Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
284
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 September 2013
One of the all time classic black & white movies now to start the war in my opinion the "Best film Orson Welles ever made first rate story... Packed with some of the best talent in the acting field. 5 * does not do it justice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2016
What can I say - I had the need to watch this again. Well worth buying on Amazon Prime viewing so I can watch it again and again. Love everything about it. It's little wonder it was voted the best British film of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
Apart from the film, this collection includes a great documentary on post-war Vienna and the making of the movie--and also an interesting radio drama from 1950 based on the Harry Lyme character and played by Orson Welles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2017
I was not familiar with this film or with Carol Reed. The blu-ray of The Third Man knocked me out. Amazing cinematography in post-war Vienna, striking use of shadows and light, a fine script and acting to match. See it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Film making at its very best if you have never seen it or just need a new version. Buy it. Just hearing that haunting musical score takes me back to my childhood when I was allowed to see the film for the first time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
This is a classic film, telling a mysterious tale of the infamous Harry Lime in post war Vienna. The quality of acting is outstanding and the plot intriguing. Directed by Carol Reed it is an absolute must see!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2016
Great Carol Reid movie, stylishly made and stands the test of time with black and white filming adding to its immediate post war austerity, war damage atmosphere. Orson wells and Joseph Cotton well cast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
Having spent five weeks working in Vienna I had to get the DVD of the Third Man as it is part of their history! It arrived on time and in excellent condition. Value for money and a fantastic service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2010
This review is about the blu-ray and not the film as the film is obviously a 5-star film for me to bother paying over £15 for it in the first place.

The picture is much better than the dvd version, if not completely flawless. Yet it is the sound that makes this well worth buying. The sound is superb and ridiculously clear. Orson Welles' 'cuckoo' speech has never sounded so good.

It is also worth noting that the picture does not stretch to fit the screen and is letterboxed in, which I am perfectly fine with as it keeps the picture in pristine condition.

I don't know about the Criterion version but this Studio Canal version is indeed very good with a handy booklet inside detailing the making of the film. I sometimes feel like I have wasted my money but this is born more out of my frugality (I have only ever purchased Kick Ass and The Third Man on its release date for top price) than anything majorly wrong with the product.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2002
...Carol Reed's international crime thriller, is unmistakebly a film of its time, filmed on location in a war stricken Vienna, adding a historical realism to a broken, upside down world where corruption is the new way of life. Mixing elements of the western, comedy, romance, and film noir, the film is a critique of the Allied forces war politics of enforced moral protector over people and situations they know little of, and of the repurcussions that ensue. With an international cast, production, and funding, the end product is also a comment of what can be achieved with international cooperation and shared creativity as it is this which makes The Third Man such a unique and exciting film, rather than separate elements acting for personal gain, which is inherent throughout the film's story. Though the making of the film did not come without its own political problems, which is superbly told in Charles Drazin's book In Search Of The Third Man.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse