Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Chocolat [DVD] [2001]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.43+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 February 2012
This film is simply lovely. The portrayal of a village's journey from being a repressed, almost Victorian, community to a vibrant, colourful 1950s liberation is beautiful. The transformation is brought about through the arrival of Vianne, who brings the passionate world of Chocolaterie to the pleasure-denied village.

What happens next is a journey the whole village is taken on, as they each in turn embrace or struggle with change. With actors including Johnny Depp, Juliet Binoche and Judi Dench, this film cannot disappoint. The narration makes it sounds almost fairytale-esque, adding to the magic of this beautiful story.

I recommend it to chocolate lovers, vintage-era lovers, Johnny Depp fans, and absolutely anyone who enjoys a good story told through film. It is slightly risque in parts, so I think the 12 rating is appropriate, but is certainly suitable for teenagers.

A lovely, heartwarming film - enjoy with a cup of cocoa and chocolate biscuit!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2018
Brilliant performances from all involved in this movie, with a stellar cast aside from the two principal actors, Johnny Depp and Juliette Binoche, I love this movie, its story, the settings, the happy ending, the feel - good factor, I cannot recommend this movie high enough, plus, the absolutely gorgeous star of the show CHOCOLATE!!! what's not to love. Buy it watch it enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 May 2015
A warm-hearted film, and a first-rate cast right at the top of their game. I can't help but wonder how many emigrations (and would-be such) could be traced back to this film, quite a few I imagine.
The director, Lasse Hallström, is quite bold in his interpretation of the source book, but provided that one can accept the changes then his vision and the performances he elicits from his chosen cast are about as good as they get. Singling out individual performances would be unfair, the principals being uniformly excellent, and with first class help from a pretty star-studded group of supporting minor characters.
Not as dark as the original but no worse for that, just a different tale.
Is "Try to be a bit nicer" profound enough to be deemed a Message? It is what I imagine many will take away from this, Message or not. For a simple 2 hours of lightish entertainment suitable for all but the youngest viewer this has much to commend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2017
ahh, a slightly magical, romantic escapism film. watch it by yourself wrapped in a fleece in your jammies with a nice glass of wine or hot chocolate :-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2017
Dench at her best in a dirty old lady role. Every character a pleasure to watch, superb playing and a good deal of simple beauty in the filming. The music is a delight !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2012
This is an enchanting story set in a drab cheerless and almost medieval village which is gradually transformed by a newcomer who opens a chocolate shop. The newcomer, played by Juliette Binoche, bewitches the population and even the sternest of officials with her homemade chocolates and chocolate drinks. Mmmm, what is that secret ingredient ? There are superb characterisations by all the cast (see the caddy illustration).
What I would take issue with is the sound-track. I think, that as usual with films on DVD, the management of sound quality/level does not bear comparison with a typical British TV soap episode. Is that simply because the industry has gradually moved up the use of 'body-mikes' ? However, I really recommend the film, now a classic I think. Put out the lights, snuggle up with a cup of hot sweet cocoa, and enjoy !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2018
Chocolat is a lovely film, funny and sad in turn. The characters are all so real, so captivating. I've watched it 3 times and see more each time and will watch it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2018
Bought this film to go with the Lent Course. Brilliant film but with the insight of Hilary Brand’s Lent Course it is even better than just enjoying watching the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2010
This is my favourite Johnny Depp film. He and Juliette Binoche play their characters brilliantly against a scenic French village backdrop. The music is suitably mesmerising and the characters very well rounded and credible. Judi Dench is simply masterful as the stoic but secretly wicked grandmother, Amande.

Having read the book beforehand, I was a bit disappointed that in the film, the protaganist was the mayor and not the vicar as in the book. The vicar character in the book is not derided or humiliated as the vicar is in the film, and in the book is a much stronger character and somehow more sensible righteous opponent for Vianne's unmarried and controversial personality. Saying that, the film still works OK with the mayor as the foe to Vianne's carefree approach to life.

On the whole though, the film captures the mysterious air of Vianne and her child, Anouk, a pair of drifters on the move where the wind takes them. A thoroughly dreamlike and atmospheric film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2016
I thought i would treat my family to a bluray version after watching our dvd and we all thought it was quite a hazy picture compared to our other bluray movies, how wrong could i have been, the picture quality of the bluray is appalling. It is like a bonfire is lit infront of the camera and jerky movement. I will send back. This is typical of studio's cashing in without taking time to produce a picture of 'premium' qualiy, just a poor transfer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)