Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
65
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2017
There is no need to review this classic album as it has been done by many.
My comment is based on the VINYL release.
Single sleeve with plain poly lined inners,but also incl lyric inner sleeves as an option.
Foldout picture booklet.
2 nice thick 180g vinyls with 3 tracks to each side.
Sound? FABULOUS!!!!
If you thought you knew this album wait until you hear this.
The sound,remastered,is staggering,and no pops,crackles etc on playback.
Well worth the wait.
Can we now have The Big Picture and a remastered rerelease of Made In England?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Tried to buy this vinyl album 3 times from Amazon.

I buy almost all my vinyl (over 200 in 12 months) from Amazon because if there is a defect you have their impeccable service and return options. I make a point of immediately checking every album because on very rare occasions and often through no fault of Amazon the new pressings have faults.

I'm devistated to report that this is the case with this wonderful first Vinyl pressing from Elton. Devistated because I am a massive Elton John, Bernie Taupin fan. We have waited so long for this on Vinyl and I consider 'Songs from the west coast' to be a masterpiece and one of Eltons best recent albums.

The offering is great, the double Vinyl, the fantastic 360 photography on the internal gatefold, but the album contains a fault on the last track, making the vinyl unplayable. I was so disappointed I purchased 2 more copies and low and behold each copy contained the exact same fault on exactly the same point on the pressing. In fact on careful inspection with a magnifying glass you can actually see the fault.

Now to be clear I have a very high end £20k moving coil setup. On very basic setups you may be OK and it may play through. I did try on my basic £400 turntable with a MM cartridge, but the fault was still there.

The album is so good I have resorted to ordering directly from the US Rocket Records and eagerly await its arrival, hopefull that this is simply a manufacturing fault on the UK distribution.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Superb remastering by Bob Ludwig on an album never previously issued on vinyl.The pressing is first class with no pops and crackles normally associated with vinyl. I have this on cd but the vinyl sounds so much better. Every track is good and as the music has been reviewed many times before there is little to add. I ordered this album when it was first listed by Amazon and some £5 less. It can be purched for less elsewhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
SUPERB. This is how Re-mastering should be done. Great Lp, Great songs. Vast improvement over CD. Packaging excellent. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Not a new album to me, an all time favourite downloaded to replace a lost CD. Pleasing range of songs. Every track a winner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2001
In the Seventies Elton John ruled the air waves and charts all across the globe. He was the most successful artist of the decade breaking record after record, had seven consecutive no.1 US albums (including the first ever LP to go straight in at no.1), and even overtook the achievements stacked up by the Beatles. Since then, EJ has had a top 40 hit in both the UK and US for 30yrs on the trot whilst amassing loads of awards. HOWEVER, during the Eighties and Ninties his music has been lazy - there were defiantely big successes, but also big failures. Over the past two decades, Elton's fame and misfortune has over-shadowed his Seventies supremecy that formed him into a music legend. But now, Elton has woken up. Elton has got serious again, is making serious music and craves the recognition he deserves. In his own words, he has "drawn a line in the sand" - his new album, and all material to follow will have 100% effort. Hence, "Songs From The West Coast", his brilliant new album.
Overall, the album has an organic raw feel - driven by piano, guitar and drums - no synthesisers. Although Elton can't sing as well as his earlier years, this is unquestionably his best vocal performance on a studio album for a decade. His voice easily swirls warmly through touching melodies, belts out the rocky blues and breathes emotion into Taupins passionate lyrics. Every song has a memorable, strong melody that effortlessly matches some of Taupins best lyrics ever (timeless storytelling, heartfelt love songs . . .)
Make no mistake, this is NOT a ballad album. A variety of styles from blues to country are spread across this classic rock album which together flow beautifully. "The Wastland" is a rocky blues number; "Original Sin" will make your spine tingle; "Mansfield" shows old and contempary styles fused well together; "Birds" is a funky groover; "Look Ma, No Hands" is a country tinged classic Elton Track; "American Triangle" is the only true ballad, it carries so much emotion as Taupin tells the true story of a young boy murdered in the US - his best ballad in many years. And of course, the brilliant Beatlesque UK single "I Want Love" is also present.
Without doubt Eltons finest work for 25yrs. The production is spot on, showing off the ablilites of the whole band and conveying each song exactly how it should be. Having been recorded on analogue the whole album has a warm, "real" feel about it. This album is a must for all music fans who appreciate true rock music at its finest - it just doesn't get any better nowadays than "Songs From The West Coast".
DW
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
This is a inconsistent album. There are two superb songs. I Want Love is very touching and This Train is one of his most underrated singles. However the rest of the album is made up of the pleasant but unspectacular songs, many lack the punch of earlier work and are generally quite boring. Still it's a lot better that that dance rubbish he released in the late eighties.

