Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
15
4.6 out of 5 stars


'The Golden Hum' or indeed Remy Zero was first presented to me from the Smallville theme tune. I downloaded a few of the songs and decided to buy it. I found that the tracks are explosive in lyrics and instrumental areas. There is definitly something for everyone, fast, slow, moving, Remy Zero compiles them all in 11 perfectly written tracks. A must buy for anyone who loves the American style because this group is second to none!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2002
I bought this album on the strength of one or two samples, and was expecting something average with the occasional juicy bit. How pleasantly surprised was I then, to find that this is the best album I have heard in years, and probably one of the best in my collection. From the haunting "Golden Hum" through the uplifting "Save Me", "Over the ails & Hollywood high" slaps you round the face (that's a good thing), before a return to the sublime with the likes of "Smile".
Here is a band which combines the best elements of U2, REM, Radiohead, Travis, Spacehog and Linkin Park, but has a strong enough individual sound to defy comparison with them.
I urge, I demand, I beg you to buy this album.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2002
I like many people heard Save Me on Smallville but Golden Hum was not available at the time so I went and got Villa Elaine and love it and was overwhelmed by the musical genius put into thrie latest effort. Glorius #1 is epic it has a catchy chorus but remains with a hard raw rock sound.The mid tempo Belong is another favourite with shades of the Goo Goo Dolls meets Red Hot Chilli Peppers. Save Me is a must for anyone and Bitter is a changing song and you just cant tell what direction it sheading.
A great album one I STRONGLY recommend.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2003
This is a must have album for anyone who appreciates this genre of music. I bought it after hearing 'Perfect Memory' and 'Save me' on Smallville. The rest of the album will not disappoint. 'Glorious #1' is a fantastic song, as are 'Bitter' and 'Belong'. But my two favourites are 'I'm afraid' and 'Impossibilty'. All the songs are different and there isn't one you will want to skip. You can listen to it a million times and will continue to love it as much as the first time!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2002
One of the best albums of the last 10 years! This is incredible, every track is not so much written, as crafted with unbelieveable attention to detail. The best of which is the title track, a wonderfully memorable instrumental introduction to ease you in slowly to the radience of this CD, once this track has been engraved onto your mind(in the first sitting) just let the rest wash your ears clean. This is the definiative antidote to all the manufactured/packaged music of the late 20th, early 21st century. Only now, after almost ten years do they get the recognition they deserve. Track 6-Save Me is seen on the equally brilliant antidote to Dawsons Creek, Smallville!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2004
Had never heard of them until I watched Smallville and was compelled to download the opening theme.
After that i realised how good 'impossibility', 'i'm not afraid', and 'out/in' and therefore had to buy the album
It is a really good album wihtout a bad track on it. No two tracks are the same. Well worth checking out for anyone that likes the sound of 'save me' from smallville
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 July 2006
This is a great record. On the sleeve one of the reviews says they're like 'U2 playing Radiohead covers'. Perhaps that roughly describes their sound, but they offer much, much more than being just being another U2. There isn't a bad song on the album, and, even having listened to it at least 100 times I've never tired of it. It's a pity they split as they were a talented outfit, and a lot more worthy than some of the US guitar rock outfits out there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 October 2001
Surely world domination beckons...
Yet again, another beautiful, expressive album from a band who should be now well set for better things.
They make one of the most unusual noises I have ever heard, topped off with a voice (supplied by Cinjun Tate)that could give Michael Stipe a run for his money. Including Glorious #1 and Out/In, my personal favourites at the moment, I cannot recommend this album enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2005
An absolutely brilliant album! I first heard of Remy Zero on the Stigmata Soundtrack and especially noticed the early complex Queen style on the track that appeared on that soundtrack. Every song on this album whether slow or fast has got a great melody and does not bore after repeated plays.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2013
Nothing I'm going to say hasn't been said perfectly by other reviews.
The vocals are incredible
The guitar and bass badass
The Drums are played to perfection.
The Lyrics are simple but heartwarming
And the Choruses are singalong and infectious.

If you're looking at this album because of Save Me or Perfect Memory why not buy it? what's the worse that can happen you won't find an album this good at such a cheap price anywhere else.
Seriously and it opens you up to other music genres, Because of this one album I now listen to Counting Crows, Ben Folds, Elliott Smith and Hotel Lights(Look them up too their damn good)
Guarantee within a week of having this album you'll be looking at the Awesome Villa Elaine or their haunting debut album.

So in short it's only a little money for an album that just might change your life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)