emerge from the massive tombs set, in one of the iconic moments of `Doctor Who'. The sets mostly look very impressive for their sheer size and solidity, there are a few wooden-looking levers but the tense story carries you along. The Cybermen of this era look good and suitably massive; the grating, robotic voices of this period do have an unsettlingly inhuman quality. Who would have thought there could be so much menace in the flat statement "You shall be like us."? (Compare this for effectiveness with "upgraded".) I'm still not convinced by the Cybermats - my first thought was `can I get one of those as a wireless mouse?'

Patrick Troughton wears a cloak in the style of William Hartnell's era for much of this story and also seems to cloak himself in some of his former incarnation's strategic ways, manipulating the archaeological team to aid their entry to the tombs while warning against it! As soon as the word `Cybermen' is mentioned he knows he has to discover the motives of the expedition and find exactly what lies buried - or waiting. There are no wasted moments in this script but there are some quieter times and in one of them the Doctor has a sympathetic scene with Victoria (Deborah Watling), aware of her vulnerability after the trauma of the previous Dalek story. `Doctor Who' always `did' emotion, just not to over-sentimental excess.

The strong production benefits from the usual high quality cast of guest actors bringing their stage and screen experience to the programme. The boring myth that classic `Doctor Who' had poor acting is just that, a myth and boring. The style of the time was more stage than filmic because of the way studio work was done, but that's no criticism and it lends seriousness to the results. The three characters of Klieg, Kaftan and Toberman are a good but rather obvious trio of villains - the `eastern' priest and priestess/princess raising the dead (with grisly results for visiting archaeologists) are familiar from Egyptian-themed horror films. When you learn that George Pastell (a notable performance here as Eric Klieg) had played the mummy-raising priest in more than one film, the parallel seems deliberate. Here, Klieg and Kaftan are power-crazed members of an organisation intent on creating the "perfect master race" - guess who that was satirising. But don't judge characters too quickly - Toberman (Roy Stewart in an almost silent but memorable role) ultimately exerts his free will, overcoming even Cyber-conversion to take matters into his own hands. Many of the male characters (not the Doctor, of course) are amazingly sexist in a would-be `protective' way, but set against this the strong female character of Kaftan (Shirley Cooklin) is an excellent villain, ruthless and proud of it. And give a cheer for Victoria's sarcastic put-down line when the tough talking, patronisingly sexist space captain finally loses his nerve.

`The Tomb of the Cybermen' is a five star classic; if parts of it seem dated that's because it's almost half a century old, no time to the Doctor but a long time on Earth.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
Good title, good idea too - it's got a great sense of 'If you open this, something horrible will come out'. Like Howard Carter with, er, Cybermen.

And at that level, with some influence of Treasure Island, it works beautifully; Prof Parry (Howard Carter) has hired Captain Hopper's (Smollet's) ship using Klieg's money (crewed with Silver's friends), and he has no idea of how much trouble will occur when they are all far from home with the treasure within reach.

The first couple of episodes are well-assembled and the location filming at Gerard's Cross is wonderfully bleak, and Kaften and Klieg suitably sinister, and the upper chambers properly menacing and mysterious, and it's something of a relief that the whining Viner gets killed early on.

There's also lots of logic puzzles for clever people (ie the Dr) to work out, thus opening the tomb, and this is the first narrative problem.

The Cybermen are in the tomb, right? Good. Best place for them. Leave them there. Do not open the tomb; keep it shut. If they have left puzzles to prevent dumb people getting in, it's obvious that they want clever people to do so, but - and this is important - clever people that are also, in important and quite particular ways, also quite stupid. Don't do it.

If your car breaks down on a cold and rainy night, do not go to Castle Dracula or the Old Frankenstein Place.

But it's fair to say that archeological curiosity gets Gerry Davis and his story round this yawning great crevasse, and the explorers do go downstairs, including the Dr and Jamie, who should know better, and Klieg, who shouldn't be allowed to finance a trip to the ice cream parlour, let alone Telos.

And, of course, the Cybermen defrost.

It's the best bit, no doubt about it - lots of Cybermen thawing out, breaking out of tombs, climbing down, opening the big door with the Cyber Controller inside. And those tombs really are that big, and they really have got men in restrictive suits, with very dodgy vision, climbing down those ladders - if nothing else it's impressive for the sheer danger involved!

