Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
62
4.8 out of 5 stars
Mendelssohn: 5 Symphonies, 7 Overtures (DG Collectors Edition)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£18.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 April 2015
What an exhilarating box of treats! Firstly, what an amazing tribute to the man who accomplished so much in his youth! Practically, half of the contents of this box were written before Mendelssohn was out of his teens. This includes a really good symphony that outshines many mature composers' first efforts at symphonic writing. The Scherzo in G minor is a setting for orchestra of a movement of the Octet and Mendelssohn used this as an alternative movement in the First Symphony.The Trumpet Overture and the Overture for Wind Instruments deserve to be better known. They are very good and totally enjoyable. Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage is less well known than The Hebrides Overture but both are beautifully rendered here. There are two more overtures written in the 1830s - 'The Fair Melusina' which again has the sound of the sea, and the overture 'Ruy Blas' which has some undertones of Berlioz. Then there are the symphonies of Mendelssohn's mature years. He does not seem to have liked his 'Reformation' Symphony and it did not get published until after his death. However it has lot of music in it that is worth hearing. The 'Italian' and the 'Scottish' Symphonies are very popular works and Claudio Abbado with the London Symphony Orchestra play them fittingly beautifully. I particularly like the performance of the slow movement of the 'Scottish'. The pinnacle of this box set may well be the 'Hymn of Praise' (Lobgesang)- effectively both a cantata and a symphony - lasting more than seventy minutes - all the elements are brought effectively together - the London Symphony Chorus, the soloists and the orchestra - a fitting conclusion to this treasury of the works of Mendelssohn.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I've had this Abbado recording of the Italian Symphony for many years on a DG sampler. For that reason I didn't buy this box set a long time ago, thinking I'd find alternative recordings of the other symphonies worth owning without duplicating that performance. The Italian Symphony is deservedly the most popular of these works but Abbado and the LSO give lyrical and energetic performances of all five symphonies. The overtures are equally fine and as far as I know no other Mendelssohn collection offers such a comprehensive collection of his best orchestral music. Throughout the recording quality is clear and spacious.

Strongly recommended - don't put off buying this set like I did as you won't find a better set of Mendelssohn symphonies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
Mendelssohn 5 symphonies & 7 overtures.
This is a wonderful selection of the symphonic works of Mendelssohn. The second symphony is very impressive and full marks to the
choir and soloists. Claudio Abado and the orchestra cannot be faulted in the performances and for anyone wishing to be introduced
to the works of Mendelssohn I would unreservedly recommend this 4 CD set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Beautifully performed - wonderful sound from the orchestra. I can now listen to Mendelssohn's symphonies with renewed interest. Love the Hebrides Overture at the slower tempo.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Wonderful so enjoyable what a great set of CD's
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2017
Brilliant! Good quality recording of superb music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
A superb collection, as one would expect from Abbado and the LSO, at an exceptional price. No need to look elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
Very good value to get so much music for such a reasonable price. Very fine recordings too - nothing to dislike at all, just enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2012
This wonderful boxed-set comprises a grand total of 4 CD's featuring Mendelssohn's entire Symphonic output (Nos. 1 - 5), whilst also managing to squeeze in his seven Overtures for good measure. Felix's third Symphony ("Scottish") and fourth Symphony ("Italian") are probably the most widely performed pieces nowadays, but nonetheless it has been quite interesting for me to familiarise myself with some of his lesser known works.
If you are reading this review, it is likely that you may well be familiar with some of Mendelssohn's more popular Overtures such as "A Midsummer Night's Dream" or "The Hebrides" (commonly referred to as "Fingal's Cave") for example, whilst not forgetting to mention "Ruy Blas" etc. At the time, the London Symphony Orchestra were at the top of their game under the masterful baton of Claudio Abbado and at no point during exhaustive listening sessions to these exceptional recordings can I find fault with the musical interpretations of these works.
Incidentally, the recording venues were especially chosen for their renowned acoustics by Deutsche Grammophon's exacting sound engineers and include those found at the respective churches of All Saints, Tooting, S.W. London and St. John's, Smith Square central London, as well as Walthamstow's Town Hall in east London. Personally, I would not hesitate for one moment to highly recommend these delightful discs to anyone considering the purchase of Mendelssohn's Symphonic output. In all honesty I regard this boxed-set of CD's as a genuine bargain, because the total cost amounted to just over £14.00 inc P&P, which works out at roughly £3.50 per disc. In conclusion I feel sure you will enjoy these recordings so purchase with absolute confidence.
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2016
This is a Collector edition including the five symphonies of Mendelssohn and some shorter pieces (Overtures, etc,) in a wonderful performing (Abbado and LSO). Even there should be some individual recordings of the same quality or better, I proffered this complete box, one reason being that, yes, I love Abbado. Of course, some symphonies are famous, while some others are performed more rarely (the first, for example). The sound is very good and the price is fair. Unfortunately, the booklet does not contain the lyrics of the Second Symphony, which I consider to be a lack for a collector edition. Five stars for the music, but only four stars for DG.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)