Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2003
I began thinking that I didn't need any tutorial as I knew it all from Civ I and II. WRONG!!! After 5 games, I was still amazed of the difficulty of the average levels... and getting used to some new features (e.g. artillery being captured) is not easy!
After getting used to the "new" rules, I found a great game to play - the computer can even be a "sincere" ally... if you treat it right, it will treat you right. And you can swap/exchange almost anything. Impressive!
You can also win the game through 6 different ways (that you can turn on/off) which is a great plus.
But a few items are annoying:
* If you are into military conquest, the final part (modern times) is boring as you might need to move a lot of units across the board - this has made me give up in times;
* Technology goes too fast so that some units you rarely use because new ones are developed very fast;
* There are 2 or 3 glitches that can remove some fun (beware of battleships finding it's way in automatic mode - it might declare war on who you do not want!)
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I was a Civ II addict, but had never played the original. I took a while to get used to the new concepts, but once I did I was hooked. The new routes to victory are interesting, and can certatinly add new perspectives to the game! I have won onlt once with a cultural victory,and civilisations that build cities close to my core area always end up seeing them defect to me!
Making resources a requirement to build certain units is a great feature, and makes it interesting towards the end. It also provides a useful source of cash when other civilisations do not have those resources. Also the diplomacy is far better - you can now demand cities as a condition of peace, and there us a far greater aspect of haggling for knowledge and resouces that civ two just didn't have. Also, the new 'small wonders' are good, and add a sense of realism.
Drawbacks - I don't know if there are that many. The lack of scenarios is certainly a drawback, a little bit of work could have yielded some great rewards in terms of some realistic historical scenarios, especially with the new routes to victory (how about, say, the quest for cultural dominance in certain historical eras, as well as a few decent military ones would have been great), I always found the civ two ww2 scenario far too easy, especially if you were the Germans or the Russians, although I never played as the Neutral's!).
One annoying factor is the inability to choose the sex of your tribe's leader, for example, the English are always led by a woman, you can change the name, but that is it - but that is certainly not a major problem.
I certainly haven't had any major problems with corruption, especially on the better government types. You will probably learn early on the democracy is by far the best, especially during peacetime, and monarchy is the best for war. War weariness is also a good idea, as it allows you to keep things under control without the rather silly idea in civ two that tied units to cities and meant that citizens became discontent when you sent them away.
Also, the new nationality concept is great, and adds some interesting features (for example, your own citizens are far more likely to defect back to your side if they are captured by a rival, although the same is also true of other nationalities captured by your side).
The route to diplomatic victory is good, although it can end the game a bit prematurely if the other civilisations hate you!
I haven't got to grips with the space race yet, and I have to say that whole concept annoys me a little in both the games and I usually switch that option off, preferring to let the game run through to the end.
In summary, I think it is a great game, with some excellent features. It does not fulfill its potential though, and I hope there are extra features to come!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2003
Civ 3 has taken a lot of flak from certain sections of the strategy gaming fraternity. Most of this is unjustified.
All those who remember Civ II (which at the time I thought was the best game ever made), will get great benefit from this newer version. I like to see Civ 3 as the logical sequel to Civ II, and tend to ignore the tangential Alpha Centauri and Call to Power.
A simple test: if you get a copy of this game, play it for a bit, and then return to have a game or two of Civ II, the improvements become much clearer. The older game looks cumbersome and lacks depth in comparison.
I was a little annoyed when I first started Civ 3, as the immediate look-and-feel of the game is different. Strategy games like this have nothing to do with graphics, however, and only by playing Civ 3 for a while will the real expertise that lies behind it shine through.
The diplomacy is a massive improvement. The different methods for winning encourage different approaches to gameplay, and many more options are now available for building a winning civilisation. The notion that there's only a set amount of ways to achieve victory is frankly RUBBISH. Only someone who has failed to experiment could make such a claim.
I managed to win a game without ever actively attacking an opponent. Other games I won by being as bellicose as I possibly could be.
