Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13


on 2 October 2017
I am guessing that this has remained in relative obscurity in the long list of Rossini operas because of its length (nearer to 4 hours than 3) large number of principal soloists and thereby the sheer cost of staging it. It was due to the impending ROH production and prohibitive cost of the seats that I decided to research it to see if it would be worth the money. And thus my efforts lead me to this now relatively old Met production. Well it may be nearly 30 years since this staging but the impact is in no way diminished. What a range of talent was here assembled. June Andersen, Marylyn Horne and Samuel Ramey in particular in peak form, but so too the lesser but no less impressive parts. And the orchestra too. Says a lot that a 1990's recording can be so vibrant and stunning even using the latest Blu Ray player and Surround sound. My only criticism is that the set is standard Met "stand and deliver" performances, but that was typical of that time we must accept.This recording does justice to a Rossini masterpiece. I cannot imagine how a cast such as assembled here can again be matched.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2014
Fantastic singing by all the major singers: Anderson, Horne, Ramsey, Olsen. Anderson is the equal of Sutherland in this role in this performance. Horne made the part of Arsarce famous and this performance tells you why. The blend of Anderson and Horne's voices is fantastic, as good as that with Sutherland. Ramsey is fantastic: a lyrical and dramatic bass and Olsen is an extremely agile tenor. The costumes are some of the most beautiful opera costumes I have ever seen and I worked in the costume department at the Met with Zefferelli and Peter Hall back when. The sets are very elegant and restrained and really set the mood of Assyria. A truly lavish production without a dull moment in more than 3 hours. A Rossini masterpiece along with Il Barbiere, Armide, Tancredi, William Tell, and many others. A jewel to be enjoyed for a lifetime. For the reference CD recording see Sutherlan/Horne Decca:Rossini: Semiramide
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2011
I bought this without knowing the story or the music because I have a strong liking for June Anderson, not to say a strong liking for Rossini.
I could not have made a better choice, June Andersons voice is really put to the test as The Queen, and is not found wanting. As an added bonus Samuel Ramey is singing here at the height of his power. Marylin Hornes Mezzo is powerful as the young pretender, and Stanford Olsen is a bright and listenable tenor. I should also like to hear more of Youngok Shin, but at present I cannot find her on DVD.
The chorus and orchestra are excellent as one would expect from The Met.
Sets are interesting and appropriate, with smooth changes. The costumes vary from beautiful for the ladies to impressive for the men.
The music is, apart from a couple of pieces, unfamiliar to me, but is typical Rossini, very listenable, well interpreted, but not perhaps one where one starts hummimg an aria afterwards. More dramatic say!
The extensive booklet tells one all one needs to know about the plot, the arias and the timings. There are articles on Rossini, The Production, and the leading performers.
I thoroughly recommend this DVD.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2013
This Semiramide has three voices to die for. June Anderson was at the top of her game when this was recorded; she had a gorgeous voice with a belcanto technique to match. Samuel Ramey was that rare breed, a true lyric bass with the necessary technique to handle the huge vocal demands of Rossini. The tenor, Stanford Olsen, had a phenomenal range and sails into the high c's and d's with consummate ease. I heartily recommend this version of Semiramide to anyone who cares about Rossini's operatic music being sung by singers who can truly rise to the outrageous vocal demands. This is the version for you!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2016
well well waited a long time to get this dvd and boy what a fabulous treat
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2011
This is the best of my very large collection of DVD operas. It is rare to find so many stars in one production, a fantastically lavish and effective period set and a great work to round it off. Buy this if you like opera - and buy it if you don't, as a test (if you don't like this, you probably won't like opera at all.)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2015
I would recommend this disc to opera lovers for its quality of singing, staging and acting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2016
Very happy with product and service, Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2014
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2013
This is a well produced opera, a bit dated and lacking consistency in its music. Only buy, at quite an expensive price, if you really need it.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Rossini: Semiramide
£12.95
Rossini: Semiramide
£17.46

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)