Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
7
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2001
In the impressive style of Tristanias album "Beyond the veil" the norwegians have made another masterpiece. In many songs the beautiful female voice and choruses steps into the front. But don't fear, intense growling can be heard in a song like "Hatred Grows". The tempo rarely goes beyond midtempo and is often quite slow and heavy. It's really a question of the beauty and the beast. The contrasts between soft and hard is the yin and yang of music and Tristania understands this well. This is Symphonic Gothic Black Metal at it's very best. Norway really has cornered the market with this kind of music. Apart from Tristania there's also Dismal Euphony, The Sins Of Thy Beloved and Trail Of Tears. If you're into this kind of music this is a must!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2004
Tristania's latest album has modernised with the times leaving slower albums such as Widow's Weeds far behind, but the band has still stuck aggressively to its roots. This album provides us with a larger than life sound, with many more melodies, and a huge backing choir which weaves it's way in and out of the songs, being compared only to an up-to-date Therion. This is a definate must for any Gothic metallers out there, or just for anyone who feels like a change from their gloomy pasttimes!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2005
This album blew me away! Its probably one of the most conceptually complex albums I've ever heard but they pull it off with ease. They manage to make seamless transitions between soft and heavy, further helped by each of the three vocalists contributing a very different style. Fans of Nightwish and Lacuna Coil should love this but to compare Tristania to them would be very narrow minded. This is a band unlike any other goth rock I've ever heard.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2007
'World of Glass' by Tristania is easily their best. I love 'Ashes' and 'Illumination' but this album is where i feel they soared. Compared to earlier albums World og Glass is so much more developed with extra influences - a lot more classical. Dramatic choirs, eerie melodies and the beutiful voice of Vibeke Stene, accompained by male clean vocals and male screams/growls, makes this album stick out from the pack of Female-fronted symphonic/Gothic Metal. The Lyrics are dark and thought-provoking and inspirational and the stories within the songs are amazing - especially 'The Shining Path'. The musical technicality is equally good. The album is astonishing and is my all tme favorite.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2007
I bought this album out of the blue about a year ago. I'm still listening to it as if I had just bought it. The songs are very atmospheric, my personal favourites being The Shining Path, Deadlocked and Lost. World Of Glass is also an amazing song.

Buy it. While you're at it, buy a few extra copies, in case you lose the ones you bought before.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2009
Classic goth atlast, amazing tranquil solitude oozes out of you when listening to this album.

Amazing voices - guy that has a superb heavy/hard voice
girl that has a very soft clear beautiful voice

if you like 80s and organmusic and dont like the usual more heavy goth, do try this if you need something new to listen to, it is amazing.

I must admit im a big fan of most of the goth lineage out there, whether it is rocky goth or smooth classic goth or alternative goth or even shockrock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
I got into Tristania in 2006 after buying Illumination.
I bought this album last year and it is true, it is a stunning peice of musical history.
The shinning path, Lost, Deadlocked the list goes on. When you have those days when you just can`t decide what to listen to, World of Glass is what you settle for, it just doesn`t let you down. The Angelic vocals of Vibeke are almost Ghostly, icy, strikingty attractive to the ears.
If i could listen to only one album till i die, this would be that album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.48

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)