Forget all the nonsense that's talked about this game and get yourself a copy. It's a fine wine amongst a cellar full of cheap plonk, taking time to acquire a taste for, but well worth it in the end.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2001
Because once you have installed Civ3 on your PC they will cease to matter to you. Like Civilization 2 before it this game has that elusive "Just one more turn" syndrome that will keep you up till the early hours.
The aim is still the same to guide your civilization over 6000 years to be the dominant world power but now theres even more ways to win which means even more strategies and even more replayability.
The new diplomacy and trading options are superb and the introduction of culture brings a whole new dimension to the game. Yes corruption has been increased since Civ2 but thats good - you need new strategies.
Can't stay got to have just one more turn
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2001
The new features really are good but after playing the game for a while, things like culture and trade resources become just another thing to consider as you colonize.
Diplomacy has not been greatly improved, by which I mean small empires and backward races still demand WAY more than they should. "Give me invention", "Give me your world map", "Give me money" will be the general gist of all conversations with the computer and they will want them in exchange for a pittance. On the otherhand, should you want to trade for a technology/resource etc they have, expect to pay double or triple its actual value... I dont make the mistake of demanding it, even a civilization "in Awe" of you will still war for the tiniest of demands (and they will somehow convince every ally you have to do the same too).
Corruption is REALLY crippling, with improvements and government types having only the barest of impacts in reducing the problem. An empire of 10 cities on a medium map can expect around 5 of them (no matter size) to be TOTALLY useless, no money, no shields... This seems to be the case with most government types including democracy and republic.
The American version has also suffered some bugs, giving the general impression the end product has been rushed.
In the combat, there still occurs the old Phalanx vs Tank problem, where the Phalanx can kill any number of Tanks thrown at it. This can get particularly annoying sometimes.
Either the devolopers or publishers, I dont know which, made the desicion to ship the game without Multiplayer which in this day and age is almost a crime. In my opinion there will be a convenient add-on costing £20 in which this will be rectified... *sigh*
All that said, the game is still an addictive Civ game, it is not an updated version of Civ2, it is very much a new game in its own right. It is still fun too, for the older civ fans out there most of these problems are merely challenges to be overcome.
0Comment| 107 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2002
Civilization III is the latest incarnation of this ever-popular game and is as addictive as the first two versions of the game. For a first-time player this game is a must, but even for the experienced player there is enough that is different here to make the game worthwhile.
If you haven't played the game before, where have you been? You take your civilization from the Stone Age through to the colonisation of Alpha Centauri. Along the way you build new cities, provide them with improvements, build wonders of the world, control your economy, conduct diplomacy with your neighbours and wage war on a vast scale--and much more! This is a highly addicitive game that will tax both your strategy and tactics (as well as giving you late nights...)
The look and feel of the game is much the same as Civ II, and experienced players will be able to pick up the game quickly. There are some new units, changes to city improvements and substantial changes to wonders. Combat has been improved with new elite units and armies and new systems of combat.
These changes, however, amount to little more than tinkering. The big changes lie first in a much better system of diplomacy. You can now conclude a range of different alliances with your neighbours and must try to keep at least some of the world allied to you. Indeed, you can win a diplomatic victory now. You can deal in almost anything as part of diplomacy from trade agreements, to scientific advances, to cities. This is all crying out for a multiplayer game--why isn't there one? Second, trade has been much improved. Trade is now in luxuries or strategic resources. You must either possess these within your empire, build a colony, or you must trade with your opponents for them. Most importantly the game now contains the completely new concept of "culture." Each of your cities and your overall civilization has its own level of culture determined principally by city improvements. This affects not only how your neighbours react to you, (they can be awed by your culture) but also determines the boundaries of your empire, for in this game there are clear boundaries to your empire. This all means that there are now many more ways to win the game than just conquering your opponents, and winning the game has become rather more of a challenge.
On the down side there is no multi-player option, a real weakness, but I suspect a multi-player version will be brought out. Corruption is also rather overstated and the patch which reduces corruption is essential. However, corruption does force you to play this game in rather different ways from other versions of Civilization and there ARE ways to overcome its worst effects, but discovering them is part of the game for experienced players!
