Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
11
3.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
4
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2007
I would disregard the first review of this CD and skip straight to the second. This CD is wonderful. For those that want a more traditional, classic Christmas this is the one to get. Sit by a roaring fireside under the twinkling lights of the christmas tree, mulled wine in one hand, mince pie in the other and this music playing in the background. Truly magical!

My favourites on the 2 CD's (bargain!) are Dean Martin's "It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas", Louis Armstrong's "Zat you Santa Claus" and Frank Sinatra's "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas".

The quality of the music is as good as you can get when the recordings are so old. It's not crackly and inaudible however, just full of charm.

You really can't go wrong purchasing this! Merry Christmas!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2006
Don't buy this CD. The sound quality is absolutely appalling -- it's as if someone is holding a microphone to a cheap radio with bad reception. Dreadful, absolutely waste of money even though it is cheap. (I'd give it ``minus'' stars if I could.)
22 comments| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2007
I really dont understand the last reviewers negative comments. True, these recordings arent modern quality ... GOOOOOOD !. These were recorded well over 50 years ago, what do you expect ?. For me, this adds to the experience.
These recordings are good quality, not like some of those rediculous Rat Pack
sets you get, which are live & terrible quality. Most are studio recordings & some are songs lifted from live recordings of festive radio shows (still recorded in a studio). I love this 3 cd set, just pop it on, on Christmas morning ... Perfect.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
...the other two being:

Now That's What I Call Xmas (or similar);
Best Christmas Carols...Ever!, the (or similar)

This one's something special though. It contains some of the greatest singers, musicians and songwriters the world has ever known, among them - Nat King Cole, Louis Armstrong, Frank Sinatra and not forgetting the "unnerving unswerving Irving Berlin". Put it on and at once you will feel as though the snow's 2 feet thick outside, there's a roaring log fire in your living room and Bing Crosby's about to call round with a bottle of brandy and a box of mince pies. The sound is no longer coming from your CD or MP3 player, but from your grandmother's radiogram.

The spoken-word interludes (possibly from original live TV or radio performances, maybe even well known ones? I don't know myself) add to the atmosphere - an ambience and warmth oddly similar to Kraftwerk's Radio-Activity.

For a compilation, the album is unusually cohesive. It sounds like a collaborative studio project recorded in one session. It almost certainly wasn't (though some of the pieces may be related?) and maybe (or maybe not) a lot of the songs were recorded in Los Angeles in July...or something. Which just goes to show how good the production is.

You can't force magic.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2008
I agree with the other positive comments. This is a magical cd choc full of christmas classics. The sound quality only adds to the experience of listening to these wonderful songs.
I can 100% recommend this cd to anyone who gets excited at the prospect of christmas, and please do not let the negative comment put you off!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2008
I have bought a Crooners at Christmas cd before where the sound quality was appalling ~ THIS cd on the other hand isn't like that! Yes, occasionally you get a hiss or crackle but on the whole the sound quality is amazing considering the age of the recordings.

I love this cd, it is extremely atmospheric, like stepping back in time and listening to an old radio broadcast ~ I love some of the talky-bits that have been captured.

If you have any taste in Christmas music then you won't let this cd pass you by!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
I treated my daughter and myself to this cd. We both spent many happy hours listerning to these cd's over the Christmas period.

Worth every penny - Highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
I love the way these guys did Christmas songs. But if you do too, please avoid this CD. It is a collection of extremely poor quality recordings culled from what sounds like 1950s Radio and TV shows.

Studio recording technology at the time was far better than this bootlegged fare. Listen to Frank Sinatra's 1950s albums with Nelson Riddle: the quality is stunning; they knew what they were doing. You are much better going for a collection culled from the official studio recordings, rather than this shoddy offering. It is telling that no session dates or studio information is included on the sleeve. Look for an album where this information is available!

I don't mind crackly or vintage, but that isn't what you're getting here. What you're getting here is insulted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I know its a bit soppy but I love playing this throughout the Xmas season, a great collection of those male singers like Dean Martin, Nat King Cole and Bing Crosby.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2008
Like the previous reviewer, I'd advise people to stay well clear of this particular recording.

The sound quality is abysmal. Avoid.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)