Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
18
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£24.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2017
Very enjoyable album at a much better price than the same album under Paul Heptons name.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2001
with the beautiful south paul heaton wrote some of the finest pop songs britain has ever seen and now with joe strummer's backing band he is doing it all over again the perfect example is mitch: a country-esque story of a bachelor heaton has side-stepped a mid-life crisis and made a smashing album lew kirk
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2003
Absolutely fantastic, I bought this album on a whim!! What a great whim!!!! I bought the album about 2 months ago, thought it sounded good then, now i just can not stop listening to it.
First song that caught my attention was "Mitch", it then moved on to be "10 Lessons in love", now 2 months down the line it is "Poems".
The guy is a genius!! If you like Beautiful South you'll like this album, if you don't like Beautiful South- you will absolutely love this album.
Everyone of my friends that has heard my copy of this album has bought their own copy.
Can't believe this didn't get into the charts- "what do the charts really stand for now anyway?" Would be a good question to ask here, i reckon!!
You really should by this album it's brill!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2001
Let's be fair, no one is doing anything like Yorkshire's finest since Weller lost the plot after "Stanley Road". The supposed lyrical geniuses like Mr Gallagher and Mr Albarn can't measure up to a man whose managed to maintain the quality with the width, simply by staying on the outside of London town and the huge mansions. He hasn't been without his upsets, "Painting it Red" was one, but with this album PDH is back to his jaunty and cynical best. Pointing out your experiences and twisting them to a beat that has you humming the tune is this his forte. If you like your music to reflect your feelings at any given moment in your life and make you think while your tapping along then BUY THIS ALBUM! It deserves a lot better than it has got in terms of publicity. My own gauge is the amount of copies flying around Yorkshire right now.........
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2011
I am a big fan of Paul Heaton and rate him as a fine wordsmith and singer.
This album, discovered by accident is fab. The tunes are quirky and upbeat and the
lyrics are great too. "Mitch" is my favourite song so far, can't stop singing it but there are other tracks which are equally as good.
If you are a fan - buy this album today!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2001
It's a pity "Fat Chance" had such a low key release because it contains some of Paul Heaton's best songs since The Beautiful South's "Miaow". Lyrically, Heaton continues to mix personal with political, commenting on everything from idealised relationships ("Perfect Couple") to media moguls and their narrow news agendas ("Mans World")and salvation seekers ("If"). As usual, though, his best moments are introspective. "Poems" is a perfectly penned unpicking of the writer's perceived deficiencies in both love and art. A song with the most gentle and understated momentum, it is beautifully aided by Zoe Johnston's comely vocals. The sounds are more playful than a lot of TBS's recent output, especially on "Mans World" and "Barstool" where Heaton mixes Buggles and Air to give himself an altogther more chilled vocal presence. Special mention for Sharon Eusebe, who's tennis match duet with Heaton on "Perfect Couple" begs to be witnessed live - complete with horn section and the wicked line, "when that bald guy sang You Sexy Thing, both of our pants just dropped". Heaton continues to do great work on the enigmatic margins of the pop world and consistently eeks bright and bouncy hope from the mundane, muttering and melancholy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
Having seen Paul Heaton support Squeeze in Leeds recently, I had a little look around for some of his solo stuff. I bought the Housemartins first album on vinyl as soon as it was released and have been a fan of everything Paul Heaton has done since. This is a great album, as always catchy tunes, powerful lyrics and delivered as only Paul Heaton can.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
Fat Chance was an album i came across by pure accident, i didnt even know Paul Heaton had done it, until i heard it. This is right up there with his best ever music in my view.

I listen to it nearly as much as TBS never getting bored with it. Excellent and a 10 out of 10 recommendation from me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2001
As the brains behind the Beautiful South, PdH was always going to have a hard act to follow in his solo incarnation, and comparisons with TBS are inevitable. Of course, lyrically he is almost peerless, to my mind the lyrics are paramount when listening to a Paul Heaton record, as the jaunitiness of the tune can often decieve. I would place him in the category of (an altogether happier) Nick Cave, or Ian Curtis. The problem is that he does not dress his lyrics up in metaphor, they are blunt, yet cut like knives, and that can cause some critics to miss the subtext of many songs.
This album sounds like The South crossed with The Housemartins in places, noteably 'Man, Woman, Boy, Girl', which is also a prefect example of the lyrical bluntness ('Every man in this world thinks hes got a big nose / or a slightly under average sized knob'). The album has sold poorly, due to, I believe, several things. Firstly there was more pre-release publicity for the last Freddy Kruger movie than this album, and it was probably easier to get hold of a signed first edition of the Bible than 'Fat Chance'. Also 'Mitch' was not the best song on the album, that is definitely 'Poems', and the vocal on the single was probably not distinctively Heatonesque to many radio listeners.
The sound of the album does confuse, as there is nothing here that could not be done on a TBS record. When I heard Heaton was doing a solo album, I thought it would be mining his soul influences, not going down the pop lane again. That said, if this were a South album, it would rank as one of the best, up with 'Miaow' and 'Painting it Red'. Heaton deserves all the credit and praise in the world for this album, as far as biscuits go, this is a Jammy Dodger, far more tasty and filling than the boring old Digestive Creams in the charts at the moment
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
i came across this album by accident. Being a Beautiful south fan i have grown to love Paul Heatons voice.
This album i believe is a good mix of traditional tone you woud expect with a typical Beautiful Souh song and then a few slightly diffrent . This is a great little find
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)