Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
21
4.9 out of 5 stars
Oasis: Live By The Sea [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 31 July 2017
10/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
This DVD shows the band when they were at the top and before the jealousy came to the fore. Brilliant performance
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
Consider that this was before WTSMG and Masterplan was released yet there are live versions of those songs on here goes to show how many songs Noel had ready at his disposal.

Of all the Live DVD's there are, it's really only this one, and the Manchester gig (Disc 2) of Lord Don't Slow Me Down that gives these guys the full justice they deserve, and the ones that you'll be reaching for come midnight after a session out.

So, buy it. And play it, loud. And a bit louder still.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2001
Between albums one and two, this concert, down at the cliffs overlooking the beach at Southend catches the raw energy in a smallish venue that Oasis were soon to outgrow. No inflatables or other attractions other than a sweaty crowd and the fantastic tunes of Noel Gallagher. A must for the Oasis fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2001
Should I try to describe a perfect thing?
Recorded live at the Cliffs Pavilion, Southend-On-Sea on 17 Abril 1995, and produced by Phil Barnes, this show includes fantastic performances of the main Oasis' successes: "Live Forever", "Some Might Say", "Cigarettes and Alcohol", "Supersonic", "Acquiesce" and "Rock'n Roll Star". To complete, the Beatles' cover "I Am The Walrus", other good tracks like "Columbia", "Up In The Sky", "Sad Song" and much more! The Gallagher brothers, Liam and Noel, were simply spectacular in this first live work released, based on the first Oasis' album: Definitely Maybe. Is it important to you know how everything started? Here you are! The begin of all! It's a must for you, a big fan of the phenomenon called Oasis!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2002
A day I'll remember for a long, long time...
Not only was I lucky enough to get a ticket for the concert itself, but I was one of the VERY fortunate first 500 to phone up and therefore get a bonus ticket to take part in the shooting of the Rock n Roll Star video in the afternoon preceding the concert.
Which was nice.
By the way, the boot was thrown by a mate of mine. His name's Dean. He said his foot was itching off and just HAD to do something about it. Still doesn't quite explain why he felt he had to share it with Liam, but there you go.
Summary: Top gig, well captured, buy it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2009
This live show was just brilliant starting excitedly with Rock'n Roll star to finishing still with lots of energy with I am the Walrus.

Song highlights would be I would say are Live forever, Some might say, Headshrinker, Up in the sky and Aquiesce which around the time was quite new which is why the fans don't chant the chorus like they would in later tours when it became a heavyweight track that should have been a A-side.

I aslo enjoyed Noel's acoustic solo set to which would bethe norm years to come.

Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2000
Top! I bought this in last june (1999) and from then I have been watching this on every day since then. That storming sound (guitars & Liam's singing) just make want to rock! The top moment/song of this video is definitely Cigarettes & Alcohol. The music keeps on rockin' and the crowd is simply going crazy on that song. I ordered the other live video from Oasis, There And Then about a month ago (the end of January) and now I'm waiting it (really excited). But still if you're an Oasis fan, you have to get Live By The Sea in yer collection. Mad Fer It!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
Great DVD, takes me back to when I was a teenager getting into Oasis and starting to learn the guitar. The show catches Oasis at their best, after Definitely Maybe and before Whats the Story, it has loads of great energy and the Southend crowd add to the atmosphere. Big highlight is Noel's acoustic set half way through the show. Would love to see it remastered for Blu Ray but great as it is!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2000
Recorded some 6 months before the release of Oasis' most succesful album "(what's the story)morning glory) the majoritie of the tracks on this video are from defently maybe and b-sides from the singles releases prior to the performance. The crowd is not huge and the atmosphere not of the standard you would asochiate with an oasis concert today but, in my opinion its one of their best perfromances. Liam is not very load (although there are 1 or 2 moments) and it really is all about the music. It also includes a funny moment when noel "... that right up" half way though "d'yer wanna be a spaceman?". All this plus not only their best every b-side but possable there best every track "aquiesce" and a very good slow song called "sad song" which I cannot find on any of there cd singles,albums or videos so I think this is possably the only place it can be heard so, an exclusive as well. If you are even a bit tempted to buy it, do so because if you like oasis, particually their earlier stuff, you will NOT be disipointed!!(thats a promise)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)