Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
54
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2010
I remember the Police story films from old vhs tapes and now on dvd they are still awesome! (Not a word I use often). Jackie Chan directs as well as stars in this movie and the stunts he peforms are truly death defying and outrageous!
If you watch this film for the first time you will see how much it has influenced later directors. The opening smash through the shanty town is later recreated in Bad Boys 2, the comedy, action mix is like Beverley Hills Cop and it is all done with a rough and ready feel that Bourne does exceptionally well.
This dvd doesnt have any extras or an option to listen in Cantonese but it is good value.
Anyone who doesnt watch asian films regularly will probably find it a bit strange going from extreme violence to really broad comedy but it is becoming more of the norm, I would compare the tone to that of the Transporter movies.
Watch Jackie Chan hitch a ride on a double decker bus with an umbrella, smash through tons of glass and perform some of the best fights of his career, also, make sure you get Police Story 2 - it is even better!
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
I watched Police Story several times and still wanted to watch more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
Such a good film, defiantly one to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
great dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2017
love JC
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2010
if you are a fan of Jackie Chan then you have got to get this, its worth watching for the fight sequence in the shopping center at the end.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
2 great movies from a great martial artist amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2010
Jackie Chan sets the standard for his career in Police Story. If you like his films this should be the one to buy out of all of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2001
All I can do is reiterate the views of other reviewers! Superb DVD - at last a distributor who gives us EVERYTHING, nothing cut AND with the option to view in original Cantonese (with Jackie) or an English dubbed version (which isn't bad, except they use the name "Jackie Chan" instead of Chan Kar Kui for Jackie's character, which I find a bit irritating)! There is beautifully choreographed action all the way and amazing opening and closing stunts by Jackie and his stunt team. The story also has great comedy and dramatic elements and deserved its Best Picture Award at the Hong Kong Film Awards. I loved the "mock fight" between Jackie and his stuntman Mars, so they could convince the female witness to move out of her house! The bonus materials are also terrific with an indepth interview by Jackie about the film and the stunts, especially the slide down the electric pole stunt at the end. If there is one Jackie Chan DVD a fan must have, this particular one is it. We also have more to look forward to next year from the same distributor!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2010
An avid fan of Jackie, this has been seen in our house a hundred times, but now on DVD. Fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)