Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
25
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2017
Brilliantvalue you can get all the best movies from Amazon fantastic Simon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
Classic horror.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 November 2013
Shivers is written and directed by David Cronenberg. It stars Fred Doederlin, Paul Hampton, Lynn Lowry and Barbara Steele. Music is by Ivan Reitman and cinematography by Robert Saad.

Montreal's Starliner Island Complex suddenly becomes home to parasitic organisms that upon entering a human host, turns them into flesh-eating sexual predators.

Cronenberg's first commercial feature film has become a little too over analysed over the years due to the Canadian auteur's subsequent career. Meanings and motives within Shivers have been searched and scrutinised so as to give it more resonance. It really isn't worthy of that sort of cranial thinking, but what Shivers is is a fun low-budget horror film, a movie that has dashes of Cronenberg magic that shows he started as he meant to go on.

With its chaotic observation of mundane everyday people suddenly turned into sexually charged beings now devoid of inhibitions, it's not hard to see why it caused some controversy upon release. Yet that sort of controversy is gold publicity really, and ultimately when you look at it now, it's played out as being more tongue in cheek than any design to shock the audience out of their seats. That's not to say there isn't horror here of course, one only has to see the brilliant opening to know this, but there is an intentional airiness about the piece, and yes! This is even as the director pushes buttons by pushing taboo subjects into our visual event.

The acting is generally poor, the sound mix is off and some of the dialogue is awfully cheesy, but Shivers still comes out in considerable credit. It's an important movie in the pantheon of horror because of its director, while it's enjoyable to tick off some of the traits that would dominate his work from this point on. It also makes you evaluate the state of horror as a genre today, with the ream of sequels, remakes and unsurprising slashers dominating the box offices, now more than ever we could do with a young up and coming Cronenberg type to announce himself to our cinematic world. We can but hope. 7.5/10
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
If you are even contemplating buying this film then chances are you are a David Cronenberg fan.
And fans of the master of body horror will not be dissappointed. You will see all the things that
Cronenberg has gone on to develop in his later films.

The DVD has relatively good video and audio quality especially considering it is an old and relatively
cheaply made film.
Special features may not be as extensive as you would like but they are certainly interesting and better
than the simple 'original theatrical trailer' that are usualy the only special feature on old 'cult' films
released on DVD.

Fans of Cronenberg will love this but also filmmakers who want to see how you can make a horror film cheaply
will get a lot of benefit from it.

The film is interesting and the performances and special effects have all aged well.
I believe you will also like this if you are a fan of films such as Romero's 'The Crazies', 'slither' or
classic horror films of the seventies.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2005
I first saw this when a teenager - and I was still disturbed by it when I saw it again recently, now in my 30's. The casting is brilliant: all the people look slightly strange, slightly off kilter. The sequence at the end in the swimming pool, in slow motion, still sends shivers (really no pun intended - can't think how to put it better)down my spine. Along with 'Rabid' (also an 'infected' film), this is my favourite Cronenberg.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2010
"Shivers", a.k.a. "They Came From Within" and "The Parasite Murders", is an early chiller from The Canadian King of Horror, David Cronenberg, about residents in a high-rise apartment complex (or block of flats as we say in England) who become infected by strange, ugly-looking parasites, turning them into violent, sex-mad maniacs.

This is quite a grisly and, at times, pretty disgusting low-budget horror film that effectively manages to shock and repulse in equal measures thanks mainly to Cronenberg's gritty, realistic style of film making. The ordinary setting could be the place where you live and the characters could be your friends or neighbours which makes the events even more chilling. Sure, the film is technically a little rough in places but this only adds to the overall look and feel of the movie and helps establish Cronenberg's reputation for being an original, raw-edged director. Let's face it, any film that features The Queen of Horror, Barbara Steele, being attacked in the bath by a turd-like creature has got to be worth a look and we are also treated to one of Cronenberg's trademark, unhappy endings.

Cronenberg's later films may be more polished and accomplished with bigger budgets, better special effects and bigger-named actors but "Shivers" remains a fresh and thought-provoking film that (quite literally, in this case) gets under the skin. If you have the stomach for yucky, low-budget horror films then this movie should be just your cup of tea.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2011
Cronenberg says this is Alien before Alien. I'm a big fan of Alien and I first saw it long before Shivers. When I first saw Shivers, Alien didn't even occur to me. OK, there's a similarity, but there's a big difference: in Alien there's an alien; in Shivers, the gut-bursting horrors are man-made. Big diference. A totally different kind of horror. And in Shivers, the nasties set humans on humans. Perhaps more shocking, perhaps just as far-fetched...

Maybe not.

The storyline parallels don't really matter. The level of technical expertise and professionalism perhaps do: Shivers is decidedly a little rough around the edges compared with Alien. But in the end, that doesn't matter. Just as Alien is a masterpiece, so is Shivers. It is an early Cronenberg masterpiece that simply must not be missed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2015
I am a fan of Cronenberg and whilst I could write a review detailing the plot, special effects, and performances, I think this movie is best summed up with the line "Horny love zombie boobfest". I'm sure at least some women wore bras in the 1970s? Good movie and certainly worth a watch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2016
Very early Cronenberg sees a modern- well for the 70s plush apartments being overrun by parasites that can get into the digestive system. Once there they make their hosts crave sexual encounters so they can spread. Sometimes uneven but Cronenberg along with Dario Argento was always able to get under your skin. The low budget just makes this movie even edgier- and you won't want to be going to bed all alone after this- or at least you'll keep looking behind your back. Creepy, a little gory and downright bizarre. A brilliant effort all in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2009
Some early horror films have disappointed (sorry, but "Night of the living dead" didn't do it for me), and many of David Cronenberg's films have missed ("Scanners" being the king of the "Oooo, that was so close!").
This film, strangely, works on both levels: it is a good, older horror, and it is a good David Cronenberg film.
The low budget is obvious, but does not overwhelm the film. David Cronenberg's bravery to go beyond the "decent" is to be commended, as he ended up creating something more believable.
My only real critism of the film, is that for a film about sex crazed people, there is very little sex (pretty much none), and very little nudity.
That aside, this is a solid, creepy horror. Recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)