Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
36
4.6 out of 5 stars
The Twelve Inch Singles
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 December 2016
Just a couple of points here. One is that the CD packaging is pretty flimsy, the card wallet does not offer much protection for the CDs, In fact this purchase is to replace a previous one which became scratched by grit that was in the sealed package when shipped. This one is clean but care is still recommended when removing or replacing the CDs. My second point is that Amazon's download cuts a few seconds off the end of some tracks quite noticeably, so I found it necessary to rip mp3s from the discs instead.

Otherwise this is a fantastic collection worthy of five stars. All the original 12"s and their b-sides are here in chronological and original running order. If you had the 12"s originally there may still be some surprises depending on which releases you had... my copy of "Down In The Subway" didn't include a 12" version, and I didn't get Her Imagination with "Soul Inside". Some of these versions have significantly more songwriting content than the shorter versions. As a strictly 12" compilation you don't get any 7" only content, so no A Man Could Get Lost or Mutant Moments for example. Filling up the three discs to capacity are the 1991 remixes which I find somewhat inconsistent in quality, however the Grid remix of Memorabilia is certainly worthy of inclusion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
I was a huge fan of Soft Cell back in the day (still am), and one thing that you could always guarantee, courtesy of Mr Almond and Mr Ball, was a good twelve-incher! Stand out tracks (in my humble opinion) are the extended versions of Bedsitter, Say Hello Wave Goodbye, Torch, and Where the Heart is, but blimey, Soft Cell put out some darned memorable B-Sides too, and they're here, in all of their full-length glory; Insecure Me and It's a Mugs Game remain two of my favourite Soft Cell tracks to this very day. Overall, a must-have purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
I just want to give this 3CD 12" compilation from Soft Cell a big thumbs up. Great to hear extended versions of so many quality songs and I really value this record. I would regard it as a must for the Soft Cell enthusiast. Attractive package but no booklet included. Often one of the best tracks are left off collections like this but all the favourites appear to have been included on here. I only usually review albums which have made a big impression on me so that says it all. Not cheap but you get what you pay for and this album is real class.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2016
What can I say? The vinyl 12 inch singles can now stay safely in their covers. If you like Soft Cell in the 7 inch, you'll love the 12 inch versions. They're not just stretched out and repetitive like other 12 inches, they are a masterpieces with additional words and beautiful instrumental additions e.g. 'Say Hello, Wave Goodbye'. Wonderful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMEon 26 November 2001
I couldn't afford the £70 plus box set of Soft Cell's singles I saw in 1990; so it is nice that they are collected on this screaming good value boxset. The Cell made some epic classics- and to capture the full versions, on something that isn't worn vinyl is splendid...Disc one offers the fall- Daniel Miller produced trash fantasy 'Memorabilia'- and it's b-side 'Persuasion', which picks up where the Human League's 'Life Kills' left off. Do I need to mention 'Tainted Love/Where Did Our Love Go'? The extended 'Bedsitter'captures the existential joy of nightime pleasures and pains; remember, it was a bigger hit in Spain than 'Tainted Love'. Its flip 'Facility Girls' is not as good (where is 'A Man Could Get Lost'?). 'Say Hello, Wave Goodbye' is probably the best pop song of all time, here is the extended overhaul- a cinematic epic on a scale that feels like Fassbinder & Sirk fighting for control of 'A Star is Born'. Lovely. The b-side is the Marc & the Mambas track, 'Fun City' (originally released with 'Sleaze')and sounds like early The The ('Mental Healing Process'; 'Another Boy Drowning', 'Cold Spell Ahead'). Disc Two begins with the 8-min plus 'Torch'; one of the best pop songs of all time. 'Insecure Me' sounds a little throwaway now- this is the kind of song they perfected as 'The Art of Falling Apart'. Both 'Where the Heart Is' & 'Numbers' are under-rated singles, the latters b-side 'Barriers' is almost up there with 'Youth'. Disc Three begins with the industrial meltdown of 'Soul Inside'and continues with a reworking of 'Loving You Hating Me' (a lost single) and some Bond-covers (pre-dating Barry Adamson's foray into soundtracks). 'Her Imagination' is from a BBC session and captures Soft Cell in their messy deconstruction from pop to Suicide do R'n'B on the worst drugs. Disturbing...'Down in the Subway' was their last single (until 'Divided Souls', fingers crossed)and here we have an epic take not dissimilar to the Foetus-assisted 'A Million Manias' on 'Torment & Toreros'. Pity 'Surrender (to a Stranger) wasn't chosen! Still, the thrash thru Johnny Thunders 'Born to Lose' and the awesome Depeche Mode pre-dating 'Disease & Desire' show no drop in quality. The rest of the cd is taken up with Grid remixes & reworkings for the best of Marc Almond & soft Cell from 1991...So, a nice completist collection for those that want more than the upcoming 'Greatest Hits'. The only problem is the quality in the new Cell-songs ('D.Souls', 'Monoculture', 'Somebody sometime', the prequel to 'Say Hello'), which will add to the obligatory singles captured here. Give yourself a reminder!
11 Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2001
This collection brings together every single from the greatest Electro-Pop band of the 80's, and everyone of them is the full, 12 inch Monty, available on CD for the first time in the UK. (Why the Americans and Germans got them is not explained!)
With the possible exception of Say Hello Wave Goodbye, every Soft Cell 12" comprises of two specially mixed for the format versions of great pop songs. Not for them the easy route their peers took of sellotaping the instrumental into the middle of the vocal version.
From the immortal Tainted Love right through to the poignant Barriers, here is a collection of Marc Almond's tales of loneliness and depravity all wrapped up in Dave Ball's silky electronic tracks, contrasting with some excellent Trumpet and Horn parts.
With the duo re-formed for forthcoming shows around the UK and Europe, there's never been a better time for 30 somethings to dig out the eye-liner, put on this album, and bop round your lounge pretending it's the bedsit you had when you were still young!!
And if you're new to Soft Cell, simply buy this compilation as the definitive 80's electonic dance collection.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2008
if your wondering - here is the track list with times (Discs 1,2 & 3)

