Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
38
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 11 August 2017
I have listened to it and enjoyed it. It came early.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2017
Great quick ta
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2003
A great collection of singles from the premier british female vocalist of the 80's. Moving from the new wave/electro pop of 1981's Kids in America through the glorious power pop of the late 80's You Keep Me Hanging On and You Came this is a perfect celebration of a true pop goddess. For those die-hard fans, like myself, there's even a few new remixes thrown in as well as a tantalising shot of Kim Wilde noughties style on Loved. If you're new to Kim Wilde this is as good an introduction as you need. Kylie, you're great but you could learn a lot from this about great pop singles.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2001
This compilation works for everybody...new fans who may first be exposed to her can jump in and get all the major hits, older fans who never got around to buying one of the other compilations will find this a great place to find some great pop music memories from the 80's and 90's and the true devoted fans will be thrilled with the new track "Loved" that was written by her longtime writer Ricki Wilde (her brother). This compilation combines her early 80's hits from the RAK label with the later hits into the 90's from MCA. The older stuff is what we Americans called New Wave while her later output was pure pop. The new track "Loved" is more like her last few hits. The remixes are club friendly and (to my knowledge) previously not released on CD. A great place to start or a great place to sit and remember how great and underappreciated she truly was. It is worth the price just for the new tracks!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 September 2016
Kim Wilde was one of the best female pop singers of the 1980s, and the most successful British girl artist of the decade. Not only did the beautiful young woman possess a great singing voice, she was also given a string of truly great songs, which still found fresh and exciting today.

There are many Kim Wilde compilations out there on the market, but 2001's official 'The Very Best of Kim Wilde' is one of the most (if not 'the' most) comprehensive. It has all the tracks that I would accept and want in a track listing of her work, which consists of an impressive 15 top 20 UK hit singles.

Kim's early years on Mickie Most's label RAK Records, where she was produced by her brother Ricky, who co-wrote the songs for her with the siblings' famous dad Marty, are well represented with the mega-hits 'Chequered Love', and 'Kids in America', which remains her signature song. The stand outs for myself are 'Child Come Away' and 'Cambodia', both of which are haunting and dark story-telling tracks, and my personal favourites out of anything she has ever done in such a long and fruitful career.

Kim's later '80s hits are here like her excellent cover of The Supremes' 'You Keep Me Hangin' On', 'Another Step (Closer to You)' with Junior Giscombe, and the uplifting 'You Came', right through to her '90s biggies 'Love is Holy', and the funky 'If I Can't Have You'. As a bonus, we have the then new song 'Loved', once again co-written by Rickie, and two remixes of the old hits 'View From A Bridge', and 'Kids in America'.

If you want to have just one Kim Wilde album in your CD collection, that contains all of the songs you know and love, then 'The Very Best of Kim Wilde' has got to be the one you purchase. This girl had real talent, and some of today's 'trashy' girl singers could do very well in learning some tips from this pop icon. The album's attractively laid-out booklet contains some great pictures from across the years, and a special note from Kim herself.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2007
How fabulous is this?! Kim in all her stages. From New Age Pop and the seminal "Kids" through the rockabilly "Love Blonde/Rage" phase and beyond to "Hangin' On" and the immaculate "You Came". The remixes are a much appreciated bonus.

Kim had a Bardot-esque quality that was never fully realised but almost! No pretentions at musical credibility just pure pop = fun. The 80s were a blissful era thanks to the likes of Kim and Nena and...and...

A great collection. Wallow in it and let your heart dance.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Memories of the early 1980's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2002
Anyone who loves music should defently own this CD its masterpiece of pop-music history, especially who loves 80's and 90's, of course catchy Kids in America and Combodia are great songs but album even gets better after Kim's #1 smash hit classic cover of You Keep Me Hanging On, follow up with Another Step duet, of course Who will forget when Kim Wilde opened up for King -pop Michael Jackson in 1988 with hits like You Came and Never trust a stranger, and when you think its over Kim Wilde proves one more time she is not just another sexy kitten of 80's Kim came back to the charts in 90's with Love is holy, no it wasn't accident because in 1994 Kim releases If i cant have you which goes Top 10 most countrys in the world including, Australia, UK, Japan and even USA Top Dance charts.
and in 2001 when Kim says " Never Say Never, Music will always be part of me" Wilde comes out with another smash electro-dance Hit Loved... So all the girls and boys, who wants to be loved ran to the store and buy this album...And of course lets keep our fingers crossed for Kim to release a New album in 2003 :)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2002
Every year the market is flooded with best of compilations, and all sound very much the same. That is unless u are Kim Wilde. Kim who last year made a welcome return to music following a decade away from the industry releases this her Greatest Hits collection on the back of the success of the hughely successful Hear & Now rewined tour. The album is fresh from start to finish and will want u craving more, it inculdes all the massive hits and a fab new dance track Loved which ia gem and unheard hit in my opinion as well as two great club remixes of her hits Kids In America and View From A Bridge. This woman was most differantly born to be Miss Wilde!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Some good tracks on here but mixed with some i could do without.
Cambodia always my favourite.
Worth buying the album for the Best tracks.
Kids in America always takes me back in time when i hear it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Close
£11.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)