If you haven't played Civilization before this is game is a "must." If you have played Civ II there are enough changes in the game to make it well-worthwhile, although it doesn't feel THAT different from Civ II, and the changes between Civ II and Civ III seem far less than those between the original version of Civilization and Civ II.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2002
This game is excellent and is very hard to turn off.
I've played Civ 1 and Civ2 right up till the week I got Civ 3 and I think it builds on the strengths of the 1st 2 and made important changes.
Many of the Wonders are changed, e.g. Leonardos is nowhere near as awesome as it used to be - but thats a good thing. You have to pay a lot more attention to keeping your people happy and the heavy corruption will certainly affect the style of play used in Civ2. The latest patch addresses the corruption, but make sure you dont build the Forbidden Palace in the next city to your capital, doh!
Needing to have resources in order to build certain units such as iron for swordsmen is a great idea, but this means fairly rapid expansion at the start is essential to make sure your domain includes some key raw materials. The changes to trade and diplomacy are great, glad to get rid of those silly units. Of course it was handy stockpiling caravans to hurry up a wonder, but I think the new approach is better and fairer.
There are some minor drawbacks.
Corruption is very high if you conquer a city far from home. A Democracy appears to have very little affect on corruption and ditto with a courthouse. I need to complete more games to get a better feel for this.
You cant cheat any more :D It was nice to be able to take a quick check on how everyone else is doing before heading to bed.
I wish it came with more scenarios (pacific, north america, etc).
Ummm. Cant think of anything else I dont like.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2001
Many people, particularly those in the hardcore Civilization gaming community, have slated Civiliziation 3 because it's not "different" enough to Civilization. Certainly, the games are similar--but the new additions in Civilization 3 make all the difference. Crisp, bright graphics, a tremendous AI that will challenge even the most experienced of players, the addition of the concept of culture and enriched trade and diplomacy systems make this the best empire-building game ever released.
Probably the closest any of us will get to ruling the world.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2001
I can't let some of the criticisms levelled at this game lie. CivIII finishes what Alpha Centauri started, so any comments that CivIII has 'lost' features from the Call to Power series make no sense. The computer players *DO* gather large forces before attacking you, I've seen it happen. The interface is by far the best I've used in any computer game because it is logical and provides power users with a wealth of tools to take short-cuts. In CivII, you would spend much of your time looking at the city screen, while in CivIII you barely visit it. The combat system has been rationalised, making it far easier to compare units. The supposed Tank v Phalanx 'problem' certainly hasn't manifested itself in any games I've played. If you are trying to conquer somewhere and don't expect any casualties, more fool you. The defender's advantage is certainly not unbalanced. The new features, including culture and strategic resources, add a whole new feel to the game and provide interesting interim goals during the game. The increased corruption levels mean you have to find other ways to win than just steam-rollering the opposition. Live and let live becomes a realistic strategy. All in all, this is a game as exquisitely engineered as the board game Settlers of Catan. No other strategy game has been as carefully crafted as this one. Extraneous complications have been removed, leading to a crisp feel as you make strategic decisions.
The lack of a multiplayer facility may rile some, but that's not why I buy a strategy game. I want to play the odd turn here and there, not spend all night thrashing through a game and running up my phone bill. The lack of wonder movies is just irrelevant. In CivII and Alpha Centauri I would always skip them to get back to the game. Strategy games are not about eye candy. CivII is an historical game rather than a speculative one, and if you want amazing future technologies, go and buy Alpha Centauri on budget. They just wouldn't fit in CivIII.
I could go on, because there are yet more ways CivII has pleasantly surprised me, but suffice to say I nearly didn't buy it, but now I'm glad someone persuaded me to fork out for it.
0Comment| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2002
Speeds up the creation of new worlds. Better graphics and a faster paced game makes this a much better version than the 2 previous editions. Extremely absorbing
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)