1. Memrobilia (Extended) 7:39
2. Persuasion 7:35
3. Tainted Love / Where Did Our Love Go? (Extended) 8:57
4. Tainted Love / Where Did Our Love Go? 9:14
5. Bedsitter (Extended) 7:52
6. Facility Girls (12" Single Extended Version) 7:17
7. Say Hello, Wave Goodbye (Extended Version) 8:56
8. Fun City 7:33

1. Torch (Extended) 8:29
2. Insecure Me (Extended) 8:16
3. What! (Extended Version - Original 12" Edit) 6:10
4. So (Extended Version) 8:51
5. Where The Heart Is (12" Version) 9:46
6. It's A Mug's Game 8:11
7. Numbers (12" Version) 10:25
8. Barriers 7:10

1. Soul Inside (12" Mix) 11:59
2. Loving You Hating Me (12" Version) 6:40
3. You Only Live Twice (12" Version) 6:58
4. 007 Theme 3:35
5. Her Imagination 5:20
6. Down In The Subway (12" Version) 7:50
7. Disease And Desire 4:04
8. Born To Loose 2:56
9. Memrobilia ('91 Grid Remix) 6:51
10. Tainted Love (91' Mendelsohn Remix) 5:52
11. Say Hello, Wave Goodbye ('91 Mendelsohn Remix) 5:04
12. Where The Heart Is (The Grid Remix) 8:43
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2010
Great album with all the remixes for such a short time together soft cell had some great tracks. Pure 80s sounds with some hidden treasures
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
Brilliant. All the 12" singles I grew up with. Plus one's that I never knew existed!
Well worth buying even for casual fans like my self.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Amazing..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)