This is a nice record but I wouldn't call it a great one.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2002
It's been a long time in waiting but Elton and Bernie has come up with an entire masterpiece of an album..
I have been a fan of Elton John ever since the days of Reg Dwight when he played with Long John Baldry back in the sixties.
"Songs from the west coast" is a throwback from the triumphant days of the 70's, in particular the "Tumbleweed Connection, Goodbye Yellow Brick Road and my personal favourite from that era Captain Fantastic and the Brown Dirt Cowboy"..
Elton went through a very rough patch during the 80's and 90's, he brought some decent material out but nothing could match what has come out from this album, the words, the harmonies, and most of all Elton's mature and warmth is all there to be heard, the tracks that stand out especially for me are as follows:
THE EMPERORS NEW CLOTHES.
This sets the standard and while Elton cannot seem to hit the high notes as he did in the past, he has aquired a new blend of deepness in his golden tonsils.
ORIGINAL SIN
This is an absolute classic in the making, it took a few listens before I got into it but now each time I hear it you listen to Bernies wonderful lyrics and Eltons feelings coming out and you just nod your head in admiration of singer and composer in perfect harmony..
THE BALLAD OF THE BOY IN THE RED SHOES
When you take into account the controversial subject what Elton is singing about in this song, this could well be the next single off the album but is very much more likely to do better in the US rather than the UK.
Once again this could well turn out to be a classic in years to come, the lyrics and infectious chorus makes this track stand out for me..
THIS TRAIN DON'T STOP THERE ANYMORE
What can you say, the final curtain raiser, one of Elton and Bernies best collaborations in donkeys years, this has it all!
When you listen to the words carefully you instantly go back to the days when Elton was the main man, all the songs, the constant recording sessions and endless tours, this song has it all for me. BRILLIANT.
All in all Songs from the west coast is an absolutely perfect example of how music should sound, none of this mass produced sound from these so-called boybands but words and music coming straight from the heart with drive and sincerity. AN ABSOLUTE GEM!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
2001's 'Songs From The West Coast' represents Elton John's finest collection of songs in many a long year; the old magic is still there proving beyond any doubt that his writing collaboration with lyricist Bernie Taupin can still deliver the goods. The best known material here is the lovely single 'I Want Love' (a Top 10 single) and 2 other chart entries, the classy 'This Train Don't Stop There Anymore' and 'Original Sin'. Picked up at a charity shop at the bargain price of £1, this is fabulous value but it may be harder to get it this cheaply on Amazon so it might be wise to shop around for this one. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 January 2013
This is a fine album by Elton John. At last he has returned to the style that made him famous in the first place. The album harks back to Tumbleweed Connection and Honky Chateau. Key for me is the production, which at last has a warmth missing from his 80s (especially) and 90s albums. Largely gone are the layers and layers of horrible keyboards that droned throughout the 80s. The focus here is back on Piano and voice and a band with just the occasional use of strings.

Another great thing about the album is the songs. These are some of his strongest and I think "This train don't stop here anymore" would have been a massive hit during his 70s peak. And its not just one strong song: Dark Diamond, I Want Love and Emperors New Clothes could all happily sit on many of his 70s albums.

Not sure which version of the album Amazon are selling here as they say it is on one disc, but the special edition has two. But the reason to buy this is for the original album anyway.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)