Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2017
Mr Konigsburg doing what he does best. Semi autobiographically.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2014
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2007
I recommend this box set. They're great, seminal movies and deserve a place in anyone's collection. The downside is the lack of extras or background material.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2016
Arrow Video have totally surpassed themselves with this brilliant blu ray box set of Woody Allen's films from 1971 to 1978.

It's great to have the films in pristine condition and they look great in HD, bringing out lovely colour tones and textures, making the very best of the cinematography by masters such as Gordon Willis.

This first set of six films shows Woody develop at an incredible rate from maker of brilliant comedy films to the chronicler of life, death and relationships.

Also the accompanying book is great. Each film has insightful commentary from an academic plus interviews with the director. I'd have gladly paid for this outside of the set.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2017
A must for Woody Allen fans. Simply superb - the highlights for me are Manhattan and Broadway Danny Rose. The transfers are a major improvement over the DVD releases, and the supplied hardback book is a nice touch.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2017
A great box. Fun to go through these films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
For Woody Allen lovers this Arrow collection is a good and relatively inexpensive way of updating their collections to Blu-ray.

The only reason I have not given it 5 stars is because the lip-synch in Sleeper is slightly off the mark. This is an unaccountable lapse that recurs in the third collection, where September has the same problem.

Arrow really should have addressed this issue before releasing these sets, because the DVDs are just fine.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 August 2008
This is a marvellous boxed set. Arguably the three best Woody Allen films money can buy. These still have the great one liners like his earlier 'funny' ones. However all three films in this set have considerably more emotional depth than say Sleeper or Love and Death.

Its very hard to seperate these films, but if I had to only pick one it would be Manhattan. Its as near a perfect film as I've seen. Both brilliantly written and photographed with a marvellous soundtrack of Gershwin music. However if I was writing this review on another day I might well pick Annie Hall or Hannah and Her Sisters instead. Choosing between these films is very difficult, which is what makes this set such a great buy.

Sadly none of Woody Allens best films have extras on them (yet). So by buying this set you are losing nothing. The individual films are in the slim DVD cases and this represents great value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 11 December 2016
You either are, or are not, a Woody Allen fan. I am. I know and respect many people who are not. And many more who are. If you don't know Woody Allen films then this collection is a good introductory way to get started on what for me has been virtually a lifetime's love affair with his work.

Before I get going, I should say that there really is such a thing as a Woody Allen film - aside from the fact that Woody Allen himself is in many of them and that he had long-running collaborative relationships with many of the key creative contributors (Mia Farrow, Diane Keaton, Susan E. Morse, Gordon Willis etc), all of his films have a certain feeling of warm cynicism and healthy scepticism about the nobility of the human condition. They are also, almost always, very funny comedies.

This collection of his films, from the end of the seventies through the first half of the eighties, includes one of his two masterpieces. 'Manhattan' was made shortly after his other great film, 'Annie Hall', and is a skillful coalescence of his script, his performance, the music of George Gershwin and the cinematography of Gordon Willis ('The Godfather').

'Stardust Memories' was the first of several films he made about show business and was loosely based on Fellini's '8 and a half' and of which it is a parody. The other two show biz movies in this collection are 'The Broadway Danny Rose' where he plays a New York showbiz agent and 'The Purple Rose of Cairo'.

Both 'Zelig' and 'The Purple Rose of Cairo' are technically interesting films combining the polished craft skills from his earlier films together with the sophisticated post-production techniques that were emerging in the eighties.

In many ways the films in this collection represent a kind of a golden age in Woody Allen's immensely long film-making career. Unlike most film collections, where there are often a couple of duds included to make up the numbers, all six of these films are fine standalone motion pictures.

Either side of the millennium, Allen's career went into a bit of a relative decline, only to re-emerge in the last half dozen years or so with a string of great films. Here I'm thinking in particular of 'Midnight in Paris' (Owen Wilson) and 'Blue Jasmine' (Cate Blanchett), both of which won Academy awards.

So if you find yourself enjoying the films in this collection, you are certain to find many others elsewhere in his filmography (he made way over 50 films) that you'll also appreciate. 5 stars.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
I'm put a very small review for people like me, that because Amazon seem to like to group lots of reviews together, these days you're never too sure if it's the product you're looking at is what you're reading a review for.
This is for... The Woody Allen Collection on DVD. What you get is a cardboard slip case that is white with a Young black and white image of Woody's face on the right side of the cover. The back gives you an image of the cover of each DVD. The DVD 's themselves are in individual thin style plastic cases with full colour wrap round covers with the title of each film clearly marked on the spine.
Ok, now for what films are included, You get 8 films which are as follows: Bullets Over Broadway, Celebrity, Sweet and Lowdown, Small Time Crooks, Mighty Aphrodite, Everyone Says I Love You, Deconstructing Harry and Wild Man Blues.
I've not yet watched all films but I really enjoyed all I've seen so far. Yet to watch Deconstructing Harry and Wild Man Blues.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)