Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
30
Live In Hyde Park (Amaray) [DVD] [2001]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 November 2014
Best DVD I've seen of Eric, he seems to be enjoying the occasion more than usual. The backing band are superb & are not overshadowed or in awe they are all fellow band members. For a 1996 concert it is relatively well filmed and the sound is fine, looks like it was I should have been there moment.
As the song selection shows it is predominantly a blues outing and non the worse for it.
I particularly like "I shot the sheriff" but you will have to pick your own favourites.
I marked it down a star as it is only 89 minutes long and I could have listened to more at this standard, Eric take note give value and enjoy the moment.
Special thanks to Zoverstocks on a very prompt quality service.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2014
I have no idea what other reviewers are complaining about ? I have some other concert dvds of Eric Clapton and I have to say that this 1996 Hyde Park one is streets ahead of them as regards sound/picture quality and the over all performance of Clapton and his great band line up.Some great blues numbers along with his more well known stuff make up a really good set and I certainly wasn't in the least disappointed in this most enjoyable dvd.5 stars all day long !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2005
To put this concert DVD in perspective, Eric Clapton headlined a gig at Hyde Park in which he followed acts such as Jools Holland, Bob Dylan (with Ronnie Wood) and The Who (for whom this was their first gig together since Live Aid, I believe, and to whom the day really belonged). I know this because I was there (and I am fortunate that I can be seen on the cover of this DVD), and remember vividly that I turned to my friend after the Who finished their first ever complete live performance of their Quadrophenia album and said, "Much as I love Eric, he could never top that. The Who should have been the headline act." Eric, if you ever read this I'm sorry I doubted you...
Clapton strode onto the stage as if it was his own living room and blew everything that went before him away with a blistering set containing most of his classics. Opening with the Acoustic version of Layla he then delivered (amonst others) Badge, Wonderful Tonight, White Room, Have you ever loved a woman and Holy Mother. The set highlights were Five Long Years and I Shot the Sheriff, delivered with real passion and dynamics. The latter's solo built and built with fire and intensity.
Put simply, if you are a fan of Clapton this is one concert you must hear! It is well known that Eric has frustrated some of his fans over the years with inconsistent studio outings, but the real essence of the man can always be found live on stage where he thrives, and on this night he really performed! No inconsistencies here - Buy it!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2017
One of his best live concerts. Had this on VHS for years and decided to upgrade.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2010
ive been listening to the blues for the last year or so now almost none stop. and for the majority of that time its been clapton!! i simply love his guitar playing!!! theres nobody, nobody out there that comes anywhere near to him in terms of fluency and just pure ability. its unfair really! oh, and he's a good singer as well!!

this performance is simply amazing!! starts off with a nicely paced acoustic layla, which in place of the customary guitar solo, there is a trumpet solo, which is absolutely amazing! i couldnt help but smile when he started playing! but then that ends eric immediately launches into an acoustic solo which is just perfect! i shot the sherriff is unusually raggae, but still good! it doesnt come anywhere near to the way hes been doin it for the past few years which is a bit more bluesy, with a 4-5 minute guitar solo, but its good none the less!
it hurts me too and wonderful tonight are both just perfect! five long years has a long guitar solo, piano solo and harmonica solo! simply amazing!
tearin' us apart... i dont know what to say about that to be perfectly honest... if that was the only song on this dvd for me id buy it at five times the price! its not a song im familiar with, but i cant stop listening to it!! its got a great beat, while the guitaring in it isn't that inventive by erics high standards, its completely irrelevant because it sounds absolutely spot on! one of the backing singers steps up half way through the song to sing some lead vocals, which adds a sort of r&b feel to the song.
old love is just, just perfect! it is absolutely amazing! the feeling he creates is amazing, and the guitar solo is perfect as well.
he then launches into two freddy king songs, im tore down and have you ever loved a woman. ive never seen him do im tore down live before, and i have to say, if theres one dissapointing song on this dvd then thats it! BUT, its only disappointing if you compare it to the album version, or the 'nothing but the blues' scorsese documentary version!! if you judge it on its own merit, then it is another fantastic song! its got a good tempo, the fact that its a freddy king song means that vocals and guitar come in more or less equal measure!
white room is just a version of white room, it will never be as good without bruce and baker! to those that don't know the song, i can imagine its a pretty good performance!

the dvd ends with holy mother as the encore. i assume that was put on the playlist for the princes trust element? it sounds very hymn-like! but clapton carries it well throughout.

sandwhiched between white room and holy mother though... is 'every day i have the blues'.. i fell in love with the 'nothing but the blues' version of this song on youtube!!!!! its very upbeat, put simply: its a foot tapper!!! anyone that likes a good blues shuffle should skip immediatly to this song via the menu, having turned their volumes up very loud and enjoy!!! the singing is perfect, the melody is perfect, the brass sections contribution is absolutely perfect, the rythem section is to absolutely die for!! and the guitar soloing.. well.. its just another 3-4 minute demonstration of why eric clapton is called the greatest guitarist in the world! first time i watched it i sat through it with a huge grin on my face tapping my foot!! and just when you think its ended, they kick off again! absolutely superb!!!

directing, sound quality, video quality are all top notch. one point is that this is 4:3! so if you have a widescreen tv youll get black/grey bars left and right! bit of a pain but as soon as the music starts youll forget about them!

put short, if you like eric clapton, get this dvd!!! in my opinion this performance is second only to the live in japan 2009 dvd! a must for any clapton dvd collection!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2016
Good value..altjhough 'skips' at beginning...but at SUCH a good price....not going to say anything negative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2018
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2016
on time intact reasonably priced
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2018
Super concert
Super sound track
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2016
Extremely good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)