Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
4.8 out of 5 stars
One Last Flutter
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 October 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 August 2003
Fascinating Aida's farewell album is absolutely brilliant. Everything you expect from them is there (knicker-wetting comedy in form of "Stick Your Head Between Your Legs", ballads to tug at your heartstrings such as "Modest Dreams" and pure filth in the shape of "Poor Lizzie") and more! Yes, FA have finally let a fella join in the singing: the lovely Russel Churney (last heard on Dillie's solo CD "Back With You") runs rings around "Yes, But Is It Art?", a song mentioning (in no particular order) frozen semen, pubic hair and poo. Adèle Anderson sings brings you to tears with "Modest Dreams" as you realise how much of that song rings true with everyone; Marilyn Cutts gives a vicious rendition of "Viennese" (a mock operatic aria regarding the downside of love) and Dillie Keane brings a lump to your...throat...without singing a word: the most emotional part of this CD is after the final song (listed as "This Is The Last Time We Play Reading" but in reality "This Is Our Very Last Recording") when Dillie plays a gentle piano solo of "Sew On A Sequin" (the Fascinaing Aida themesong) and it's then that you realise that not only have they yet again not included this wonderful song on their CD, but they never will again :o( A perfect end to 20 years of perfect comedy. They'll be sorely missed.
"Goodbye...may the road ride with you"
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2009
This isn't a typical FA album - it was recorded in the studio, there are more solo songs than usual and there's an elegiac tone to many of these songs - but it is their finest. You Keep Me Awake at Night is a beautiful song - if someone told me that it was by Cole Porter I would believe them - Little Shadows is fragile and heartbreaking and Goodbye is one of FA's finest moments. That's not to say that the album is all doom and gloom - the Cod Lehar of Viennese is perfectly observed and hilarious while you would no doubt appreciate the accuracy of the Coward Spoof Poor Lizzie if it wasn't so jaw-droppingly filthy.

Highly reccomended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
I heard one of their tracks via Facebook on you tube and thought this sounds like my husband's sense of humour and I was so right!

Although rather rude it is very funny and he now has three of their CD's to ring the changes!

Not recommended for family listening or when the in laws/parents are around but hilariously funny listening at all other times!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Excellent CD, we were left gasping for air. This was the last of Fascinating Aida's albums I bought and fully justified the anticipatory enthusiasm I felt when I ordered it. They should be more widely seen and heard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
Great mix of songs which I'm thoroughly enjoying. CD in 'as new' condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
The music is great. The only trouble was the track listing was completely wrong. I thought that the tracks were a satire of "My fair Lady" as was advertised. Probably would still have bought it to complete my collection but!!!!!
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
Atte4nd theoir showsl.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
Very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Sweet Fa
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)