Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
22
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 January 2002
after 3 hours of flicking inbetween mtv2 and the Kerrang channel on a rainy sunday afternoon my ears got a wakeup call when the vid for Parasite God was aired. what can i say... WOW! sooo impressed. Got the 'Smell of rain' straight away and cant stop listneing to it. After all the screamy-shouty angry music i normally listen to, Mortiis brought an air of calm and serenity to my cd collection. I have totally fallen in love with the cool 80's groves and Bowie signature voice of 'Parasite God' and 'Spirit in a Vacuum'. With all this you might think the ususal goth/metal crowd would shun such a thing, well not this one. This album is full of emotion and mystery, twist and torment, but just so happens theres a funky beat aswell and you just gotta dance....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2010
I only just got this album and I like it.I knew Parasite God from before,and a some tracks like Marshland have a very similar sound and feel.The track Everyone Leaves has a definte Moby feel to it,in fact a lot of the vocals sound very Moby-like generally.I would say a starter of Nine Inch Nails with some Moby as a main course,and a little Depeche Mode for desert.I just find Mortiis appealing.There's no re-inventing the wheel here but we have enough new wheels to be getting on with anyway.It's fascinating how scandinavian bands can dress as trolls and monsters(also see mad Finns Lordi) in such a way.The English just couldn't dress as a trolls without being ironic or comical,and that's a national failing (ps I'm not being ironic!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
This is a very 80's sounding industrial metal type of a record I really like it Mortiis is from Emperor a black metal band and here he is having created something completely different and really rather good. It has elements of black metal in it especially in the lyrics but it is performed in a much more open way with dark industrial beats and 80's style synths. Mental Maelstrom is the 'hit' off of the album but the whole thing is good it even has choirs in it. Lots of things are going on musically that have been mixed very subtly giving the music great depth
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2003
This album is thousands of times better than it deserves to be! We all know Mortiis. He's that stupid looking one who dresses up like a live roleplayer.
Well, isn't this album a stunning surprise?
Every song is a beauty. Crafted perfectly. "Everyone Leaves" is so stunning in the way it builds up secretely over the course of 5 minutes then explodes for its last minute then burns out. "You Put A Hex on Me" is the song that desperately needs a good video so it can breed on MTV until the end of the earth. I could go though every song on the album and say something positive about it. Its just so good!
But just so you know - in case you think this is black metal or something. It isn't. There is no screaming on it. Just decent singing. And keyboards and synths and eletco. No wailing guitars and double-pedal drums. Fans of Depeche Mode will like this album. Darkwave is the future. Buy it - be converted.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
i brought the cd as i have heard of the artist a while back and i love it i do recommend this to anyone who likes gothic music and i will have get some more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
i bought this album to replace a lost album i.e. lost in the move!! I was so pleased as I forgot how good the album actually is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
I'm very happy at the quality of the cd & how quick i got it. Got it for a present. Very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
I LOVE MORTIIS!!!!! FANTASTIC ALBUM. VERY ADDICTIVE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
The only album by Mortiis worth listening to. It's excellent. If you are at all religious then I would avoid it, for any rational person though I'd recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2003
all i can say about this album is wow. Its hard to describe, its a kind of ambient rock combining excellent riffs with ambient moods and melodies.i recomend this album to anyone. the best tracks in my opinion are mental maelstrome, smell the witch ,monolyth and antimental, buy it now!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£8.34

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)