Then what? Well, the logical thing is that the Cybermen, ever logical, convert everyone into more Cybermen, and Klieg, ever going on about his superior intelligence (the chump) didn't see this one coming. Fortunately there's a big lid to shut on them, once we've climbed back up the ladder, pursued (of course) by a Cyberman as the lid's closing (for suspense), and then there's a massive stand-off with 'Will they fix the ship before the Cybermats get them?

Given that these Cybermats look like just the creatures to dispose of with a good heavy golf club, it could be quite a long, if entertaining time.

The trouble is that, rather than have hordes of Cybermen trying to get out, Mr Davis re-freezes them (run the film backwards), and we end up with the stand off between the Cyber Controller and the half converted Toberman, who sacrifices himself sealing the doors.

So there it is; it's a very good story, and thank goodness they did find it in Hong Kong, but Mr Davis's creativity rather deserts him when the Cybermen appear, and the issues of opening the tomb are never properly addressed. It's good, but ultimately never as good as it should be.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2009
Tomb is a classic & we were blessed when this was found in Hong Kong!

It's a Sunday watching cosy DW with copious atmosphere straight from the start.
It is a story which is based on the whole 'Curiosity killed the Cat' theme. A team of archaeologists are curious why the cybermen died out & even though things go wrong for them from the start.. Curiosity gets the better of them!

With a well rounded cast & an impressive Tomb Set (for the money they had) this story is an eerie, Dark drama & is another good example of how much this show has changed over the years.

The soundtrack fits perfectly & also the ambient sound is very subtle & effective. There is never Silence. You can always hear a quiet hum or pulsations or just sounds themselves to fit every room they explore in the building.

Yes it will look old & dated. But if you are the kind of person who can imagine there being no colour Dr who, No Terminator 2, Star Trek Next Gen & so many more films & series that came after it, & therefore not rate it up against what you've seen after the sixties; then you will find this to be pure entertainment at its best staring an actor who played the real 1st Doctor replacement.

If you are too fixed to the new series, then stay away. The new series is fast, boppy & camp with special effects that require no imagination (To rob a child of that?) with an undefined soundtrack.

With all the technology in the world: You could never replicate something as authentic & tasty as this!

"Evil Must be Destroyed" - Patrick Troughton
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2001
The best of the remaining complete Patrick Troughton adventures, 'Tomb of the Cybermen' still retains a chilling menace thirty five years since first broadcast. Troughton's Doctor is a joy to watch fey, compassionate and three steps ahead of everybody else. The Cybermen are in this story at the height of their glory, huge and implacable, they dominate the screen. Lovingly restored for DVD release by the BBC, marred only by a few amateurish special effects, this is a classic of 1960's british television.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2007
This was my first Troughton story and I must say this was an excellent first impression. Troughton and his co-stars put up an excellent perormance and its just such a shame that the rest of the stories from this season are missing.

The story itself is gripping and imaginative and stands up strong against other classic stories such as Genesis of the Daleks and Pyramids of Mars.

Overall; Tomb of the Cybermen overcomes Doctor Who's usual low budget to create a captivating tale.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
I found this DVD whilst digging through a load of old junk in a Morrisons' store in Pembrokshire. Pat Troughton is my fave Doctor and the cybermen are my fave monsters so I decided to buy it. I'm so glad I did. It is sheer brilliance. TV Gold. It can teach a lesson to Steven Moffat about how 39 episodes don't have to be linked together in one long storyline to make them good. This story is simple but perfect. A good set of characters, some friends, some foes. Then there's Jamie, how I love good old Jamie, Victoria, the stunning screamer, and of course the always amazing Pat Troughton. Then there are the cybermen. I wish they could still look like this. Terrifying, powerful and spine-tingling. And the music when they emerge from their icy tombs is sensational. The Cybermen now can just upgrade themselves which is stupid as the Cybermen aren't meant to be invincible.
Please buy if you like Pat Troughton and The Cybermen. But buy it in the Revisitations boxset as it comes with The Three Doctors and The Robots of Death, two more good stories. Trust me, it will not dissapoint.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse